We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach to your Saves list
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   223 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hotel excellent, staff friendly, can't do enough for you. Extras, free bicycles, wine, cheese, cookies, free wi-fi, couldn't ask for more. Clean well maintained and close to the beach. Who could ask for more!

Room Tip: Would recommend this hotel to anyone, book now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    182
    36
    11
    6
See reviews for
125
265
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basalt, CO
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Too much noise. Too dated. Smelled old, musty, Matter noon cheese and wine snacks were pleasant,but did not make up for price of two rooms at 297 for each room for such an extraordinarily dated facility.

Room Tip: The pool was good for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at Brisas del Mar for 2 nights last week. Everything was perfect at this little "inn" except for the dark, drab furnishings. It would help tremendously if the rooms had more of a light, cheerful, updated "beach" decor. Other than that, everything was perfect. We had reserved a room on short notice during our road trip down the PCH. After looking into many properties, this seemed to be a good value, and it was. Accommodations in Santa Barbara are going to be high, so we were expecting to pay over $200/night for an average room. Brisas del Mar is a small "motel" like place, but to us had the feel of a B&B. The staff was the friendliest and most accommodating we've ever encountered...and we've traveled a lot and stayed at all kinds of places from upscale resorts to B&Bs to chain motels. Lily was especially warm, welcoming and as helpful as any concierge in a large metropolitan hotel. Our King suite was basically a small apartment with a nice living room, a full kitchen, large bedroom, walk-in closet and average-size bathroom. The kitchen and bath had brand new tile on the walls & floor. The linens were very clean & fresh and new-looking. A bottle of champagne & 2 flutes were waiting for us in our room. Complimentary bottled water in the fridge. Wine & cheese, cookies & milk, bikes & DVDs in the lobby...and free, ample parking is a plus. This Spanish-style, older property is immaculately maintained inside and out and our room was spotless. The lobby area is beautiful and the complimentary breakfast is very nice. The only protein is an offering of boiled eggs, but their selection of delicious croissants & pastries was from a local bakery. They also have a huge variety of fresh fruit, juices, yogurt and their variety of coffees was delicious. We liked this place so much that we wanted to stay another night, but they were full. They did, however, offer us a room at their sister property across the parking lot (Inn by the Harbor). We would highly recommend Brisas del Mar. The only reasons we gave it a 4 and not a 5: the location is a little ways from ocean & the dark furnishings.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Based on the Trip Advisor ratings and the high price of the room, we expected an excellent experience in upscale accommodations. Instead, one step inside our King Suite felt like a strange time warp into the stale one-bedroom apartment of someone else's grandmother. Nothing has been updated and no attempt has been made to make it appealing. William at the front desk is the lone jewel of the whole establishment -- warm, welcoming, everything you'd expect from a high priced hotel (and someones grandmother).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Somewhat disappointed given the room rates and advertising photos. A mid-price 1960's motel (definitely not an "Inn"), without the funk. Had expected something a little more up-scale at $200+ per night. The rooms were adequate in size but tired in furnishings, and the baths really could use updating. The hotel amenities were nothing to write about. The single best feature was the tuck-under covered parking. I can see were it is popular with traveling families, but for couples not so much. I would not return or recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

While most hotels charge extra for things such as bottled water, internet and parking, Brisas Del Mar was a very pleasant surprise as the room rate included free breakfast, bicycle rentals, parking, daily wine and cheese, cookies and milk and videos. Great place to stay with your family

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My friend and I stayed there for 3 great days and could have stayed longer. It was so comfortable and spacious but most of all it was the great staff that made our visit great. William was a big help directing us to the right places. And there were always some treats waiting in the lobby ....either cheese of cookies. Basically it felt like you were sitting in your living room with family and friends when you got there....especially at breakfast.
A perfect treat for my friend who came to SB to visit from Phoenix. I would prefer to stay here than the big chain hotels that don't give you that special touch to make your stay great.
Thanks William and staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach

Address: 223 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and elegant, the Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is a romantic Mediterranean-style villa just two blocks from Santa Barbara’s glistening palm-lined beaches and scenic yacht harbor. Brisas del Mar beckons guests with its cascading fountain, sparkling pool, and refined old-world ambiance.A Santa Barbara classic, Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach offers spacious guest rooms, suites, and penthouses, some with full kitchens and fireplaces. The hotel serves a fresh continental breakfast each morning, hosts a wine and cheese reception each afternoon, and provides milk and cookies in the evening.Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is within walking distance of beautiful West Beach and the oceanfront bike path, the Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the vibrant shops and restaurants lining State Street in downtown. Santa Barbara’s world-class golf courses and renowned wineries are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Brisas Del Mar Hotel
Brisas Del Mar Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.