We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Save Saved
You added The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Tustin, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here last month for 1 night. Great location. Loved that beach was across the street. Did not eat at the hotel but the restaurants looked fine. Would highly recommend it because of where it is situated.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    548
    355
    155
    95
See reviews for
530
543
60
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clark, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

It's very unfortunate that this ideally located resort hotel has grounds of a 5+ star hotel but the conditions of even their NICEST rooms leave much to be desired. Toilets that run all night, broken furnishings, stained and worn carpets, lighting fixtures that may or may not work, and the in room telephone system...well, one would be better off using a paper cup and string! The staff are phenomenal and truly are a joy to work with. If you don't mind paying top dollar for location alone, this is not a bad option. If one is looking for a well kept stately room with MORE than the luxuries of home, you will be sorely disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had a great time, loved the view and the room was peaceful. All was fine - except the internet, which I depend on for my work. It is so irritating to be staying at a super fine hotel (which it is) and be charged for internet use. Not only that, but they charge for each device!... So, if you have a laptop and an ipad, it's x two... I know, it's a small charge (especially when compared with the cost of the room itself), but that makes it even more irritating. Other than that little irritation, the room was awesome. We were right across the street from the beach. Wonderful location for my husband's birthday get-away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is my second time staying here. I chose it specifically for the location close to the beach and the fact that it is within a 15 min walk of State Street where most of the fun bars and restaurants are located. Highlights:

- Ocean view rooms have nice views. Hotel is across the street from the beach so there is car traffic and pedestrians. Closest units are about 100yards from the street and 200 yards from the beach. Many units are ground floor with a patio, table and chairs and lounge chair. I like the ground floor units. Landscaping is beautiful and well maintained.

- Hotel is low rise with separate building units. Very easy to navigate although some rooms are a good walk from the lobby.

- Rooms are older and in need of upgrade but clean. Still a good value for the price.

- Hotel has self parking which is spacious and close to the hotel.

- Large lobby, good Starbucks coffee in cafe, bar has outdoor patio seating facing the beach.

- Restaurants are good. No other good meal options nearby without 15 min walk to State Street. 2 excellent coffee places at foot of state street.

- Beach path across street is great for a morning run or walk.

- Hotel service is good. Everyone is very helpful and friendly.

*Golf tips* Sandpiper is everyone's first choice. It is about 15 min north of hotel and on the ocean. Can be expensive but worth playing once. My favorite is Rancho San Marcos about 20 min from hotel near Los Padres National Forest. Gorgeous pastoral setting and layout. Conditions have gotten a bit scruffy post recession but well worth the $70 I paid this week. Played in 3 hours which was a plus! Glen Annie another good choice. All available on GolfNow.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I recently spent one week at this location during a work related seminar. The location is magnificent. The Hotel is not a five star hotel but certainly meets the four star class. Get an Ocean room if available, because my mountain view room had the mountains and the parking lot scene. However, for the convention price we were paying, I cannot complain at all. I wish all the hotel rooms I have stayed in the past were as nice as the one I had during my stay. The room (king size bed) was humongous. Please note this hotel is used for business conferences. The hotel has a main building with several conference rooms and several clusters of villas housing several rooms in them. The landscaping is very beautiful. The hotel is about a block from the ocean, and about five blocks from the wharf. The staff is very, very pleasant, and attentive, and they are trained to assist guests any which way they can. Although certain areas of the building need to be refreshed, all in all I had no complaints about my stay. I want to return to Santa Barbara, and stay at the Fess Parker. Do not forget to ask for the chocolate chip cookies at the reception, which seems to be a Double Tree treat!

Room Tip: Get an Ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Beautiful location and immaculate surroundings. This resort captures the essence of Santa Barbara with charming Spanish style and gorgeous landscaping. Friendly staff and perfect room completed our stay experience. Waking up with coffee on the balcony, overlooking the ocean was a delightful start to our days. We were blessed with beautful weather and enjoyed walking around the resort grounds soaking in the mountain and ocean views. This mature but perfectly maintained property is always "predictable" -- we can count on excellent service, a perfect room in a world class setting, at an affordable price. Fess and his family are committed to providing a wonderful Santa Barbara resort experience and have always succeeded. Definitely will return again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
It was a pleasure to read your wonderful review of your recent stay at our resort. Your compliments are appreciated very much. We look forward to serving you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Last weekend we hosted a bachelorette party for my sister. Ken, the manager, took great care of us and provided us top notch service. We had a suite so it worked great for hanging out. When we called for a van taxi, they sent a stretch limo which was such a nice surprise. The property is on the water with beautiful views and convenient to downtown Santa Barbara. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.