We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn by the Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Inn by the Harbor to your Saves list
Inn by the Harbor
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   433 W. Montecito St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Derby uk
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were celebrating our anniversary and were given a lovely room with a huge balcony over looking the pool. We enjoyed the limitless complimentary wine and cheeses 4 till 6 pm and the evening cookies . Hot drinks are available all the time and the continental breakfast was great. It was a 5 mins walk to the harbour. Hot pool and jacuzzi under the stars till 9 pm free wi fi and free parking what else can you ask for?

Room Tip: We asked for a room upstairs with a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    159
    42
    18
    4
See reviews for
75
239
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I arrived early but this was no problem, room overlooked the pool, very peaceful,didn't have the free wine and cheese or milk and cookies as we went out to dinner. Pool clean and warm , Breakfast was tasty with more choice then normal and informal, room was clean and tidy everything worked we were upstairs and noted that there is no lift however the handyman offered to help with the cases.Reception had a good local knowledge and recommended an excellent restaurant by the beach some 10 mins away.
I would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a great couple of days here last week. Lovely bedroom clean and well kept. Free amenities like DVD rental, cheese & wine, cookies and bike hire, and breakfast more than we expected, really set us up for the day. Staff all friendly and helpful. Location is very good, 10 Minutes walk to beach and State Street.Recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petaluma.ca
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Never disappointed ever!! I was born in Santa Barbara and travel here often. After staying at many hotels early on, I stayed at the Inn once and have never stayed any where else for 20 years. The staff is amazing. The rooms have a charm you will find no where else. It's our second home and we are treated as friends. We arrived last week and wanted to change our room to our favorite, José was at the desk and he informed us that room could be ours the next day. We went to play golf the next morning and when we retuned they had moved every thing to our new room, Thanks José !!! The best sleep I get is here, the beds are the best!! The staff is on top of everything, just pick up the phone and it's done. You will make new friends from around the world as many guest's return here from other countries. It's there secret, and ours. We seldom use our car, the beach is close, the shuttle is close (25 cents) or we just walk to downtown and shuttle back..Perfect!!! Thanks to Greg, Anthony, Billie, José, Carol, and all the staff who make our homecoming perfect. The breakfast and the evening wine bring all the guests together to share their great adventures in S.B., don't miss it...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay in SB lots of great touches free parking, buffet breakfast, cheese and wine, milk and cookies. You can get out in the morning and see the sights and then come back and chill by the pool and hot tub. Friendly staff an altogether great place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This place was great. The room was beautiful as was the grounds. Location within walking distance to both the beach and the downtown. They had a happy hour with wine and cheese and the complimentary breakfast was very good. The rate was good at about 179.00 a night.
The staff as wonderful and it was a really great pleasure staying there

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our California Road Trip travelling south from San Francisco to San Diego. We were on a motorbike and very appreciative of the little touches that helped to make this hotel stand out from some of the others we had stayed in on our journey. Free and safe parking meant that our bike could be left outside our room with no worries. The room was very comfortable. Clean bathroom and spacious, well equiped kitchen complete with full size fridge. Staff were very helpful telling us where to go for good food and finding out who had painted the pictures that adorn all their walls. This hotel is one of 3 that are sister hotels and they are more than happy for you to use the facilities in any of the hotels. Loved the cheese and wine and milk and cookes...took a few back to our room to enjoy whilst watching our borrowed dvds. The pool was great especially after a hot days ride, and towels are freely available at the front desk. Wifi is free and the signal was good. Would defiately stay again, in fact we are planning to go back and stay longer.

Room Tip: If you find that it's a bit crowded at breakfast, pop over to their sister hotel and have breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn by the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Harbor

Address: 433 W. Montecito St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn by the Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among tropical gardens beneath the swaying palms, the Inn by the Harbor is an enchanting Santa Barbara hotel and resort escape. Built in the Spanish Colonial tradition, the white adobe inn features red tile roofs, inlaid tile staircases, wrought iron embellishments, and a heated pool. The Inn is just a short walk from Santa Barbara's golden beaches, yacht harbor, and oceanfront restaurants. The guest rooms at our Santa Barbara hotel and retreat are decorated with Spanish Mediterranean style furnishings. Many also feature full kitchens, which make them ideal for vacations and extended stay lodging. The Inn serves a deluxe continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese, and evening milk and cookies.The Inn by the Harbor hotel is within walking distance of many Santa Barbara attractions including West Beach and the beachfront bike path, the yacht harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the vibrant shops and cafes lining State Street. Golf courses, wineries, and the Santa Barbara Mission are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn by the Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Harbor Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn by the Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.