We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are traveling with a pet, it's a welcome sight.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Save Saved
You added The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Palm Springs, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If you are traveling with a pet, it's a welcome sight.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We pass through Santa Barbara at least twice a year with our dog and every time I think I can find something as nice that is cheaper or something nicer for the same money. We always wind up back at the Fess Parker. It's pretty corporate, the rooms definitely showing some wear, and better than Average but NOT Very Good.

Room Tip: We like the one story building at the north end by the tennis courts. Quiet and we can slip out for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    535
    530
    336
    148
    93
See reviews for
504
521
60
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria AZ, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stay was just as pleasant as last year. We were so glad we brought our Puggle because we could take her almost everywhere. Our walks on the beach were wondeful. The restaurants where we dined were great and also dog friendly. The only bad experiene was at the massage ar

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

One word review....filthy.
It made the total lack of service unimportant.
So overpriced for the disgusting condition of this property.

Pool too small. Many people couldnt even get a lounge chair.

We were there with three other couples. None of us would ever return.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I was so sorry to read your review and very disappointed that we failed to meet your expectations! I wish I had known about this while you were here. I would have done everything in my power to ensure your stay was as enjoyable as possible. A major renovation of our guestrooms and cooridors begins next month and even though we are excited about this I realize it does nothing to make up for the disappointment with your recent stay. I hope you will reconsider and return after the renovation is done and give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I felt I had to give another view sine so many negatives keep appreaing at the moment. We stayed in the hotel for one night only, and didnt eat there. However check in was very pleasant (we got free cookies) and the room was nice, large and clean. The pool bar had closed when we got there but a very nice chap asked us what we wanted, radioed our order through and in 5 minutes beers and soft drinks were brought to the poolside. Agree the location is not ideal for town - a good 20+ minutes walk, but based on our limited stay I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. I was very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your spacious guestroom and that our team members assisted you at the pool. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that it will be soon. When you return, our front desk team or concierge will be happy to provide you with the Santa Barbara trolley schedule. It is a very convenient mode of transportation from the resort to the harbor and downtown areas. Again, thank you for your very kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Expensive for the facilities and the rooms were a bit tired.

Poor beach location. Far better off driving ten mins down the coast.

A massive and so impersonal hotel but with friendly staff.

An average breakfast buffet each day

Underwhelming overall given the cost. Will not return or recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

A wonderful hotel and a perfect position only spoilt by a very rude and unhelpful lady on reception on checkout. For the size of hotel the pool area is very small and crowded particularly on a good day! We would certainly return.
David
August 2013

Room Tip: All rooms look good, just depends how much you want to pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 4:00PM. We were told we had been upgraded to a Jr. Suite but the room was not yet ready. Half hour later we were told the room would not be ready for an hour to an hour and a half. At about $500 per night this is just not OK. They ended up giving us a smaller room with views of the railroad tracks and the parking lot. The rooms feel very dated, and a lot like a Hampton Inn. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Very poor value and shoddy service. Arrive with low expectations and you may be fine.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I’m very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience at our hotel. Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us and we apologize for letting you down. I will be sure to keep your feedback in mind as we're always working to improve our overall guest experience. We do want you to know that a major renovation of all guestrooms and hallways will begin next month. Though we are excited and looking forward to the completion of this project at the end of the year it does not make up for the disappointment of your recent stay. We thank you for taking the time to share your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.