We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but a little pricey! We loved our room and it's amazing being able to walk across the street to the beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort to your Saves list
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Fess Parker Wine Package
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
JACKSON
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice but a little pricey! We loved our room and it's amazing being able to walk across the street to the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Very nice stay! They try and take care of Hilton Rewards members!! Unfortunately there is an additional fee for parking. The dining on site is on the pricey side. The bike rental fee is a bit steep. But the ocean view, being able to walk to the beach and large room are all very nice! We found some food within a mile of hotel. The nearby Pier is walkable to get to it. The swimming pool and hot tub on site were very nice. The on site gym is amazing with an ocean view from the treadmill and doors that open to be able to get fresh air. Many cadio machines. Cucumber bad lemon water is served complimentary in the lobby. I would stay here again!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    662
    414
    182
    101
See reviews for
622
670
66
353
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I am currently staying at the Fess Parker Doubletree in Santa Barbara for a conference. The hotel is positioned in a great spot facing the beach just South of the main town. It is an easy walk to the wharf and some great restaurants, about a 15 minute walk if the weather is nice.

The hotel itself is kind of tired and needs to be updated. The rooms have plenty of space but the décor is old and shows it. Scratches, broken handles, and out of style décor.

The service has been slow and well below what you would expect for a "Resort". The staff does not seem to care much about the service and has way too kicked back attitude for the cost of the resort. Wait staff is slow and inattentive. You do not see them except when taking an order, delivering food or bringing a bill. Simple things like water refills do not happen. Just seems a bit sloppy for the resort.

My room was supposedly an upgrade because it is a king with an ocean view. That room was at the end of the complex in a distant building, Azalea was the building name. It was by the tennis courts about as far from the pool as you could get. I would request a second floor room in another building.

Lastly, there were nagging gnats in my room that seem to come from everywhere. Not something that should have been there.

Overall, not a great place and their are other options in town which I would much rather try next time I was in Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Second floor in a building close to the pool. They do have ocean view rooms but you are really look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
The management staff has reviewed the comments you posted on Tripadvisor and we noticed you mention you are currently staying at our resort. Our goal is that each and every guest is 100% satisfied and we are hoping you will contact our Front Office Manager as soon as possible. It is important that we take steps to ensure you enjoy the balance of your stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So the reason for two stars is that it is across the street from the ocean, otherwise I would not give it that. I read a couple of reviews that said this place is quiet. Maybe in the middle of the night when the nearby companies don't constantly have vehicles that are backing up with the warning beepers and the train coming by doesn't jar you with its warning whistle, but if you want to take a rest during the day forget it.
As for our room, I would describe it as needing maintenance and considerable refreshing. When I opened the door in the cabinet that contained the small security safe, it fell off. In general everything looked well worn. Finally, when paying the expensive rates that they charge I don't expect an additional 12.95 a day if you want WIFI, or the 20 dollars a day they failed to mention for the privilege of parking your car in their overcrowded parking lot. As for service, there was a very friendly doorman that asked if we need help with our luggage as I walked up to the check-in desk but after they had told me where my room was, he was nowhere to be found. All in all I would say you can do better for less.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
We apologize for the noise you experienced during your stay. The resort is large and we wish the team would have had the opportunity to move you to a quiet area of the resort. We are sorry your experience did not meet your expectations and thank you for the feedback you provided for our front office and maintenance team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful hotel, large rooms, beautiful views, and very attentive staff. I stay here quite often for business. When I walk in the door, I feel like a celebrity..."Welcome back Ms. xxx", "How are you doing Ms. xxx", "Can we help you with anything Ms. xxx".

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
On behalf of the entire resort team, thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Maybe after some of the lodges in the parks, this hotel felt dreamy in terms of the bed and general standard. Pool and hot tub was a favourite with the kids. Rooms are again away from the main block. Pretty well positioned for the centre of town and certainly the beach and the pier.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited this establishment several times over the years and always felt welcome there, and recognized.
- Always requested the same suite with its balcony overlooking the Pacific. Room service was good and efficient but also frequented their main Restaurant and found its food served good.
- and on the leisure side they have a nice Tennis court to play with like minded business associates and/or friends.
- and being easily reached from Los Angeles by rental car its a good hide-away from the bustle of a City and if time allows I will come back.
P.S.
also recommended for families with small kids.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night while traveling down the coast. Our room had a great view of the ocean with a balcony to sit on and enjoy the view. The room was ok but outdated and the hallways looked a little shabby. Our stay was fine until the morning we checked out. As we wer travelling down the coast we decided to wash some clothes while we were there. When we arrived there was a sign stating the washers were not working. we saw a maintenance working on them and in the morning the sign was gone.we washed our clothes only to find the dryers didn't work. after spending a few dollars trying to dry them we went to the front desk to talk about this. The staff at the front desk semed to not care about our situation. As we were in a hurry to leave and were already behind it took about an hour and all we got were some plastic bags to put our wet clothes in. we asked if there was a laundramat nearby where we could dry our clothes and the staff at the front desk said they didn't know and could not be bothered to try to find one. at this point we walked over to the concierge desk where the woman there not ony found a nearby laundry and gave us directions but also offered us a free lunch or drinks if we prefered. As we were already behind in our travel time we politely refused. This person was the only one on the staff who helped us. i don't think I would stay there in the future

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
First, thank you for selecting our resort for your stay in Santa Barbara. We are pleased to know you enjoyed the location and ocean views. We are very sorry that the guest laundry was out of order and for the poor response from our front desk team. We appreciate your feedback and will use this information as a learning tool in our training sessions. If your plans include a return trip to Santa Barbara, we hope you will give us another chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.