We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific value, made our trip even more enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach to your Saves list
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   223 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrific value, made our trip even more enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Brisas Del Mar turned out to be a gem for a one night getaway with my husband. I never cared for the hype of staying directly across from the beach since Santa Barbara is pretty easily accessible and those places were asking way too much for just a room. We got a nice room here just two blocks up from the beach, in my opinion nearly half the cost (depending on where you called and what they offered you) and we got all kinds of treats to go with it. A huge attraction for me were the free beach cruisers for their guests to take out 4 hours at a time and to be returned before dark. They have about 20+ available with U-locks, basket on the female bikes, and that helped us get to our activities around the area with fun, ease and a bit of fresh air exercise. There are bicycle lanes on most of the streets and of course along the beach which made it enjoyable. We rode to eat lunch, dinner, visit the Summer Solstice vendors, did the Urban Wine Trail, watched the Saturday parade on State Street all on bike or foot from this hotel. That's just the beginning. They serve a decent breakfast each morning, then offer wine, cheese and crackers in the afternoon, milk and cookies at night, some apples are always available. There is a bottle of champagne waiting in your room complimentary with your stay and a coffee maker with supplies and two bottles of water, mini fridge, wall hairdryer, lockable safe inside the wall. Beds were comfortable and room is stylish with flat screen tv and blu-ray dvd player for the 1,000's of free dvd's you can borrow from the front desk, even new releases. They allow us to rent 2 at a time and we had a nice movie evening after roaming around town. Okay, I agree the bathroom is a bit dated in the original 50's-60's style with updated hardware, so if you are out to impress your special date, maybe this is not what you are looking for. But if you want great service, a clean comfortable place to stay, lots that make your stay even more enjoyable, you will not be disappointed with this place. This place deserves to do well because it shows they really want you to enjoy your time here. William was terrific and helped us with all our needs. Free parking, setting is like a small inn or motel but that is mostly what you get around the beach area in Santa Barbara. Pool and spa were nice as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    173
    35
    11
    6
See reviews for
117
250
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel may not be in the most convenient location but its not that bad of one either. The shops and restaurants on State Street are about a 15 minute walk and the Harbor and Stearns Wharf are a little closer than that. Parking was free and convenient. We had a suite and our teenaged son with his friend enjoyed having the living room to themselves to watch movies while we could watch our own movies in the bedroom. The continental breakfast was good with a decent selection of local baked goods, cereal, coffee, tea orange juice and fresh fruit. Coffee was available all day. Afternoon wine and snacks just okay and the cookies and milk in the evening made for a nice treat. The staff was friendly and helpful; especially, William. He was very informative, patient and friendly. When we come back to Santa Barbara for a visit we will definitely check to see if there is room here or one of their other properties.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a very nice motel. If you start with that premise, you won't be disappointed. While the rooms are immaculate, the decor is dated. The room was nicely sized but a bit dark. Bathroom tile and fixtures were very dated. The king sized bed was quite comfortable. There was a bottle of sparkling wine waiting for us in the room after we checked in--a very nice touch. Others have mentioned the huge collection of free DVD's, cookies, snacks, wine and breakfast. Free parking was ample. All exceeded our expectations.

The staff was wonderful. As others have mentioned, William was fantastic. He's full of helpful suggestions and solutions to just about any problem. Other staff members were also warm and willing to help in any way.

The hotel is located two blocks from the beach, an easy walk or ride. We used the available bikes and cycled south on the bike path onto surface streets and ended up at the Four Seasons Biltmore. It's not a very long ride and quite easy.

We had a memorable meal at Julienne on Canon Perdido. Innovative cuisine without being too precious. The room is small so make sure you make a reservation--easy to do on Opentable. I highly recommend a dinner there.

We stayed on the side of the hotel that looked out onto a sports field. If you stay on this side, beware the early morning noise on the weekends.

I believe their electric vehicle charging port should be operable by now. It was newly installed but not functional while we were there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My sister, mother and I stayed for a couple of nights. The staff was amazing they go way beyond the call of duty to make sure you have a comfortable stay. The rooms were clean, the beds were pillow top and plush, the pillows were soft. I felt like I was home away from home. William was amazing from running out to take our picture, to providing my 70 yr old mother with a glass of milk, I just can't say enough. I would not hesitate to stay there again. We were a short 8 minute walk to the boardwalk. The amenities were great there's nothing like wine and cheese after a long day of sight seeing or milk and freshly baked cookies before bed. All staff made you feel welcome like you were the only guest there. It was fabulous!! Don't know where to eat or if you need reservations? Just ask William, not only does he have lots of suggestions he will take care of the reservation for you. Would we stay there again?? Wouldn't think twice, definitely!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel does it right. It's customer service is what makes it stand out. Front desk staff, especially William, are welcoming, accommodating and sincere. The hotel is in a very convenient spot to walk to beach. We walked to dinner at a new restaurant called Toma which was excellent and moderately priced. We would,highly recommend both.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Greetings Eileen, Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our hotel team. We are truly fortunate to have a wonderfully dedicated group of individuals who truly care about our guests and take pride in the service they provide. We hope to see you again for our summer months filled with festivals, parades, and cultural celebrations. Warmly, Greg Broussard - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Brisas Del Mar for three days while in Santa Barbara. The location of the hotel is perfect as it is close to the beach, as well as the fun and exciting State street. The hotel is in great condition and offers numerous amenities to guests such as free bikes, wine and cheese, cookies and milk, amazing breakfasts, quiet and clean pool and gym, over 1000 movies to borrow. We really enjoyed taking the bikes out in the am for a stroll along the boardwalk. Ultimately what made out stay so great was the very wonderful William (front desk staff). William was always so friendly to us, knew us by name, and was always excited to help us find something fun to do. He is truly a gem! You won't be disappointed staying here.

Room Tip: No elevator so if you have back issues choose a lower room, or ask for help - they were very willing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Brisas Del Mar is reminiscent of how I believe all businesses used to be run a few generations ago. I can't begin to express my satisfaction in every way with this family owned Inn. I called William at 10:30 and he was so kind and offered us the best suite they have at a really amazing price. The room did not disappoint. There are 4 Inns run by the same family and These people know what they are doing! I wish more business were run like this in America today! William and Allen you are amazing. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach

Address: 223 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and elegant, the Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is a romantic Mediterranean-style villa just two blocks from Santa Barbara’s glistening palm-lined beaches and scenic yacht harbor. Brisas del Mar beckons guests with its cascading fountain, sparkling pool, and refined old-world ambiance.A Santa Barbara classic, Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach offers spacious guest rooms, suites, and penthouses, some with full kitchens and fireplaces. The hotel serves a fresh continental breakfast each morning, hosts a wine and cheese reception each afternoon, and provides milk and cookies in the evening.Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is within walking distance of beautiful West Beach and the oceanfront bike path, the Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the vibrant shops and restaurants lining State Street in downtown. Santa Barbara’s world-class golf courses and renowned wineries are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Brisas Del Mar Hotel
Brisas Del Mar Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.