We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Large Room By The Ocean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Inn

Save Saved
You added Harbor View Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Harbor View Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3 NIGHT STAY SPA SPECIAL
Ranked #11 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
San Anselmo, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Large Room By The Ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

On our late February automobile trip to southern California we stayed in two hotels in Santa Barbara, the Canary Kimpton in downtown, and the Harbor View Inn at the beach. Both hotels play in the same price league. Both locations offer singular advantages. The downtown location is an urban walking and shopping experience. The beach location is about access to water, boats and sand. The two hotels differ in the amenities that enhance each experience.
The Harbor View Inn is a two story complex occupying an entire city block. The original buildings appear to have been constructed in the late 1940's. The block square site is bisected diagonally by a concrete lined, fresh water drainage channel. Recent additions to the hotel were constructed on the opposite side of the channel and are connected to the original part by a foot bridge. The hotel does not provide valet service, you drive to your room location and transport your own luggage.
We reserved a standard king room at the Harbor View, at about $275 per night before taxes. Upon check-in check we were offered an upgrade to a superior king room for about twenty dollars more per night which we eagerly accepted. Our room was in the newer part of the hotel on the opposite side of the drainage channel. The superior king room was quite generous, as large as some studio apartments. There is a generous tile paved balcony with comfortable outdoor furniture, an excellent place to enjoy food and drinks brought back to the room. Our balcony had a narrow but enjoyable view of the harbor and ocean beyond. The bathroom included a comfortable soaking tub and shower separated by a partial glass partition with door. The toilet is in a separate compartment with a sliding door. Two people can be in the bathroom easily at the same time. The bathroom was well stocked and room maintenance appeared to be excellent. Our room faced the interior of the block, thus we were shielded from street noises which did not seem loud in any case.
The interior colors, finishes and room furnishings want to suggest a generic Mediterranean theme with Greek and Roman references. That said, the brown, grey, and cinnamon red theme colors chosen do not acknowledge the ocean a block away, and feel incongruous in that setting. Though the generous size is relaxing, the room could be anywhere.
We regretted the lack of an immediate and inviting lobby bar and restaurant. The Harbor View Inn has small, coffee shop sized facility in a separate building near the main entry which serves as both the hotel bar and restaurant. To be sure, if you want something very low key and casual, literally coffee shop tables, it will fill the bill. There are other restaurants and bars within a few blocks walk. There are restaurant opportunities on the boardwalk and on the end of state street as you walk back into town. In my view, a hotel in this price league should have an inviting bar and restaurant with an atmosphere that captures the location accessible from the lobby.
In sum, the appeal at the Harbor View Inn is the opportunity for a generous room across the street from the ocean and the boardwalk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    255
    71
    28
    26
See reviews for
151
339
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was very pleased with the hotel location and neighborhood. And room service was great! However, I was disappointed with the hotel front desk. I requested an early check-in, but when we arrived at the hotel around 1:30pm, we were told that our early check-in wasn't a guarantee and we would receive a phone call when our room was ready. After 2 hours of waiting, we didn't get checked into our room until 4-4:15pm. I looked at the hotel statement, and we were charged tourism fee for $2, plus charged twice for room charge. I was told someone from accounting would call me to go over my charges, but no one called to follow-up. Prior to making reservations at Harbor View Inn, I called several times to confirm reservations or ask questions, I was placed on hold and immediately hung-up on. It was really difficult to speak with anyone on the phone, even to confirm reservations. I wouldn't consider Harbor View Inn four stars, there were notable stains on the ceiling; however, our room was very comfortable and spacious. Next time, I'll make reservations at a different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

They did a nice job renovating this hotel right on Cabrillo and State St across from Stearns Wharf. We had a giant corner room with ocean view and 2 balconies. Easy walk up State St to restaurants and shopping. Friendly staff and very clean hotel. Cabrillo can get a little loud in the morning but waking up to that view was definitely worth it. A little pricey but what do you expect in Santa Barbara during spring break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have stayed at the Harbor View Inn, Santa Barbara, four times. It is a great hotel, right across the street from the ocean, great beach, near bicycle rental, great walking path along the beach, and several piers with good restaurants. We have booked the standard non-view rooms, the deluxe city view room, and the full ocean view room. All are great. We upgraded to the full ocean view room on this trip. It was incredible. All the rooms are nice, but the upgraded rooms are really large and beds are comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accomodating especially the valet. Eladio's Restaurant is part of Harbor View Inn and is right on the corner of State Street and Cabrillo Boulevard. We have dined there many times, breakfast, lunch and dinner; the food and service are great. The pool was fun during our August trip with our kids and grandkids. They had an open bar and food service. The hotel is more on the pricey side, but for the rooms and location, it is not pricey. Most places in Santa Barbara are more pricey and Harbor View Inn is competitive (we checked around). I highly recommend staying here. The only drawback is that they do not have a refrigerator or microwave, but they have great room service from Eladio's.

Room Tip: I fell in love with the ocean view rooms, but all are great. We have tried the standard rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here as part of a birthday gift. We were concerned that it might be noisy as its close to a busy junction and the railroad station. However there were no issues, and the location was ideal for accessing the beach, State St and Stearns Wharf.
The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. The balcony had great views of the beach and ocean.
The staff were all pleasant, friendly and helpful.
The gardens and pool area were beautifully maintained. And not too busy most of the time.

Room Tip: We chose a room facing the pool as it was less expensive than an ocean view room, but we got a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Spur-of-the-moment get-away trip turned out to be just what we needed. Loved this beautiful hotel - upgraded to a suite for just $20 more. Right across the street from Stearns Pier, the artwalk on Sunday, great service, big comfortable King-sized bed, lovely little coffee shop right next door. This is going to be our new sneak-away hotel when work just gets too crazy. Shhhh, it's a secret.

Room Tip: Ask for the Suite upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Location is why we picked it And we weren't disappointed. Across the street from beach and pier. Rooms were very nice. Staff was great. A special thanks to Stephen he is such an asset to your hotel. He was so helpful throughout our stay. Defiantly would stay again

Room Tip: West wing pool view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Harbor View Hotel
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara
Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.