We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach

Save Saved
You added Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   223 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Escondido, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a wonderful experience. Great Beds, breakfast each day, wine and cheese each eve AND cookies and milk at bedtime. The cookies were out of this world, homemade!! William is great. Oh and free bikes. Great place to stay. We had a girls weekend and everything went smoothly. Each time we needed a cab it was called right away and we didn't get charges in excess.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    247
    159
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
112
224
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

As we drove up to the Inn I was a bit scared.its across from a 7-11 where seedy characters hang out at night. We pull in and see it's basically a cheap motel that has been fixed up to look nice. see the photos. its a drive in courtyard with rooms above the parking area. other than that the grounds were clean. But the place really won us over. The service was great. we were welcomed by William, a native of Santa Barbara with a great deal of knowledge out the local history. He explained to us the ammenities and services which include a Welcome bottel of champagne in each room, Free Bicycle rentals so you can cruise the beaches, free movie rentals for the dvd player in the room. a continental breakfast that includes hard boiled eggs, pastries, cereals , fruit, coffee, milk and juice. A free wine and cheese social every day the guests gather around the fireplace on the couches and enjoy a choice of white or red, several cheeses, almonds craisins and a variety of crackers while discussing where they're from and how they enjoyed their day. Later in the evening they have a free Milk and cookie social again meeting around the fireplace.

The pool area was clean though small. the Jacuzzi was shallow at a 2 1/2 feet making difficult for me to soak. I'm 5'11 for reference. the pool was well heated. A small workout room is in the pool area as well.

We were in Santa Barbara for the Orchid Festival, the Earl Warren Fairgrounds were a close drive as well as Mission Santa Barbara. State street is just a couple blocks away. Also the Amtrak Station is very close as well so we could have chosen to take the train there had we known.

Room Service is an External group. there is a menu in each room but it is similar to a delivery service.
All in all if you are looking for a great value, this is a great place to stay. If your looking for a beautiful hotel as a aromatic getaway I would look for something closer to the beach or with a a stunning beach view.

this hotel is part of Santa Barbara Hotel Group. there website is here http://www.sbhotels.com
if you want more info on who they are and their standard of quality.

As for our stay here, the service and the people made it great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Greetings Biobear, thank you for your very thorough review of our hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our quality of service and the many amenities we offer. As you mentioned many of our guests enjoy the afternoon wine & cheese and evening milk & cookie receptions. And those seeking a romantic get-a-way have enjoyed our Penthouse Suites which offers a spa tub, a fireplace, and a large private desk with mountain views. Santa Barbara is a perfect weekend get-a-way from LA, so I hope we see you again soon! Greg Broussard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a pretty nice, reasonably priced hotel in a great location. Easy to walk into town, minutes from the beach. The amenities are really generous... ice cold sparkling wine when you arrive, cheese and wine every afternoon and cookies later. Bike hire, a million DVDs for free. Well worth the money and the rooms are clean and comfortable. But what makes it really amazing is the excellent staff especially Lily and William. They could not be more welcoming and helpful and make you want to return.

Room Tip: "Mountain View" is top choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Since the moment we arrived (William at the front desk greeted us with a great smile and explained the amentities of the hotel. He then explained that there was a complimentary bottle of champaign waiting for us in the room (chilling). By the way, the lobby had a wonderful smell when we arrived (they were baking cookies). William explained that it was "cookies and milk" hour. Next morning the breakfast was also very good with few but high quality options.
Our room had everything we needed. Actually our room had more than we needed: clean, cosy, comfortable, perfect.
The bike loan (with no extra cost) is also another great amenity. We stayed with the bikes for 4 hours and when we delivered them the desk clerk (we don't remember her name but was a very friendly woman) asked with wanted more time.
Unfortunately we only had 1 night in Santa Barbara. The city is beautiful and Brisas Del Mar definitely epitomizes all that is good about the town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Well gosh VComper, I think you may have said it all! Thank you for your wonderful compliments about our amazing staff and of the many complimentary amenities we offer our guests. If you find your travel plans bring you back to Santa Barbara, I sure hope you visit us again. Greg Broussard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Santa Barbara is an extremely civilized place and Brisas Del Mar epitomizes all that is good about the town. We arrived after a days shopping and a drive up from Anaheim so not in the best of form. Cheese and Wine were on offer when we got there and it was surprisingly good. Certainly a nice way to wind down. The room was large and spacious and the bed a good size queen which was extremely comfortable. It did take a while for the water to warm up but I would guess that had something to do with arriving in December. The staff could not be more helpful. We were offered assistance with road maps as we were travelling on the next day, restaurant choices without them being pushed. The milk and cookies was an interesting twist but the cookies were great and breakfast was also sensible. The hotel is well located for both the beach (which it isn't on!) and State Street. It is simply a nice place and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, NY
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

It's not on the beach but has comfortable rooms, attractively designed, nice customer service, use bicycles, easy walk anywhere, parking. Small but lovely pool area. We were here with our family (including boys ages 15 and 19 in a separate room) only one night, but beds were comfortable. Just lovely. While it's not a 5-star place, it's still really really nice and we'd return if we get back to beautiful Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Absolutely loved Brisas del Mar! The place is so charming and authentic and we were treated with such kindness. From the moment you step food at the Inn, you genuinely feel welcome, and everyone there is so helpful and friendly.
Complimentary continental breakfast in the morning, milk and cookies + wine and cheese in the afternoon, amazing how “so little” can bring so much joy, it was really a nice gesture.

Great location near the beach and you can borrow bicycles for free at the Inn – perfect way to get around Santa Barbara.

The room was clean enough and actually quite spacious, however, a bit dated and worn out, but it doesn’t matter at a place like Brisas del Mar, it’s kind of part of the charm and the high service level definitely make up for it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach

Address: 223 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and elegant, the Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is a romantic Mediterranean-style villa just two blocks from Santa Barbara’s glistening palm-lined beaches and scenic yacht harbor. Brisas del Mar beckons guests with its cascading fountain, sparkling pool, and refined old-world ambiance.A Santa Barbara classic, Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach offers spacious guest rooms, suites, and penthouses, some with full kitchens and fireplaces. The hotel serves a fresh continental breakfast each morning, hosts a wine and cheese reception each afternoon, and provides milk and cookies in the evening.Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is within walking distance of beautiful West Beach and the oceanfront bike path, the Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the vibrant shops and restaurants lining State Street in downtown. Santa Barbara’s world-class golf courses and renowned wineries are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Brisas Del Mar Hotel
Brisas Del Mar Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.