We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach to your Saves list
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   223 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Front desk staff was excellent. Breakfast was great, fresh pastries and fruit. Nice pool. Convenient location to beach, pier, and shopping. Bikes available for free. Would recommend to others based on value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    173
    35
    11
    6
See reviews for
117
250
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raymore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel was outstanding. We had a wonderful 3 nights here. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. It was a short walk to the Harbor and Stearn's Wharf. State street and all the wonderful shops were close by also. Knowledge of the local fare by the front desk was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights earlier this month. There are lots of great things to say about this place but equally some things to be aware of. I will start with the positives.

Lovely helpful staff, we arrived late to check in and were greeted with a smile and the smell of freshly baked cookies which was nice, guests could help themselves to milk and cookies from 6:30pm to 8:30pm everyone from reception staff to maintenance and house keeping were friendly and helpful. There was parking at the reception and also parking under the rooms in car ports.

The pool area all be it small was very clean and well maintained there was a lovely jacuzzi which was very warm so you could still bathe if it was a little cooler. Most of the time we were there the pool was very quiet and we never struggled to get a lounger. There was always lots of clean pool towels. The gym (if you can call it that) was just off the pool and consisted of a treadmill and a bike but I was on holiday so it didn't bother me just don't expect a full service gym.

The room was huge with a big bed (I found it a little uncomfortable but my husband slept soundly) bathroom and dressing area and the complementary chilled fizz on arrival was a lovely touch. We were in room 19 which didn't get any natural light as it was in a corner facing a wall so it was very gloomy without the light on but that was my only niggle with the room. House keeping was spot on, oh and how could I forget the extensive DVD library and the wine and cheese between 4:30pm - 6:30pm

Our main issue with this hotel was the location...the positives were it was only a 5 min walk to the marina and another 5 mins to a nice section of beach and the 20 min walk down to stearns wharf was no trouble and offered nice views of the ocean and beach. On our first evening we arrived late ish (after 7pm) we were given a map after we asked if we could walk to the Main Street (state street) to find an evening meal. We had the nice walk to stearns wharf and came to the bottom of state street it was then another 15 mins through an underpass and out the other side to the start of the main drag. State street is also over 2 miles long so depending where you are heading you have a very long walk on your hands. On our 2nd night we walked 50 mins each way. there are electric busses that travel from the beach up state street but they finish at 6pm. We ended up driving out for dinner every evening as most places shut at 9pm anyway. It is more of a tea time buzz than a nightlife hub.

Overall we really enjoyed a relaxing few days in Santa Barbara. We paid just over $1000 inc tax for our 4 nights and both of us felt this was a little overpriced for this hotel. We stayed in Beverly Hills 2 nights after this for I cheaper nightly rate!! (The Thompson Beverly Hills) but for the right price we would here again without a doubt!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at Brisas del Mar for 3 nights in June, 2013. We arrived by train and were able to walk easily to the hotel. The hotel was clean, well maintained, and comfortable. It had a nice breakfast buffet which worked for me even though I am gluten free. We could easily walk to the beach from the hotel or into downtown Santa Barbara. And, they had bikes for us to use to ride around town on!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

While the rooms and location were fine, it was the customer service that impressed us and why we would recommend this hotel. William at the front desk proved to be a wealth of information! We borrowed the hotel bikes and DVDs, took his recommendation for a restaurant on State St. ( it was perfect for us,) he told us about a beautiful park near the Mission and was just an extremely nice, friendly person. He always made time to talk with us and made us feel very welcome. The continental breakfast was more than we expected, wine & cheese in early evening, cookies and milk later in evening and a bottle of champagne in our room refrigerator! When we told family and friends, they couldn't believe it either. Go for the location and value but stay for the service! Thanks so much for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Hill, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Wine and cheese, cookies and milk, bicycles and jacuzzi, a warm and sincere staff. What more could you ask for in a getaway hotel? For the price and location, the Brisas Del Mar is a great choice. My wife and I visited on a Sunday-Tuesday, and found the hotel quietly beautiful and relaxing. The warm service that we received from the entire staff was exemplary. The pictures on the website make the lobby and rooms look bigger than they actually are, but this is probably a common thing in Santa Barbara. While our room seemed cramped, the soft and comfortable beds made up for it. Be sure to apply your AAA discount. The WiFi is a bit slow. Be sure to borrow some bikes for a cruise around town. The front desk has pool towels if you need them, but the paper-like bathrobes have got to go. Overall, the Brisas is a very nice place with good people, and we will probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a North or South facing room. They may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We just stayed here on a mom/daughter trip. Four of us (my mom, daughter, "Italian daughter" and I) shared a King Suite room. It was the perfect size for our stay. We really enjoyed the welcome bottle of champagne, the milk and cookies, and breakfast the next day. All of the staff were so helpful and friendly. The girls and I really liked riding bikes along the beachfront. It's located in a perfect location...within walking distance of State Street, the Harbor and the Wharf. Very affordable for what size of room, amenities and location. We only wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach

Address: 223 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and elegant, the Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is a romantic Mediterranean-style villa just two blocks from Santa Barbara’s glistening palm-lined beaches and scenic yacht harbor. Brisas del Mar beckons guests with its cascading fountain, sparkling pool, and refined old-world ambiance.A Santa Barbara classic, Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach offers spacious guest rooms, suites, and penthouses, some with full kitchens and fireplaces. The hotel serves a fresh continental breakfast each morning, hosts a wine and cheese reception each afternoon, and provides milk and cookies in the evening.Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is within walking distance of beautiful West Beach and the oceanfront bike path, the Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the vibrant shops and restaurants lining State Street in downtown. Santa Barbara’s world-class golf courses and renowned wineries are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Brisas Del Mar Hotel
Brisas Del Mar Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.