We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor View Inn to your Saves list
Harbor View Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4 Specials to Choose From
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great location across from the beach in Santa Barbara. Walk to Stearn's Wharf, the harbor and the electric trolley for State Street. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff was very accommodating, too. Note: if you happen to be assigned to room 229, you'll be right across from housekeeping for that building. Don't expect to sleep in - they start early.

Room Tip: Room 229 is across from housekeeping and they start early. You won't be able to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    351
    94
    35
    29
See reviews for
230
466
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel just gets everything right.
Reception staff were very welcoming, efficient and helpful. We were offered a fantastic upgrade deal to a huge room on the front with enormous balcony with full sea view - we didn't need any persuading!
The room was really comfortable and clean with high quality complimentary toiletries (Molton Brown). The location can't be beaten with views that sum up the Californian dream (beach, palm trees, ocean etc etc), and close to Stearn's Wharf and other restaurants and shops.
Service was excellent in all areas that we used - reception, pool bar, car park guys.
We loved Santa Barbara's cool, chilled out, friendly vibe and can't wait to return - we would definitely opt to stay at the Harbor View Inn again.

Room Tip: It's worth paying to upgrade to a room on the front with sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach, ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

As someone who holds her hotel rewards points close to her heart, I was nervous booking in Santa Barbara, where the big chains don't have as many options. But when booking a bachelorette weekend, one must make concessions to make sure budgets are met and enough beds are available. Our whole experience was great, booking went well, the staff was helpful, and they even brought up a bottle of champagne for the bride-to-be. And for not being a national group's property, it felt just as well maintained, and with just as nice of amenities. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Right on the beach in Santa Barbara. If this is your primary criteria, then this is a good spot. You pay for the location. The room was spacious and clean. My only complaint is that there were some maintenance issues I would not expect in a room at this price -- one light fixture was broken with the bulb hanging by the wire, and the drain in one of the bathroom sinks was stuck closed. Neither of these items were big issues, it's just if you are going to charge $350+ a night, then details matter. Staff was efficient. Avoid the roll away bed if you have kids -- they are quite creaky and uncomfortable. We will probably pay up next time and stay at the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just got back from a two night stay at the Harbor View Inn. Our room was clean and quiet, just the way I like it. The beds were comfortable and the room was large. The location is the best and it's a nice walk to the stores and restaurants. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I arrived by train from OC to join my husband who had been here on business for a week. What a surprise to find the hotel literally a block from the train station. I didn't know what to expect about the hotel since my husband had not sent me any photos of his room or the resort, just the beautiful harbor view so I was wonderfully surprised to find a very large room with sitting area, king size bed, beautiful stone and tile bathroom and then that amazing Santa Barbara ocean view from a large deck. And, the room was beautifully furnished and oh, so comfy. We are accustomed to a minimum of four star resorts when we travel and this boutique hotel is right up there. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. This hotel is located at the pier on State Street and we walked everywhere we needed to go for great shopping and dining. The car stayed in the parking stall. We checked out this morning and I was truly sorry to go. Bonus, late check out at noon and I think it might be standard. I am looking forward to rejoining my husband here for another weekend get-a-way when he returns to stay here for work for a couple of weeks in January.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We used this hotel as our base in Santa Barbara. We had limited interaction with staff and limited use of the facilities. Staff was excellent upon check in/check out. They were pleasant and provided suggestions on where to eat or visit. Very helpful.

I am giving this hotel 4 stars based on its beauty, cleanliness, and location. Very pretty with great views of the city or beach. The rooms are large with nice balconies and always cleaned well. The location is perfect for tourists. Steps away from Stearns Wharf and State Street... couldn't be better.

Stay here for a clean hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.9 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 909 reviews
0.9 mi away
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#34 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
2.0 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Santa Barbara
Hyatt Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.