We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“meh!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach to your Saves list
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   223 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Barbara
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“meh!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Decided to go to Santa Barbara on the spur of the moment for some winetasting my bday weekend. Most of the good hotels were sold out that weekend, so I was happy to find Brisas del Mar had a vacancy, and the reviews on TA were overall very good.

Must say, I was disappointed. The name and pictures are deceptive, it's not at the beach, but 3 blocks away. The pool and hottub were small and uninviting--we didn't even bother. The first room we were given had an odd smell and was quite dark and dreary with absolutely no view whatsoever, so we returned to the front desk and were immediately given a better room on the top floor with more air and light. Still no great shakes, and the room furnishings were somewhat tacky; the bathroom was borderline with a small sink and shower. Overall, it was your average inexpensive beach hotel, except that it wasn't inexpensive, it was just shy of $200 with the best online price I could find.

On a positive note, we received terrific, friendly service at the front desk at all times, and there was a very nice continental breakfast display in the morning. The maintenance crew even gave us a jump when my bf's car battery was dead the morning of our departure. The covered parking was also a nice feature.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peppertree, General Manager at Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach, responded to this review, September 30, 2009
Dear Anastasia92109,

Let me begin with extending our sincerest apologies for not satisfying all of your hotel needs. Your comments are truly appreciated because we care about quality of our hotel and the services received by our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor as we know you are the true travel experts and by doing so you give us an opportunity to better serve all of our guests.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our Innkeepers and our hotel team. We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team who genuinely care about the service given to our guests and the quality of our guestrooms and grounds. Therefore it is disappointing to hear you were dissatisfied with the size of our pool and hot tub and the location of our hotel.

We are situated just two short blocks from Santa Barbara’s pristine beaches and boardwalk and within walking distance to State Street. Many of our guests enjoy using our complimentary beach cruisers to visit local attractions.

Your comments regarding the décor and furnishings are greatly appreciated as we are continuously updating our guestrooms. If your travel plans bring you to Santa Barbara, I invite you to visit us again and we will be sure to place you in one of our most recently decorated guestrooms. If you call me direct I will personally attend to all of your needs.

Sincerely,

Greg Broussard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    167
    33
    10
    6
See reviews for
116
238
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

My family stayed at the Brisas del Mar for two nights as we made our way down the coast of Calif. We had two rooms, both with two queen-size beds. The location was perfect - a couple blocks to the waterfront area and easy to get to. While the building itself looks to be circa 1970 or so, and it is an old-style "motor inn" with room doors that open to the exterior, it was extremely well maintained. The room sizes were more than sufficient. Everything in the bathroom worked and was immaculate. The bedding was very nice quality. The fresh-baked cookies and afternoon cheese and crackers were great. Even the complimentary continental breakfast was of exceptional quality - not your average store-bought danishes by any means. You park under your room, which is nice, since the car gets some shade. Even though I'm usually pretty picky about hotels, and Embassy Suites are more my style, I would stay here again without hesitation. I'm not sure if the previous reviewer had the right hotel. Our rooms had air conditioning, and we had no problem with noise.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

this hotel was one we visited in our journey across california and to be frankly honest our poorest choice and one of the more expensive ones.
Make no mistake :to rooms are of a good size and clean ,the bedding is great and the location is close to beach and the main street.
However since there is no a/c there the windows are not competely filled with glass leaving a part with wooden shutters with assures enough fresh air but also a lot of noise ; you actually have the impression sleeping in the middle of a parking lot and are constantly awaken by guests arriving late or leaving early or the train passing by at 5 am.
To be avoided at all cost if you like a good night sleep!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peppertree, General Manager at Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach, responded to this review, August 28, 2009
Greetings from Santa Barbara!

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach.

Each of our guestrooms are equipped with well functioning air conditioning systems. Please accept our sincere apologies for failing to show you where our air conditioner controls were located in your guestroom and any inconvenience that may have caused you.

Your visit to Santa Barbara coincided with our city wide celebration of Independence Day, a national holiday. I hope you were able to enjoy the spectacular fireworks display launched just two short blocks from the hotel and many of the other exciting events that occurred around town.

It appears that you may have been disturbed by the foot and vehicle traffic resulting from the conclusion of the fireworks show. I assure you that this is not normal activity around our hotel and that it was simply due to the conclusion of the celebrations.

Should your travels bring you back to Santa Barbara, we invite you to return to the Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor and for giving us the opportunity to better serve all of our guests.

Sincerely,

Greg Broussard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

This hotel was excellent. Our room was clean and beautifully decorated. The bathroom/shower/vanity were especially nice and very roomy. The pool area/deck was a great area to relax and take in the sun. It was very close to walk to Stearn's Wharf, downtown shops, restaurants. We also received a great restaurant tip from the concierge. The breakfast was very good as well. The room was somewhat spendy but worth the price!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

My husband and I went on a last minute trip to Santa Barbara. I was not familiar with the area, so I was a bit worried about finding a hotel in the right location. I knew I wanted to be near the beach and State. St. Brisas Del Mar was beautiful and our room was very nice. I would ask for a room in the inner circle near the office. It was walkable to the beach and State St., however we drove as we were only there for one night - and were mostly interested in the wineries. The service was so great - the young woman at the desk gave us great tips - and made delicious cookies. If you want to be super close to the beach and closer to downtown it looked like Hotel Ala Mar was ideal, but you really can't go wrong with Brisas Del Mar - we were delighted!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farum
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

We stayed at Brisas 4 nights in July 2009. The Hotel was as expected. We had read several reviews on Hotels in Santa Barbara and we where Happy to choose this one.
We stayed in a 2 room family room - very spacy.
The atmosphere is very relaxed and very cosy - we felt at home though we are from Europe.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

My boyfriend and I got away to Santa Barbara for the weekend. First time there. We were there to relax, explore the beach town, eat at the wharf etc. This hotel was in a great location! The street is quite, parking is free. We walked to brunch at Zambos across from West Beach one morning. We could even walk to State street, not too long on foot but we did drive there too, like less than five minutes. Spanish style hotel decor really makes it an authentic Santa Barbara vibe.Pool area was very clean. Wine and cheese in the afternoon is awsome, the staff is very attentive.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach

Address: 223 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and elegant, the Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is a romantic Mediterranean-style villa just two blocks from Santa Barbara’s glistening palm-lined beaches and scenic yacht harbor. Brisas del Mar beckons guests with its cascading fountain, sparkling pool, and refined old-world ambiance.A Santa Barbara classic, Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach offers spacious guest rooms, suites, and penthouses, some with full kitchens and fireplaces. The hotel serves a fresh continental breakfast each morning, hosts a wine and cheese reception each afternoon, and provides milk and cookies in the evening.Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is within walking distance of beautiful West Beach and the oceanfront bike path, the Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the vibrant shops and restaurants lining State Street in downtown. Santa Barbara’s world-class golf courses and renowned wineries are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Brisas Del Mar Hotel
Brisas Del Mar Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.