We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time warp!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Save Saved
You added The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Time warp!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Arriving at this large resort was like stepping back in time to the 50's/60's - but in a good way! The large reception area with adjoining bars/restaurants is a great place to sit and take in the ambiance of the place. The pool area is great with plenty of space. All staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were large enough for a family of 4 with teenagers. Furnishings could be modernised (room was very clean) but they actually add to the whole feel of the place. Being able to do own laundry at a reasonable price was excellent. Santa Barbara is a short drive away which brings me to my only complaint - parking. This sprawling resort has acres of parking but they still charge $19 per day!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    549
    355
    156
    95
See reviews for
530
545
60
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I don't know where to start. I haven't been back in almost 7 years and i was lucky enough to revisit after all this time. I'm so glad that I did because the service was unmatched. From the time I drove in, the valet, I think his name was Dave to the time I checked in with Jeff, it was just perfection. I don't know how their cheeks don't hurt all the time from smiling so much. They were just so sincere and I felt it. Everyone that i encountered, it was smiles from cheek to cheek. Service is everything to me and i was glad to see that service was emphasized strongly at this resort. Overall, The property was beautiful, breakfast was quick and easy and most importantly, service was top notch. Thank you and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Went for my big 4.0 with my girlfriend and had a great time! We got in pretty late so I'm used to getting the "B" squad elsewhere, but the staff here was still immediately attentive and friendly. "A+!" Dor at the front desk was gracious and offered us water and cookies upon greeting us. This was our first time at the hotel and we found it to have a great resort feel. Couldn't have asked for a better time, location or quality staff. Definitely will be going back!

Room Tip: Get a beach view if you can. Well worth it waking up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is in need of an update and it seems that it's coming which is good. The rooms were all very spacious, the furniture and beds were comfortable but the carpeting, paint, wallpaper, lamp shades, etc are all worn out and need to be replaced. The bathroom in our room also needed a good cleaning on the back on the door and in other spots that the usual housekeeping doesn't get to. I would compare the state the rooms are in to a decent Best Western, nothing special and if they want to continue charging the rates they do they need to improve.

Still can't believe hotels still charge $12 per day, per IP address for wireless internet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your comments. I was very sorry to learn that our housekeeping team missed an area in the bathroom of your guestroom. Your comment will assist our management staff when they review this with our housekeeping team. We are excited about the major renovation in the planning stage right now and hope you will return to experience the improvements and give us another opportunity to serve you..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I visited Fess Parker for the day on my boyfriend's birthday and I absolutely loved it! I was taken care of by Dor who was very friendly and wonderful ! Room service was prompt, food was delicious and the lady at the front was so sweet whose smile was contagious. Great staff!! The hotel is gorgeous and only steps away from the beach ! I loved it ! I'm definitely going back soon!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rep of ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly at check in and once they found out we were honeymoon couple they upgraded us to a lovely ocean view room and granted free parking. The room was lovely and comfortable and its a nice stroll into town. There is also a lovely pool and the laundry room is handy for those of us doing a bit of traveling.

We didn't eat there so can't comment.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Nice staff but Internet and TV was not working great! Great location but was a bit pricy for what you get. I had to stay there for school so they were very busy. The meeting rooms where great and everyone was friendly. My main problem was in the room with bad Internet and TV as well as the heating was not working right.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We are very sorry that you encountered problems with the internet and television in your guestroom. We have addressed these important issues with our maintenance staff. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to correct the problem. We are pleased that you enjoyed the service you received from our staff. They strive so hard to ensure that every guest enjoys their time here. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.