We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Inn

Save Saved
You added Harbor View Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
AWARD WINNING HOTEL
Ranked #13 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed with the family in a double room, it was a pleasant hotel and well located with the beach across the road and Main street just on the corner. We don't usually use hotel restaurants but husband with broken leg meant he could only hop so far. Eladios was a nice clean and pleasant restaurant and with the 10% off for hotel guests made it an affordable option.

First night we had a rattle in the bathroom roof which sounded as if a team of mice typists were hard at work. Told reception in the morning and it was fixed within 20 minutes wish I had gone down at 3am to complain rather than lie awake.

Just across the road at the start of the pier is a small tram which for 50 cents takes you 14 blocks up Main Street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    381
    270
    74
    29
    27
See reviews for
167
364
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Well the water was warm only in the shower never hot. I phoned reception who told me well everyone must be having a shower in your wing so hop out and wait 10 minutes. Not impressed! Tried again later same story maintenance guy had a look but couldn't fix. Next day water still only warm.

Ask for ocean view room hat is worth it. Kids enjoyed pool. Had to walk quite a way for a 7/11 for milk. Oh and if your looking for coffee nearest Starbucks is a good 15 minute walk. View from our room attached

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Owner at Harbor View Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I wanted to Thank-you for letting us know about your stay with us this weekend. I have informed our head of maintenance to address your hot water issue. I am glad you enjoyed our pool area.
We do serve Starbucks Coffee both in room service at our pool Bar and in our Restaurant Eladio's. We also have a coffee bar on property State Street Coffee that servers Starbucks products. Again Thank-you for taking the time to write a response and we hope you will stay with us again. Mark A. Romasanta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My mom and sisters visited me recently for my 50th b'day and mom booked a large top floor room here one night during a 3-day trip up the coast. The room was big and very nice, with a lovely patio balcony looking out at the water - but SADLY the weather was gloomy, which sort of stripped away most of the luster of being in this pricey beachfront room - but with all the activties we had planned it was all about LOCATION, and we were in a great spot...walking to restaurants, the Art Walk, to the pier, and just a short drive to the Harbor for whale watching...

The refrigerator was fully packed when we arrived so we couldn't put our drinks in there, but we had a big cooler with us and there was an ice machine right outside our door so we were happy. The only complaint was having the toilet in the same little room as the shower (with glass door) so when one of us was showering you couldn't use the toilet. There were two TVs in the room, one in front of each bed. We got the last parking spot, so parking isn't plentiful and I'd recommend getting your spot early. Staff was nice and when we asked for a corkscrew they brought us one in a package right away, seemed like a giveaway item, not sure if they billed my mom for it, ha. The room service prices were reasonable and we were able to place our orders the night before, on the doorknob outside and our breakfasts were brought to us right at the time we indicated on the card. Very efficient!

I'd love to stay there again sometime, when the weather might be nicer - it would be fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We spent two nights here in Room 203, which was a huge room with two ocean exposures. A comfortable bed and a nice bath. Would stay here again and ask for this same room. While a highway is between the hotel and the ocean beach, that did not present a problem.

Room Tip: Room 203 has two ocean exposures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Paid for a full ocean view room and wasn't disappointed. The hotel is very nice, had a very friendly and helpful staff, and a perfect location. Only spent 1 night, but the wharf, the urban walking trail, shopping, the beach, and very good restaurants were all within walking distance. Really enjoyed sitting on the room balcony. Only disappointment is that the hotel/beach doesn't face west so you can't watch sunset from the balcony. Would stay here again in a minute.

Room Tip: request 3rd floor, ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was very cute, rooms were larger than I anticipated. Comfortably fits 4 adults in 1 room. Our bathroom was spacious and had a corner spa.

Right opposite the water, but shops are not really walking distance.

Gym was very small but the pool was big.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have never left a review of a Hotel before but on this trip I felt that I had to.
Myself & my Wife drove down here for 1 weeks stay after spending 6 days in Las Vegas. The Location of this Hotel is Ideal for discovering the Santa Barbara area, it is located right in front of the beach & is ideally located for very short walks to the Harbour, Pier & the sunday art & crafts market. If you dont want to walk you can get the Electric Tram styled bus for 50c each to the downtown area (shops) or the Harbour. There are plenty of Restaurants/Bars in all areas. The Main reason for this Review though is that on the day we were meant to travel back to the UK my Wife became ill & had to go to Hospital, as a result of this we had to postpone our travel plans for a week. The Staff of this Hotel are fantastic.... they were always on hand to help us through quite a distressing couple of days, from advice to assistance they were great, nothing we asked was to much trouble. Thankyou

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.