We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort to your Saves list
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Dining Credit
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Hopefully somewhere I want to be
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I attended a wedding at this location and was quite impressed with the grounds. In looking at the rooms in comparison with the price, I did not feel that this location was a value and we opted to stay elsewhere. The food was satisfactory, the environment appeared a bit dated though classy, but the location was extraordinary. The staff was accommodating and didn't appear to mind the children's excitement (loud, high velocity excitement). Thank you Fess Parker, too bad we couldn't spend more time with you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    636
    399
    178
    100
See reviews for
602
654
64
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buena Park, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were at the Fess Parker for a wedding, which was held in the rotunda. During our three day stay, we were treated very well by the staff, which was instantly ready to do whatever it took to make our experience the best. One of the waitstaff, Xiomara by name, went completely above and beyond the call of duty to make sure I was pleased with the service. I cannot commend her highly enough. One of the valets, whose name, I believe, was Dave, went out of his way to make sure our physically handicapped son enjoyed his stay. The people there were great.
The rotunda with the ocean for a backdrop made an unforgettable view for the wedding, giving the ceremony a personality as unique as the happy couple in whose honor we were gathered. The Fess has a personality all its own, mixing Santa Barbara history with the modern conveniences we've come to expect.
The placement couldn't be better. The beach across the street, Stearn's Wharf a short walk up the road, a vegetable stand across the railroad tracks, and, if you have children with a particular culinary taste, McDonald's around the block.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My Daughter had a great time in the pool. There was a nice covered area to relax and watch her swim. The water was great with plenty of room for everyone. Resort was clean and all staff was friendly and helpful. Bar staff was nice. Security was helpful. Best of all the pool. only bummer was paying for parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I only read the reviews for this resort after I had already booked a weekend getaway at this hotel.
To say the least, I was a little concerned what I got myself into. Room with dog hair, train traffic all night, shabby furniture. OMG, what a perspective.
After reading all of that, I called the hotel prior to arrival to at least make sure that I will not get one of their pet friendly rooms. First I talked to somebody at the frontdesk, I addressed my desire to not being placed in a room where they allow dogs. I was told, since I payed my stay with HH Points, I can't be helped but she will transfer me to the specialist for Hilton Honor Members. So, I explained again that I would like to get a room assigned where there was no dog guests prior to me, due to dog hair allergy. Again I was told that she can't take my request, but she will put me through the Hilton Honor Member Call Center. Third time is a charm and I again told my story. The friendly Gentlemen told me that I will have to place such a special request direct with the frontdesk of the hotel. Well, that's where I started my journey. Long story short, he offered to enter a note on my reservation but he couldn't promise that it will be considered.
After all of that, I kind of arrived with an attitude to just be surprised. The room was as requested not pet friendly and it was clean. Furniture in very good condition - Hawaiian style with pineapple shaped lamps. We only had a Standard Mountain View room, but it was very roomy with nice shutters. Patio facing east with morning sun.
Bathroom with one sink inside and a vanity outside. Towels were not really Resort quality. And not enough. I don't like to be short on towel supply. The ones which where hanging on the rod looked like somebody used them before. Which of course was not the case, but I guess there is not enough time allocated for bathroom set up. The towels could be of higher quality and there is no robe and slippers.
The mattress definately needs to be replaced. We had a King with a pot hole. Old fashion wire coils poked me. And the feather pillows....didn't know that they are still around. Rather on the uncomfortable side, but it all comes down to what you are used to.
The Inroom coffee maker comes with Wolfgang Puck signature pads and delivers good quality coffee for a bright start in the day. There is even single serve half and half milk available, not just the packaged creamer.
The heated pool is big and there is also a jacuzzi fitting 8 people. This is a family friendly place and the pool was occupied by a herd of kids who had a blast in the pool, so I didn't want to disturb their fun.
This is a very nice place if you happen to get a remodeled room as we obviously did.
To me it takes a little more to call a place resort.
Parking fees are already resort standard with $19 a day.
There is public parking on the street, but you can't leave your car overnight as there is 'no parking' signs posted for the hours after midnight until early morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train tracks and upstairs for more privacy. If you need action get a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Drab, shabby and just plain out of date! This place needs a total make over. Popcorn ceilings, dark rooms, lamps with low wattage, small and flat bed pillows. dirty light switches.....the list goes on and on. Could not wait to check out the next morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your candid review of our property. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest accommodations to improve our provided experience. We hope you will visit us in the future and see how we've improved. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Well, you already know that the rooms here are expensive. And you probably also know that it is designed to churn out one gorgeous blown-out wedding after another. But what you may not know is that this property is one of the most family-friendly places I have been to, certainly at this level of hotel in the SB area.

When I entered the gorgeous, expansive lobby I initially thought, uh-oh... I'm going to spend all weekend telling my kids, Don't touch that! Don't touch that! But I got my room keys, walked past the pool, and lo and behold, a sea of kids and families frolicking in the pool and hot tub. The rooms were quite large and very well furnished. No pretension from the staff whatsoever. My kids loved the shuffleboard area and miniature golf - no extra charge. You can rent a variety of bicycles and beach gear conveniently. The property is directly across the street from the beach (and a lifeguard station is right there too). So I would have to say we were pleasantly surprised to find a nice property that embraces our kids too!

Why only four stars and not five - well, as grand as this resort is, it is admittedly showing some signs of wear and tear. However, the imperfections are small (compared with some other 4-star properties I have seen) and they are planning a renovation this year. So if you're looking for an upscale property in the SB area to visit with your kids, this is the place.

Room Tip: If you're weary of resort prices, there is an excellent little local market (Tri County Produce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort. We are so pleased that you selected our resort for your family's visit to Santa Barbara and hope to welcome you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

What an incredible location! We had an amazing view from our room on the second floor of the main building. Palm trees and ocean as far as the eye could see. The first evening we sat on the patio savoring wonderful margs from the downstairs bar, listening to the ocean & enjoying the breeze. Staff was very attentive, food and drinks were excellent. After the first night, staff knew us & greeted us by name. This isn't the newest hotel, but it is well maintained & very clean. We used points to cover our 3-day stay, so the only thing we paid for was parking & food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
The comments of our guests are so important and the detailed information you provided is greatly appreciated. Thank you for sharing your wonderful description of our location and service and for giving us the opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#23 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.