We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near the water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avania Inn of Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Avania Inn of Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   128 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Country Inn by the Sea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Near the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I found this to be a very good hotel for the price. The parking lot was not very large, but we had no problems parking in the lot. I am not sure what it would be like in high season. It was a very short walk to the pier and beach. A real plus as there is not much parking in town either. The staff was friendly and the breakfast good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeachHunterR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed one night for a sleep and that was all. Good thing. The drapes had holes in them from sun damage, so if they overlooked the shredded drapes what else are they prepared to overlook? Certainly makes you wonder. Front desk just treated us like a number. She recorded my complaints on her computer with out any acknowledgement or apology. I asked for a refund or reduced rate and she said not its done now , no reversing it.You get the impression they only want your business, bored and uninterested, stock responses. Just relying on transient business. I cant abide service of this nature.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

ChesterfieldUnited Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the Avania. Lovely clean room, excellent breakfast and plenty of choice. Staff friendly, Samantha advised us places to eat in the evening. Coffee and water always available in the comfortable spacious lounge. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieQ30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I give this hotel 3.5 rating because the breakfast spread was picked up before the time allotted. The bed was comfortable, the view is of the parking lot. It has A/C which worked fine. Has an elevator. Just don't wait to the last half hour for the continental breakfast. Location walking distance to Pier & harbor.

Room Tip: Choose highest level, believe there were 3 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junebaby51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed for 6 nights here for vacation and a wedding. Friendly staff, all in all a nice place. Rooms are nice, some things like carpeting in the hall could use some updating, but for the price, it's a fantastic location in walking distance to the beach and a lot of other shops and attractions (granted, we choose to walk vs. take a cab a lot more than others).

Also had a pretty nice breakfast every morning - which is a nice addition to the stay. Hot tub and pool were also nice after lots of walking to the nearby attractions!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, Ca
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We found this hotel to be average for the level of the hotel. Had a very nice location within walking distance to beach, wharf, and downtown. Comfortable bed and pillows, nice balcony with chairs and table for relaxing, and decent free breakfast in the morning.
Toilet and shower area wa pretty cramped .
This hotel was a disappointment because it is part of the "Ascend" collection of the Choice Hotel group which is supposed to be a more upscale collection of hotels and I did not consider this to be any higher or lower than the average Quality or Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: It is on a quiet stree, so it doesn't make much difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hartguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet
Level Contributor
93 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This Inn is a nice place to stay. You can walk to the beach, the Santa Barbara Pier is a short walk, State street shops and places to eat can be easily walked to. There is a harbor area close by. The Morning Breakfast had a good selection of items, hot and cold. The rooms are quiet/ In early evening you can watch a Softball game. The shower had a good water flow. The staff was helpful and friendly. Has Wifi but a little slow.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#35 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avania Inn of Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avania Inn of Santa Barbara

Address: 128 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Country Inn by the Sea)
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avania Inn of Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara Hotel is located 1 block to waterfront. Offering a Free Hot Breakfast buffet, Free Wireless Internet. Rooms offer Pillow Top Premium Beds, Fridge/Microwaves in rooms, coffee makers, iron/ironing boards. On site Heated Pool & Spa. Also on site Redwood Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Avania Inn of Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avania Inn Of Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Santa Barbara
Country Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing