We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to use as SB Base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort to your Saves list
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location to use as SB Base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Ocean side is the way to go if possible. We had a really nice stay with an ocean view. Room was comfortable and Doubletree beds are great.

Sure parking charge and WIFI access are bummer if you are paying this much for a room but wonderful location made up for it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    596
    382
    174
    97
See reviews for
566
610
63
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Overall a great stay at Fess Parker's! I recommend it for the family as the location is prime; close to State street, The Wharf, the Zoo and the Beach, it's the total Santa Barbara Experience! We are looking forward to going back in the Summer to rent / ride the bikes along the trail! Next time, the kids can do the peddling!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Mountain side are quiet - but no view of the ocean : (
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Location across form the beach is great. Rooms were dingy, needed refreshing. The bedding was subpar and you could sand the floors with the bath towel. Food in Cafe was bad, Come on how hard is it to cook a burger, Only thing worse was the service. Has the ambiance & Atmosphere of a conference hotel.

Lovely town, nice beach but we had to move to another hotel to enjoy. Which I would advise if your on holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms. We appreciate your feedback and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you'll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Bar/Late Night scene is not the place to be for a "fun" night out, but great for a drink or 2 with friends. Late night bar staff can be very slow and forgot to bring out a few drinks.
Overall, beautiful place to stay, extremely friendly staff and great rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you book this hotel with full expectation of this being an outstanding 3 star property, you'll come away happy. But if you book it expecting to stay at a 4 star resort, you'll be quite disappointed.

The pluses: excellent and responsive service, pet friendly policy, location right by the beach and a short walk away from the wharf. Beds were comfortable and the flat screen TV nice. The room is clean and the grounds well kept. The gym is also filled with up-to-date equipments, each with own monitor, although the cable connection was a bit spotty.

The minuses: the hotel, like a recent reviewer mentioned, is past its prime. The best word to describe it: dated. The parking is quite pricey, especially since the gates do not work at all the 3 days we were there. The heater made a loud humming sound, which I suppose actually helps you sleep, kinda like a white noise machine.

This property does have real potential, and it seems they nickel and dime you so they eventually can come up with the funds to refurbish the place. Walking to the lobby, you see that they have remodeled a couple of rooms and had a few feet of new carpet in the hallway. We joked that with each additional $19 parking fee and $25 pet cleaning fee, they are another step closer to another few feet of new carpet.

We overpaid at $190 per night, saw the hotel offered at $150 per night as a last minute deal, that would have been much more reasonable.

Room Tip: You'll hear the train throughout the property, but the north side/mountain view rooms would be j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This property was once the cat's meow, so to speak. It is a nice big property located right across the street from the beach. The grounds are well maintained and nice looking. These two factors earned my four stars rating. The main building and lobby feels just like a Hilton, an aging one at that. The rooms are clean and comfortable and feels just like another hotel room. I will have to say that the staff were nice. Beware that the parking is a little like robbery. $19 per vehicle. We stayed here on a Friday night. They charged us for parking but the lot was opened the entire time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed for 1 night and thought it was very nice. The room was clean, we had view of the mountains which was spectacular. The resort has a pool which was a good size, not too busy when we were there. It's over the road from the beach which makes a great place to eat breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Reservation Counter, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.