We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugh! Never Again!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Avania Inn of Santa Barbara

Save Saved
You added Avania Inn of Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   128 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Country Inn by the Sea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #36 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Ugh! Never Again!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The low point of our trip to Santa Barbara. The rooms are small. The facility is tired and in need of a re-do. The linens are old and shoddy. The location is noisy. Best of all, the front desk clerk made it seem like any interaction was a serious imposition. Whoever gave this place a Four Star rating needs to get out more. At these rates there are much better places to stay. Never again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    143
    78
    34
    36
See reviews for
57
157
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Feilding, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very nice hotel, well located to the beach and the pier. Rooms were nice and clean. Very good breakfast included in the price. Plenty of parking. We only stayed one night but this hotel would be suitable for longer stays.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located right in the middle of "happenings"... I would like to say that staff was extremely friendly and hospitable! Samantha (front desk manager) was very helpful and nice to us and she made our stay much better! Also, the hotel is very very clean! You really get what you have payed for! Last but not least, the lady at the breakfast was also very nice cause she made us some eggs from breakfast although we were late! Great stay...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Avania Inn looks no different than a MOTEL 6 and has a mere 2 1/2 star rating -- But their prices are as if they think they are a 3 1/2 or 4-star hotel. They charged me (just one person) the unbelievable price of $190 for 1 night. Add to this they do not have 24 hour check in receptionist and the woman who did check me in was curt and rude. WHY WOULD ANYONE WANT TO STAY HERE?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as a midway point between Santa Cruz and LA as part of a road trip.
Check in/out was quick and easy, and the room was a good size with nice matching decor, also had a large balcony which was nice as well as air con which was much needed, so hot when we were there. Room also had fridge/microwave and I had a good nights sleep in the huge king size bed.
Location was good, in easy walking distance of the beach and downtown area, although there was also a trolley service to get from the beach to downtown (about 0.5 miles) if you don't fancy the walk.
Pool area looked nice although we did not use. Also free parking onsite.
On checkout the lady on the front desk was really helpful when I needed to print a parking permit for my next location she let me use her computer and printer which saved me the hassle of trying to find somewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great location for the beach and the harbour and the downtown is walking distance away. The hotel was comfortable and clean and the breakfast was good. Parking was easy and available. We did a boat cruise to see the seals (unfortunately the dolphins weren't out that day and we couldn't get onto the whale tour). Nice chilled seaside town feel during the day but livens up a lot in downtown in the evenings (we were staying Thursday and Friday night). Great for shops!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Adequate lodging with an adequate b fast. I NLT guests noted. Great location for walking to water front. Close to park , watch out for derelicts in park,and Maritime museum. State street esp the county hall is very interesting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avania Inn of Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avania Inn of Santa Barbara

Address: 128 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Country Inn by the Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avania Inn of Santa Barbara 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara Hotel is located 1 block to waterfront. Offering a Free Hot Breakfast buffet, Free Wireless Internet. Rooms offer Pillow Top Premium Beds, Fridge/Microwaves in rooms, coffee makers, iron/ironing boards. On site Heated Pool & Spa. Also on site Redwood Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Avania Inn of Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avania Inn Of Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Santa Barbara
Country Inn Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avania Inn of Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.