We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Barbara One Night Stay at Double Tree” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort to your Saves list
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Norwalk, Connecticut, United States
1 review
“Santa Barbara One Night Stay at Double Tree”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I made reservations for 3 rooms for a one night stay in Santa Barbara July 3, 2013 for my family. The rooms were on the first floor, 155, 157, 159. They were old, poor lighting in room, musty, air condition didn't work in one room, these rooms were not worth what I paid. I know the Hotel is aware of the problems we complained about. These rooms really need updating. I was embarrassed, for me and my family. The outside of the Hotel is lovely, the grounds are lovely the staff is nice, the pool is lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    616
    388
    175
    98
See reviews for
582
627
63
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel felt a little tired. Our room was definitely very tired. We booked a suite as we had our family from Denver, Phoenix and Texas staying at the hotel as well. The bar refrigerator was not functional - it had 4 inches of ice outside the "freezer" section. When I called to get it replaced, they suggested I turn down the temperature. I said I could do that if they wanted water all over. The door would not even close. The situation remained - even tho' I spoke with someone again.

Additionally, when the family went to the hot tub at night, there were people from outside the hotel using the facility - brought their own cooler and were making burritos etc at the pool. There did not seem to be anyone to manage who actually uses the facility.

The staff we did meet were quite friendly. The best part of the hotel is the location. Perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Horrible place! It feel like and smells like a highway motel! Trashy place and they charge you for parking! Don't go ! The staff was nice and admitted the flaws of the hotel but were not accommodating and they charge for park! Stay away

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We're very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience at our hotel. Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us and we apologize for letting you down during your stay. We'd also like to apologize if you were not made aware of the parking charge at your time of booking. We will keep your feedback in mind as we continue to improve our guest experience. We hope that you'll give us another chance if your travels bring you back to our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

To say this place is dated is a compliment. Upholstery is torn, caulking is old and cracked. Rusted metal vents. Stained carpets, as if the stains are the pattern. Broken coffee maker. Heater that does not heat, and a front desk girl who basically says it does and doesnt offer to help. Have you ever been to a restaurant in which the hostesses were a bunch of junior high school girls who clearly didn't know much about customer service and tried to act grown up? Well that is this place. When i get more time, I'll update more specifics later and to save Hilton honors members something more detailed on flyer talk.com, and may get other comments. One more thing,not all ocean views are equal here, and you may not get bang for your buck. Good thing there was no plan to relax in the room.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our hotel's appearance and we'd also like to apologize for the malfunctioning coffee maker and heating unit. We will be sure to report those to our maintenance staff immediately. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep all of your comments in mind while we work to improve our overall guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon if your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed on a Monday night and the hotel was uncrowded. Nicely landscaped property. Generously sized guest room with 2 queen beds; very comfortable. Nice touches such as a putting green and shuffleboard. Only real downside was the dining option for dinner. The only option was the restaurant at the bar, which had a limited (and expensive) menu. When we asked the front desk for a dinner recommendation, we received a bum steer to a restaurant that didn't have an appropriate menu for kids. Fortunately, there are enough restaurants in town that we found our own way.

Room Tip: Second floor is walk up only.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Fess Parker Double Tree for years, and it has always been our favorite place in Santa Barbara. Our most recent trip, however, was extremely disappointing. First, for a holiday week, they only had two employees checking people in and the process was very slow. Second, our room was not ready, which was not unexpected because we arrive around 2:00. We said we would walk around town, and they said they would call us when the room was ready, hold our luggage and put our bags in our room when it was ready. They never called. We returned to the hotel around 7:30, our room was ready, but our bags were not in our room. Our biggest issue is that we paid $600+ a night for 4 nights for a suite, and the room was on the 1st floor (they said they were full and had no other rooms), on the other side of the laundry room, with the ice machine outside our door, and next to the pool and a major traffic way. We had to keep the blinds closed most of the time because of all of the people walking by. We actually had someone walk on to our patio and take a chair. The noise (screaming kids) outside our room at the pool was very annoying. We ate one night at the buffet because it was July 4th and everything else was closed. I am not a buffet fan and normally would avoid it like the plague. I watched numerous children walk up and touch food, put it back and take something else, or lick their fingers and touch something else. While it is the parents responsibility to watch their kids, many don't. The hotel should have someone monitoring the serving table to deter this. In all fairness, the room although tired, was clean. I am returning to FP in a few weeks for another stay: I already had the reservation. If it isn't any better, it will be my last stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
First, we sincerely apologize for the unfortunate incidents that occurred during your most recent visit to our resort. There is just no excuse for our failure to provide you with the outstanding level of customer service you have experienced in the past and deserve. We also want to thank you for mentioning specific information that will be helpful to our management team. We constantly strive to improve and the feedback from our guests is important. Finally, we thank you for your business and for giving us another opportunity to serve you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and will do everything possible to ensure your stay is enjoyable and memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashton, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

great location. poor staff service. we have stayed here for a number of years. the furnishing and the grounds get more and more worn out each year. it is a shame because it is a fantastic location but it really is run down. they should shut it down and completely re do the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
First, we sincerely appreciate your business and hope you will consider returning to enjoy the newly remodeled guestrooms and cooridors. We have been carefully planning a major renovation project which will begin in just a few months. We are confident that our valued guests will be pleased with the finished product and we hope you will come back and give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#27 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.