We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be perfect if the wifi worked” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Inn

Save Saved
You added Harbor View Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Harbor View Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3 NIGHT STAY SPA SPECIAL
Ranked #11 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Would be perfect if the wifi worked”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel in a great location right across the street from the beach and the pier. Our room was quite large and nicely furnished and the bathroom was very spacious. We had a large balcony, but it looked over the parking lot; but I did not pay for an ocean view room. So really nothing to complain about there! We had lunch in the hotel restaurant one day and room service breakfast. Both were quite good and the service was friendly.

The only real negative, and it was a big one for us, is that the advertised in-room wifi is virtually non-existent. We rarely we able to locate a signal and when we did it was very weak and slow and would drop within a minute or so. We were told to use the wifi in the lobby, which really wasn't practical.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    255
    71
    28
    26
See reviews for
151
339
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fillmore, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Wow, this was a fun stay. Right across the street from the Beach and Wharf and centrally located to walk to lots of restaurants, bars and shops. The service personal was wonderful and very helpful. We had a little balcony that we could view the ocean and harbor I dont think all the rooms have a view so I would ask when booking. Of course the nearby restuarants and bars were really nice as we had a celebration of sorts and didnt have to drive home from the bar. It was fun, clean, comfortable and beautiful! A little pricey for our budget but it IS Santa Barbara and right on the beach.

Room Tip: Check for ocean / harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have stayed here several times. This hotel is across from the beach, clean and has nice amenities. The lawn and pool area are great during the summer months. Easy walk to the beach and we catch the trolly across the street to head to town.

Friendly, professional staff. Only thing that is missing is that the free Wi-Fi hasn't worked on any of our stays, which is a problem for our business travel.

Would like to see breakfast included with the rooms.

We stay here whenever we are in Santa Barbara and have tried many other hotels.

Room Tip: They have construction going on right now so make sure you ask to be away from that area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Harbor View Inn was the third of four hotels we have used during our tour of Southern California, and is the unanimous favourite. Friendly staff, great pool, spacious and well maintained rooms set this place above the others. Only downside was the extremely limited choice of snacks available in he coffee shop mid-morning when we went in, but that was the same in the alternate coof shop just up the road, so I guess we need to just get up earlier. Rates could be considered high, however with Wifi, car parking etc, the prices were comparable if not less for otherr hotels in which we stayed. I would look forward to staying here again if I return to Southern California.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were let down when we saw our room. It is a bit tired and dark. However reception are really lovely and helpful especially the young lady. We did mention when we left that we thought the rooms were not up to standard and were told that they have more modern rooms in the other building but they are more expensive. This could be such a great little hotel.
Breakfast service was a bit odd with manager continuing her conversation with a colleague before acknowledging us at the door. Also many requests were forgotten (i.e milk for tea, refill for teapot etc). Some waiters better than others but not the usual great service you get in most restaurants in US. Does let the place down.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Vale, NJ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked a room with two double beds, and an ocean view for our family of 4. The room is nicely decorated, very clean, and spacious. Our room 219, was facing the ocean, but a little further back than I would've liked. I just wished for the price, they would have included breakfast (like the charming places in Carmel). A great stay all and all. We walked to State Street for dinner every night, with our 6 and 10 year old. Excellent location!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were very disappointed about the unfriendly and not helpful colleague at the front desk. It was not acceptable that it was not mentioned in the booking confirmation that the rooms had only 1 bed. We had booked two double rooms (together with the information of 3 persons per room) and had to find out only at arrival in the room that the 3rd person (child) had no bed. The additional charge of 15 USD for the rollaway bed speaks for itself, especially when the price for 1 night is 290 USD (without breakfast)! We wonder how other families can rank this hotel positive. The restaurant did not meet our expectations at all after the many positive ratings. I had a very strange salad with everything in it and a dressing which I cannot define; in fact, this was one of the badest restaurants I experienced during our 3 weeks trip! Finally, it took ages until we where able to pay our bill at the end.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Harbor View Hotel
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara
Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.