We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable boutique hotel near the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach to your Saves list
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   223 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cooper City, Florida
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Affordable boutique hotel near the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I was in town on business and since their aren't many business hotels in Santa Barbara, I found this Inn downtown near the beach. It's roomy and comfortable with ammenities that help you relax as well as things like free breakfast and wi-fi that help you work. Hotel prices are high in Santa Barbara and this place was reasonable based upon location. The staff is very friendly and makes you feel at home with wine & cheese in the early evening and milk & warm cookies after dinnner. They also put a complimentary bottle of campaign in the room. My room we well equipped with a desk and small table, mini-fridge and large flat-screen TV. The king bed is very comfortable. The location is about 2 blocks off the beach. While they do a buffett breakfast and snacks, there is not a full service restaurant on site. That's not really a problem though as there are many choices within walking distance.

Room Tip: If you get on the second floor near the back you have a nice view of the mountains. Some rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    186
    38
    11
    6
See reviews for
127
269
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hemet, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This Inn is a treat!! Easy access off the highway, but only a couple of blocks to the harbor it's near so many things. Borrow one of the beach cruiser bikes and ride on beach trails for miles and miles. Walk to Stearn's Wharf or eat and shop on State Street. (It's not really near a nice beach area. For that you'd need to travel a mile or so up or down the coast.)

The best thing about this inn are the amenities and hospitality of the excellent staff. The deluxe continental breakfast includes, fresh fruit, oatmeal, several types of cereal, boiled eggs, delicious yogurt with berries and a variety of bread/pastries/muffins. Lemonade, coffee and tea are served throughout the day and don't forget to grab a chocolate off the front counter candy jar anytime! Between 4:30 and 6:30 stop by for wine, cheese, crackers & grapes (loved the almonds & cranberry mix). Then between 6:30 and 8:30 grab a freshly baked cookie and a glass of milk.

Enjoy your food selections inside the beautifully decorated lobby and lounge area, or on the Bogenvelia covered front patio or one of the several decks around the pool area.

Our well-decorated room was very clean and included a complimentary bottle of champagne. Two bottles of water were also given to us every day at no additional cost. The air conditioner and ceiling fan came in handy on a warm afternoon. Parking was free and located right under our room. Stop by the front desk and take a look at the list of over 1,000 movies you can borrow to watch on your DVD player.

About the only negative thing I can say about the loud clomping feet of unknowing people going past the room late at night. It's not really very sound proof, but my ocean mood sound machine took care of that! It’s a small inn, so there are not too many people. Quite an intimate setting, actually.

I felt like royalty here. It's worth every penny and we even got their stay two get one free special. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to all of my friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Definitely a good place to stay, relatively reasonable price, and good location walkable to the beach and the promenade. Good room, beds, and good bathroom/shower.

Room Tip: room 19 is in a nice quiet corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in April and it was truly fantastic. We had initially scheduled our trip for 2 nights but once we arrived they were able to arrange a third night. (Thank you!) The room was very clean and super comfortable. The hotel has a great location. The staff is really friendly and helpful, William at the front desk made several great recommendations to make our stay even better. Also, when two items were left behind, they were able to find them and ship them to us. THANK YOU WILLIAM, STACY AND EVERYONE WHO HELPED! I can not say enough good things about our trip here. This will be our go-to hotel in the Santa Barbara area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We checked in for a one night stay before leaving for home. This is a delightful property on the corner of Castillo and Montecito. The young man at the desk was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was ample and very clean. They offer a deluxe continental breakfast from 7-10AM, wine and cheese 4:30-6:30PM, and milk and cookies service from 6:30-8:30 PM. You may sit in the lobby, or take any or all the services to your room. They also offer a variety of DVD's, and free internet access. What a jewel in a very nice neighborhood with easy access to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Brisas Del Mar for three nights. We had an excellent experience! William at the front desk provides top notch service; the hotel is located in a very convenient location, close to the beach and State Street; the bed was very comfortable; the pool is relaxing; and the wine and cheese tasting is a nice touch. Tres Bien!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, IA
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights, room 26. Check in went quickly, lady was helpfull explaining ammenaties and hotel lay-out. Room wasn't too impressive. Dated and builder grade, but we were surprised by the bottle of champange and glasses compliments of the hotel. Room was next to pool/hot tub. We had occasional noise from the gates for the pool area, also noise from the apartments next to us. Breakfast was ok. Great pastries and yogurt, eggs and peanut butter for protien. Lobby is cozy with the fireplace and couches. They have a wine/cheese social which was a nice touch, with milk/cookies afterwards. Since my wife is pregnant the cookies were a real treat, taking them back to the room in case of a mid-night craving. The books, movies, and bikes we didn't use. We have friends in town so we went out each night with them. We found a few ants in the room, but only one or two at a time, and could figure out where they were coming from. Turndown service did a great job. The wall safe was only 2 inches deep, so I had to disassemble my camera gear and arrange it a certain way so it would fit. Room had a small fridge but no microwave. The last day we stayed they installed an HD cable receiver.

Location - great. It's 2 blocks south of the interstate exit. There's a gas station and grocery store at the intersection, and also a great brewpub (The Brewhouse) about 2 blocks down the sidestreet. There's a park about 4 blocks down where the huge fig tree is. The beach is roughly 5 blocks away, then you have to go around the harbor. I went for a run one morning and was surprised by how long it took to get there on foot. State St is a short drive, less than 5 minutes. Plenty of restaurants and wineries by or at the harbor.

I understand it's Santa Barbara, but I expected a nicer room for what we paid.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach

Address: 223 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and elegant, the Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is a romantic Mediterranean-style villa just two blocks from Santa Barbara’s glistening palm-lined beaches and scenic yacht harbor. Brisas del Mar beckons guests with its cascading fountain, sparkling pool, and refined old-world ambiance.A Santa Barbara classic, Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach offers spacious guest rooms, suites, and penthouses, some with full kitchens and fireplaces. The hotel serves a fresh continental breakfast each morning, hosts a wine and cheese reception each afternoon, and provides milk and cookies in the evening.Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is within walking distance of beautiful West Beach and the oceanfront bike path, the Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the vibrant shops and restaurants lining State Street in downtown. Santa Barbara’s world-class golf courses and renowned wineries are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Brisas Del Mar Hotel
Brisas Del Mar Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.