We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, but they really need to change the internet fees. It's ridiculous!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort to your Saves list
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Fess Parker Wine Package
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Cambria, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, but they really need to change the internet fees. It's ridiculous!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had a great time, loved the view and the room was peaceful. All was fine - except the internet, which I depend on for my work. It is so irritating to be staying at a super fine hotel (which it is) and be charged for internet use. Not only that, but they charge for each device!... So, if you have a laptop and an ipad, it's x two... I know, it's a small charge (especially when compared with the cost of the room itself), but that makes it even more irritating. Other than that little irritation, the room was awesome. We were right across the street from the beach. Wonderful location for my husband's birthday get-away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    660
    413
    181
    101
See reviews for
620
669
66
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pebble Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time staying here. I chose it specifically for the location close to the beach and the fact that it is within a 15 min walk of State Street where most of the fun bars and restaurants are located. Highlights:

- Ocean view rooms have nice views. Hotel is across the street from the beach so there is car traffic and pedestrians. Closest units are about 100yards from the street and 200 yards from the beach. Many units are ground floor with a patio, table and chairs and lounge chair. I like the ground floor units. Landscaping is beautiful and well maintained.

- Hotel is low rise with separate building units. Very easy to navigate although some rooms are a good walk from the lobby.

- Rooms are older and in need of upgrade but clean. Still a good value for the price.

- Hotel has self parking which is spacious and close to the hotel.

- Large lobby, good Starbucks coffee in cafe, bar has outdoor patio seating facing the beach.

- Restaurants are good. No other good meal options nearby without 15 min walk to State Street. 2 excellent coffee places at foot of state street.

- Beach path across street is great for a morning run or walk.

- Hotel service is good. Everyone is very helpful and friendly.

*Golf tips* Sandpiper is everyone's first choice. It is about 15 min north of hotel and on the ocean. Can be expensive but worth playing once. My favorite is Rancho San Marcos about 20 min from hotel near Los Padres National Forest. Gorgeous pastoral setting and layout. Conditions have gotten a bit scruffy post recession but well worth the $70 I paid this week. Played in 3 hours which was a plus! Glen Annie another good choice. All available on GolfNow.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I recently spent one week at this location during a work related seminar. The location is magnificent. The Hotel is not a five star hotel but certainly meets the four star class. Get an Ocean room if available, because my mountain view room had the mountains and the parking lot scene. However, for the convention price we were paying, I cannot complain at all. I wish all the hotel rooms I have stayed in the past were as nice as the one I had during my stay. The room (king size bed) was humongous. Please note this hotel is used for business conferences. The hotel has a main building with several conference rooms and several clusters of villas housing several rooms in them. The landscaping is very beautiful. The hotel is about a block from the ocean, and about five blocks from the wharf. The staff is very, very pleasant, and attentive, and they are trained to assist guests any which way they can. Although certain areas of the building need to be refreshed, all in all I had no complaints about my stay. I want to return to Santa Barbara, and stay at the Fess Parker. Do not forget to ask for the chocolate chip cookies at the reception, which seems to be a Double Tree treat!

Room Tip: Get an Ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Beautiful location and immaculate surroundings. This resort captures the essence of Santa Barbara with charming Spanish style and gorgeous landscaping. Friendly staff and perfect room completed our stay experience. Waking up with coffee on the balcony, overlooking the ocean was a delightful start to our days. We were blessed with beautful weather and enjoyed walking around the resort grounds soaking in the mountain and ocean views. This mature but perfectly maintained property is always "predictable" -- we can count on excellent service, a perfect room in a world class setting, at an affordable price. Fess and his family are committed to providing a wonderful Santa Barbara resort experience and have always succeeded. Definitely will return again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
It was a pleasure to read your wonderful review of your recent stay at our resort. Your compliments are appreciated very much. We look forward to serving you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Last weekend we hosted a bachelorette party for my sister. Ken, the manager, took great care of us and provided us top notch service. We had a suite so it worked great for hanging out. When we called for a van taxi, they sent a stretch limo which was such a nice surprise. The property is on the water with beautiful views and convenient to downtown Santa Barbara. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Family of four, we had a mountain view room which had 2 king sized beds, a large bathroom and a small additional wash basin area near the door. When we checked in the receptionists were very friendly, and we can't fault the staff at all. The gardens are beautiful, and as you walk through the grounds to your room, the flowers and climbers made a good first impression. But the building has some strange areas - a very large reception area and a deserted and slightly run down circular paved area to the front of the property and a shop that sells very expensive clothes and other tat. The pool was small and the fitness room dingy. Our room was clean but the bathroom had loose tiles and missing plaster. The mountain view was actually the car park - our patio area was a small area of grass straight onto the car park which made us feel a little vulnerable - and then the railroad behind a concrete wall, then the mountains in the distance beyond. We asked to change rooms to look over the pool area for a bit more atmosphere and for better access for the kids, but there was nothing available. However, we could keep an eye on our car! We didn't eat here but the restaurants and bar were not busy. I used the computer terminal to book our LA Universal Studios tickets and the receptionist printed them out for us for no charge. The propery is quite a walk from the pier, but there is a cheap public shuttle bus that goes adjacent to the propery. If you drive and take the road back from the beach,and negotiate a roundabout (rare in the USA) there is a small shopping area that the locals use - a great Trader Joe suoermarket, and a bagel shop for breakfast which we would highly recommend. We were only here for two nights as part of our road trip. Our travel agent had booked this, and it may be that they had gone for a cheaper deal, but we were expecting this to be one of our more luxurious stays as the web site made it look fab. The rack rate for the room was $800 night. Santa Barbara didn't disappoint, we'll definitely return, but this property did disappoint. We wouldn't stay here again or recommend it - it is trying to be a corporate conference facility, a convention centre, a large wedding venue and a holiday hotel and so has no real identity or focus - very expensive and strangely soulless.

Room Tip: Don't accept a mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
598 reviews 598 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
422 helpful votes 422 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This might very well be one of my favorite properties. It is beautiful. And you can walk to shops on the pier and state street. Just a short walk across the street to a very nice beach path that goes for miles. I've stayed here many times over the years and keep coming back.

Room Tip: Get a room in the Eucalytpus building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We thank you not only for your wonderful review of the resort but for your business throughout the years. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back and serve you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.