We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really fabulous hotel in Santa Barbara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach

Save Saved
You added Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   223 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
LANGTON GREEN, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Really fabulous hotel in Santa Barbara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

To echo the comments of another reviewer - of all the places we stayed in during a recent trip to California, this was our favourite. It DOES have a slightly motel-y feel when you first arrive, but the warm welcome, comfy rooms, excellent facilities and great location made this a far nicer experience than some of the hotels we stayed at. I could go on and on, but the other positive reviewers have it all covered - it's not a fancy, swanky beach-front hotel, it's a really friendly, comfortable inn with lots of little unexpected extras.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    247
    159
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
112
224
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

A sumptuous suite, attention to details (cookies, breakfast, sparkling wine and lovely decor) and a caring, welcoming arrival experience, all combined to make this one of the best stays of our 10-day California fly/drive vacation. We enjoyed what was by far the quietest and most comfortable sleep of our trip, and only wished our stay in idyllic Santa Barbara could have been a longer one. Entry from outdoors (as opposed to a noisy hotel hallway) may be the only reason this hotel doesn't have a higher star designation, but take it from these choosy travellers: you'll enjoy the location (two blocks from Stearns Wharf and the ocean), the staff and, most of all, the tasteful and comfortable accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The location for this hotel was perfect -close to the beach and State St. The amenities included were amazing (5-7 pm Happy Hour, bicycles for free, breakfast, free champagne & water in room, robes, pool & jacuzzi, great fitness room, comfy beds, free movies, futon for additional child in room, friendly and helpful staff - you name it! I would stay here again on my next visit to SB. William & the English lady (sorry, I wrote down her name but can't remember) at the at front desk were wonderful and very helpful!
We had booked a room at the Best WEstern on the beach and ended up cancelling due to noise level and finding this place - what a great find!

Room Tip: Rent the suite - comes with kitchenette and is spacious for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

If you want a hotel with a full kitchen, this is the place.
2 blocks from the beach.
Room decor is comfy not chic.
Would be great for families.
Not for a romantic getaway.
They have a happy hour, cookies & milk hour, and continental breakfast.
You can play DVD's and the TV's are updated. Free WIFI also.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayucos, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Brisas Del Mar employs a "Travel Angel Extraordinaire," named Lilly. She cheerfully aided us with all our "We're not from around here," travel questions. Due to Lilly's fine guidance, we were drinking wine at the Santa Barbara Bowl Nora Jones's concert with taxi service ready for the drive home. Lilly also recommended we sign up for beach cruisers and ride the beach bike lane after breakfast. Thank you Lilly, that beach cruiser bike ride made this 55 year old woman feel like a 12 year old!
The rooms met all our needs. The pool was a delight. We took a refreshing dip after our bike cruise. I haven't even mentioned, wine time, milk and cookie time, breakfast, champagne and wifi. Wow, Brisas Del Mar, we will be coming back!

Room Tip: Brisas Del Mar is a smaller establishment and has no elevator. Ask for first floor rooms if you nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The front desk staff were so helpful, friendly and professional. William, the front desk person from 3 pm - 11, always asked if we needed restaurant reservations and would get us taxis as well. He had extensive knowledge of the surrounding area as he was born and raised there.

The 4:30 wine and cheese was beyond expectation. Large slices of brie, grapes, slices of cheddar and swiss, almonds and cranberries were served.

At 6:30, warm cookies and milk were served. All kids staying at the hotel waited in anticipation! The hotel was very generous with the quantities available.

The continental breakfast was very nice. All sorts of pastries, vanilla yogurt, granola, boiled eggs, breads to toast, bannanas, apples, coffee and tea were available.

We booked rooms 16, 17 and 18. The rooms were king rooms and were spacious clean and updated.

I really recommend this hotel. We stayed there during Fiesta and had a ball!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a nice, comfortable place to stay in Santa Barbara. The staff is extremely friendly and professional, all the food and drink treats are beyond expectations and the location is perfect. You are close enough to be able to walk or bike ride (loaner bikes are free) to town and to the beach. And our room was clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach

Address: 223 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and elegant, the Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is a romantic Mediterranean-style villa just two blocks from Santa Barbara’s glistening palm-lined beaches and scenic yacht harbor. Brisas del Mar beckons guests with its cascading fountain, sparkling pool, and refined old-world ambiance.A Santa Barbara classic, Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach offers spacious guest rooms, suites, and penthouses, some with full kitchens and fireplaces. The hotel serves a fresh continental breakfast each morning, hosts a wine and cheese reception each afternoon, and provides milk and cookies in the evening.Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is within walking distance of beautiful West Beach and the oceanfront bike path, the Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the vibrant shops and restaurants lining State Street in downtown. Santa Barbara’s world-class golf courses and renowned wineries are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Brisas Del Mar Hotel
Brisas Del Mar Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.