We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very plush, close to beach and pier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Harbor View Inn to your Saves list
Harbor View Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Season of Specials
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Fife
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very plush, close to beach and pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a fairly expensive hotel, but after staying in some of the lower end motels which are still pretty good, this is a luxury. The rooms are very plush, some with balconies. Very clean and the most comfortable beds. It is walking distance to State Street and is on the beach front close to the pier and harbour (obviously)! Their online booking system mat be a bit antiquated.d though or perhaps it's just the banking side of things, as we were unable to book in for the day we wanted to stay. A quick phone call sorted that out. Friendly staff. No complaints other than the price, but I guess you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: All rooms good, balcony lovely but more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    285
    82
    30
    27
See reviews for
187
377
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WEST MIDLANDS
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights payed extra 10 dollars per night for a sea view, well worth it, lovely spacious clean room, balcony with fab view over swimming pool and a sea view, pool was lovely and heated, within 10 minute walk to rows of shops and restaurant's, only negative is 10 dollars a day to park your car. we will go back a great stay.

Room Tip: if you can ask for a sea or pool view, these are the best rooms but you may have to pay extra, a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

If this hotel was not well located on the beach, it would be just an average decent place to stay. Most rooms have no view, surprising for a beachfront location. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed, with free Wifi and a good signal. I had to knock them down a few points for the dust I found caked into corners in the bathroom. Also, if you're charging this much for a room, it's really tacky to try to squeeze $4 for a bottle of water. The recycle bin (instead of a trash can) made no sense in the bathroom - think about it, what are you going to recycle from a bathroom? And where are you going to put used tissue, Q-tips, disposable contact lenses and dental floss? In general, the property has good intentions but just doesn't meet par for the price you pay.

Room Tip: For a beachfront hotel, most rooms have no real view. Prepare to pay a lot more for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel was the best we stayed in during our 2 week Californian road trip from the UK. We had a lovely room with a vaulted ceiling and ocean views. It is smart, clean and comfortable with a nice pool area and the restaurant is also worth a visit. We wished we'd stayed longer than 2 nights so we could relax more from our hectic schedule. Santa Barbara and the Harbor View Inn are both worth stopping at for a relaxing break by the sea.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed 2 nites in Room 323--see photo. Check in/out went smooth (called ahead for early checkin and our room was ready). Very friendly staff. Loved our room..ceiling fan a plus, only heard Amtrak a couple times when balcony doors open, instant coffee in room was only negative for us, bed not too soft which was good for my bad back. Ate at Moby Dick's on Stearns wharf-not impressed would go to place near harbor for fish next time. Bike rentals near. Beachbreak Cafe on State St a few blocks from Inn was great for breakfast--value and atmosphere. You can walk to shops/downtown but we drove because of my bad back. Solvang is about 45 mintues drive and Reagan Presidential Library is about one hour drive.

Room Tip: State Street rooms right now have construction near--noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a great location. Across the street from the beach and pier, 5 block walk to the shops and restaurants of State street (downtown). Street in front of the hotel is busy during the day, but this whole end of the city goes to sleep early, and is quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The location is great,just across the Pier and beach.A oceanview room is worth it.The price is pretty high,a little bit out of age interior,but clean.Poolgarden very nice.Close to everything without car.Over all worth while a stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.