We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Save Saved
You added The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Modesto, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The staff are friendly and great. I love the old photos of Fess Parker and the history behind the hotel. The location is perfect for everything. We did not use the pool as it was always crowded. We did get massages from the spa and they were great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    551
    359
    160
    95
See reviews for
533
551
61
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The resort/hotel looks very nice on the outside, but could use some touch-ups on the inside. My room had peeling wall paper and holes in the bathroom door. The room was clean and the bedding seemed clean. The pool was nice, but there were loud teenagers in the pool until midnight. I wished the staff had done something about that to respect the quiet time rules. I had breakfast inside the hotel restaurant. I was not sure what they did to justify the high price of my scrambled eggs and potatoes, but maybe it was the price of convenience because the food was ordinary. It has a great location and I had an overall comfy stay.

Room Tip: Go somewhere in the city to eat because the food at the hotel is average and overpriced. There is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbury park, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband took me back to my favorite hotel in Santa Barbara for my birthday. We had such a wonderful time. The staff at Fess Parker are just wonderful people. The hotel has great food and drinks. We loved sitting around the fire pit and listening to the waves crashing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Definitly recommend the resort, great location price accommodatiions. Only disconcering thing was that the hotel wings were not always secured with the key card. The door access were on the lock but they were never turned on so I recommend to the hotel to turn them on and require that individuals only get access via key card. Otherwise, it was an awesome place. I highly highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

There's no question the grounds of this large motel complex are beautifully landscaped, vibrant with colorful flowers, a spectacular view of the ocean across the street and it offers a variety of rooms for events, business meetings and special occasions. However, room service leaves a lot to be desired ($30.00 for a sandwich and fries and an hour and a half wait, not including tip), the rooms do not offer even the smallest of refrigerators or microwaves and the ice buckets were not clean and did not come with plastic liners. The prices are outlandish for the modest size of the room and bathrooms. Not to mention the condition. The word "frayed" comes to mind. The rooms, walls, floors, halls and furniture are aged, stained and marred. See accompanying pictures. It FEELS like an exciting resort when you first pull in. The spacious lobby continues that feeling. Beyond that, reality - and disappointment - sets in.

Room Tip: Our friends complained about the condition of their room and at least got moved to one with a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We sincerely apologize that you did not have an exceptional experience with us. Your feedback provides information regarding room service and guest room quality that we can improve upon. We are preparing for a guestroom renovation which will begin later this year and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future and seeing how we've improved. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed for a weekend getaway. I've stayed here many times in the past 20 years. We got married here. So it's always a favorite when we're in SB. The grounds & lobby are still just as lovely. But the rooms are starting to show age. Which I guess if fine for most hotels, but this one is expensive. On the beach. Our room was musty smelling. The bathroom is need of some updating, the wear & tear are more noticeable. Bathrooms in $100/nite chain hotels are updated nicer than this. The rooms (at least the ocean front room we were in) just didn't feel like I was staying expensive luxury type of hotel. I could have been anywhere. I've always loved this hotel & I always will, but I'm not sure the rooms are worth the price anymore.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

$350 for a room that was shabby with moldy tiles. The elevator broke down, we were charged extra for parking $19 a night, internet $15 a day, and continental breakfast $20. Do not waste your money on this place. I would have left but I spent 7 hours in traffic before arriving.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We see that you were unhappy with some of the charges, and we apologize if the charges weren't clear when you booked the room. We work hard to personalize each guest's experience and try to keep costs affordable. Your review helps us maintain a focus on both of those areas. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.