We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple request” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor View Inn to your Saves list
Harbor View Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10% - 30%
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
newportkona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Simple request”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed there last week... the third time for us. Nice room on front row second floor with great views of the beach and harbor. Two comments...the outside lighting on the balcony could not be turned off...very bright all night. The front desk told us they would call our cell and let us know when the room would be ready...never heard from them and the hotel was very lightly booked. Other than that, nice place...friendly staff.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    314
    88
    31
    28
See reviews for
204
418
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Harbor View Inn is a step up from a Holiday Inn and several steps down from a Four Seasons. The harbor front location however is 5 stars. The rooms are spacious, well laid out and if you opt for an ocean view you will not be disappointed. The staff is polite but not overly effusive, which is actually fine with me, I tire of "it's my pleasure" responses from 5 star places.
The three BEST aspects of staying at the HVI are:
1) LOCATION
2) ROOM SIZE
3) PRICE...not cheap, but a deal compared to the Biltmore.

Room Tip: Spend a couple extra dollars and get an ocean view room...you will hear seals barking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our room was beautiful. The location is perfect- on State Street and you still have that amazing ocean view! We had an ocean view and it was worth the price! The staff was very friendly. The room was very clean, relaxing and inviting. We enjoyed our breakfast every morning on one of our two balconies- one was ocean view, the other was pool view. The bed was comfy. We will be back!

Room Tip: Surprising quiet even for the street front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Made last minute reservation based on tripadvisor comments and could not be happier. Great location with view of ocean, lower State Street and pier. Walking distance from just about everything. Nice accommodations, very clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Had a renovated room in the west wing overlooking the pool area. Came early and tried to check in. Staff just said that it wasn't ready. I asked when it would be and got response "don't know but latest 4 pm as that is the time check in starts officially". We waited 3 hours until 3:30 pm. How hard is it actually to ask the cleaners to prioritize to ge that exact room ready? We saw them working in the area of our room but no one bothered. Watch out Managers, a great location isn't everything!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Harbor View Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
I do understand your complaint and we do try to get our guest into the room they reserved as soon as possible. Next time if possible you could call a head on the day of arrival and let us know when you plan to be at the hotel and we can advise you as to the chance of an early check-in. Thank-you for taking the time to write your review . Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white plains, ny
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Expensive room with deficiencies. Tub drain clogged, inadequate seating and lighting. Not what we expected from other TripAdvisor reviews. Housekeeping generally not up to snuff. No complimentary AM food service. Excellent location on waterfront boulevard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I had a very good experience with the staff when there was a problem with my reservation. Usually, I expect hotels to be very strict about their reservation policy, but they were understanding and kind when I explained the situation. I would definitely make this my first choice for a hotel next time I plan to visit SB.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.