We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Lots of Extras! King Suite Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach to your Saves list
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   223 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Lots of Extras! King Suite Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We left the Lavender Inn (their sister property) for a king suite at the Brisas del Mar (across the street) and were very glad we did. Though the decoration of the suite is less romantic than the Lavender Inn, the suite is very large and made us feel quite at home. It is four rooms, including a full kitchen that takes care of anything you would need in terms of wanting something to eat --a microwave, full refrigerator, stove, oven, toaster, coffeemaker, dishes, dishdrying rack. We found that the king suite was a very good value and about three times larger than what we had at the Lavender Inn, which was more comparable to a standard sized hotel room (but smaller with how they had done the decorating).

The room service maids were unobtrusive but effective, rare in our hotel stays. They seemed to do the rooms later in the day, which I appreciated since I tend to sleep in a bit on vacation and often the maids are knocking on the doors mid-morning to do the rooms. But when they clean they are great. They leave your plastic bags for your toiletries alone, do up the bed, change the towels, take out trash, and even do dirty dishes in the sink.

This inn is very classy with lots of extras for guests that made us feel welcome also. We enjoyed the cookies (very good by the way), the wine and cheese reception in the evening, and appreciated the complimentary champagne left in the room. (You can get cider if like us you don't drink.)

In addition, the front desk staff was exceptional in their knowledge of the area. They were very helpful in making recommendations, answering questions, and provided excellent service.

Would definitely stay there again if in Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Get the king suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Greetings busy_b_traveler,

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Brisas del mar, Inn at the Beach. Your kind comments regarding our wonderful housekeeping team and front desk staff are greatly appreciated. We are truly blessed with a wonderful team of caring individuals who take great pride in the quality of service they provide and the comfort of our guestrooms. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed our complimentary afternoon wine & cheese reception, our evening milk & cookies, and the champagne that greeted you upon arrival. We hope to see you again! Warmly, Greg Broussard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    167
    33
    10
    6
See reviews for
116
237
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Found this little place through tripadvisor...my friend and I were in town for the Santa Barbara film festival. We were thoroughly surprised at the outstanding service we received from hotel staff, from check in and out to arranging a taxi and then some. The room was a decent size as well as the bathroom. Beds were comfy, but I like a lot of pillows so perhaps pillows could be a bit bigger and fluffier. I would say the only negatives about the rooms are sound (we could hear neighbors etc) and the furniture is a bit dated. . Unfortunately, the rain prevented us from using the free bike rentals and the pool, but they looked great. Love, love the wine and cheese hour, the cookies and milk, breakfast and coffee in the lobby. I would gladly return for a stay if I'm in Santa Barbara again!!! The customer service alone was worth it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Beautiful hotel and very clean. They offer bike rentals (for free i think!), wine and cheese hour, cookies and milk hour and more! Location is close to everything you need. Free parking was a bonus for us as other hotels charge quite a lot. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Will stay here again when we return to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My parents, my husband, and I had a great time staying at this hotel between Christmas and New Year. The property looks very nice and updated on the outside, although the inside of the rooms is on the older, less updated side. Breakfast was very good. The best thing about the hotel, though, which also makes up for the older rooms, is the front desk clerk William. He was very friendly and knowledgeable, cheery and helpful. William also totally gets Santa Barbara and pointed us to all the best places and restaurants around. We connected right away with him, and it made the experience go from good to great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Wow! The experience of our stay was by far over and above the personal customer service of any place we stayed at during our road trip from San Fransisco to San Diego, CA. When we arrived, William greated us w/such a pleasant greeting, a great smile and explained the amentities of the hotel. He then explained that there was a bottle of champaign waiting for us in the room complementary of the hotel. He expressed to us that if there was ANYTHING we needed he will be at the desk until 11pm.

When we needed a resturant, called the front desk, he asked what kind of food we were interested in. He then said he will call the restuarant for a reservation. Myself and my mother stayed to rest. I then called William to ask where the ice machine was. He replied he will send a bucket of ice to our room. I also said my foot was swollen and when he arrived with the ice, he aslo had an ice pack for my foot.

The room was very clean, and neat. It was an ocean side view, but we arrived at night and left very early in the morning. The air was very cold, so we just drove down toward the water and saw the ocean, and a cute little town driving out of town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Greetings Julie S,

It sounds like you experienced William’s signature fantastic service. I am thrilled to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Should your travels bring you back to Santa Barbara, I hope you visit us again. Warmly, Greg Broussard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I recently stayed @ this quaint "boutique-style" hotel to celebrate an Anniversary for the 1st time. I have to admit that we (wife) had a very pleasurable & leisurely experience. I booked the spacious penthouse on the second floor, which housed a master bedroom complete w/ a deluxe king, full bathroom connecting to the bedroom, full kitchen including appliances, utensils, & pans, living room with an automatic fireplace & pull-out sofa bed, & large balcony w/ a view! The icing on the cake was definitely the complimentary champagne waiting for us on the counter-nice surprise! Brisas doesn't cut you short when it comes to value (i.e. free beach cruiser rentals, wine & cheese hr, & cookies & milk hour, dvd's, etc.) The property is well-maintained, quiet, & is steps away from the beautiful harbor & warf. Surprisingly, there was no charge for parking & the room was very close to the car. Service was impeccable, from the telephone inquiry through the checkout - Lily @ the front desk was pleasant, professional, & very helpful throughout the process. Overall we had a wonderful stay & will be back definitely.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony, you have to book the suites or penthouses & includes the mountain side vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Greetings Concierge-del-OC,

Thank you for your compliments towards our hotel and your wonderfully kind comments regarding our lovely innkeeper, Lilly. We are delighted you chose to celebrate your very special day with us and we look forward to sharing many more memories with you. Happy Anniversary! Warmly, Greg Broussard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in Santa Barbara many times but never near the beach so we decided to try this place. It's not a luxury property but it really does a great job with what it has. Firstly, the service was wonderful, especially Willaim who was a real concierge giving us advice on everything that was spot on. The rooms are a good size, nice beds, linens and bath products, especially the robes. Food was just ok...average pastries on paper plates but the wine at happy hour was really quite good. We did not end up liking the location...over a mile walk to opur favorite part of State St. and it seemed a bit of an iffy neighborhood for walkiing at nite. There is a pool and hot tub and they are very friendly to children so it's great for families. All in all, pretty good for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach

Address: 223 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and elegant, the Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is a romantic Mediterranean-style villa just two blocks from Santa Barbara’s glistening palm-lined beaches and scenic yacht harbor. Brisas del Mar beckons guests with its cascading fountain, sparkling pool, and refined old-world ambiance.A Santa Barbara classic, Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach offers spacious guest rooms, suites, and penthouses, some with full kitchens and fireplaces. The hotel serves a fresh continental breakfast each morning, hosts a wine and cheese reception each afternoon, and provides milk and cookies in the evening.Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is within walking distance of beautiful West Beach and the oceanfront bike path, the Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the vibrant shops and restaurants lining State Street in downtown. Santa Barbara’s world-class golf courses and renowned wineries are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Brisas Del Mar Hotel
Brisas Del Mar Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.