We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff that make a difference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn by the Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inn by the Harbor to your Saves list
Inn by the Harbor
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   433 W. Montecito St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Staff that make a difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at the Inn by the Harbor last year and after driving some distance from Monterey, we could not have been made more welcome by the friendly staff at the registration desk. Though tired, we felt refreshed by the warm and open manner we received and the services provided. Our room was clean, well presented and the hotel whlist old fashion in a good way, was just the right place for hospitality, location and amentities. Significantly and again it's the staff that made the difference. We left an item at the hotel and without fuss, the manager forwarded the item on to our hotel in LA. Just another point of difference in their 'family' service culture and professionalism.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at Inn by the Harbor, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Greetings Helen W.,

Thank you for the lovely compliments of our hotel staff members. We are very proud of our hotel team as they genuinely care about the quality of service they offer each of our guests as well as the detailed attention they provide to the guestrooms and grounds. Should your travels bring you back to Santa Barbara, we hope you visit us again. Warmly, Greg Broussard, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    161
    42
    18
    4
See reviews for
75
242
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice spacious room with kitchen area. Comfortable Queen beds in the room. The room looks newly renovated because of the new carpet and new tile, but the kitchen and bathroom as well as closet needs a major renovation. Cabinets look so old, that they seem to be from the 50s, look old, but kept up with fresh paint. Kind of a turn off to me. The security box is also so old, it has a key and it looks like a circuit breaker panel more than a security box, really difficult to use and your IPad or laptop will not fit in there.

Be careful, they almost run out of parking spots, when I got to the hotel one night. I took the last spot at 10:00pm on a Friday night. So I am not sure if they have enough parking. They provide a parking permit tag to hang on your rearview mirror. I guess unauthorized cars tend to park on their parking lot

Wall Outlet nowhere to be found. Usually a hotel should have functional nightstands by the nightstand or desk. This room had none. Another issue for me is that they had cheap extension cords running to the stand up lamps in the room. Safety concern as well as make it look cheap. Night stand was very small, really no room left with the lamp.

Breakfast time was fine; help yourself, a decent Continental breakfast, coffee, Juice, milk, cookies, boiled eggs, breasts, cereal, bagels, melon, and pastries. Pastries were a little hard.
Afternoon time you have a complementary wine & cheese, with plenty of grapes, plus milk and cookies at night

You have also a bowl of apples and bananas at the lobby most of the time so; they have plenty of snacks for you.

Front desk staff, was friendly, Gustavo was very detailed and courteous. Explain all the amenities of the hotel and all the schedule for breakfast and wine and cheese cookies and milk. Very helpful pointing out the city and main areas on a map.

Hotel is not too far from harbor and beach, a little walk though, but a little far from State St. where do you find all restaurants, bars and shops.


Staff and snacks saved the day for me. Room is decent clean and spacious, but I did not feel room was outstanding as others mention. Pool area and overall facilities were nice, and comfortable, but not extraordinary. Overall I would say good to very good stay. I guess OK for the money since Santa Barbara hotels tend to be expensive.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor. YOu can hear people walking or jummping if u are on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntington beach, ca
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This is our second time at this hotel. It was another great stay. This time we were upstairs in a qq deluxe, but it was at the top of the stairs. The beds were warm especially on the freezing nights we encountered. The kitchen was invaluable with the ability on make hot chocolate. We took advantage of the breakfast and cookies which we loved. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was probably our favourite hotel of the 11 we stayed in during our recent road trip honeymoon. The staff were very so friendly and the room was cosy, clean and comfortable. We loved the free DVD hire and bike rentals and had a memorable Christmas day bike ride along the coast and up State Street. We also loved the cookies and milk in the evening. It was a bit too chilly to use the pool but the hot tub was fab. Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at Inn by the Harbor, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Greetings LittleSparrow81,
Congratulations on your recent wedding. We are delighted you included the Inn by the Harbor in your honeymoon travels. I am glad to read you enjoyed the movies and our freshly baked cookies with milk. A State Street bike ride sounds like a wonderful way to celebrate a Santa Barbara Christmas. We hope to see you again for many more anniversaries. Warmly, Greg Broussard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skillman, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here during our trip up the coast from LA to SF. This was our first stop, and the worst part about it was that we only stayed one night. When we arrived, check in was very quick and the staff was very welcoming. The room had a nice vibe and was very comfortable all around. The mini kitchen was furnished with everything we would need for the night, or even the week! (Coffee pot, mini fridge, microwave, dishes and silverware, etc.) The “perks” of the Inn made the cost seem unreal. Bicycles are available from 730a-10p and were complimentary ($30 and up daily at local shops). It was a quick ride to Stearn's Wharf and up State Street to explore the shopping district. The ride along the beach was nice too! The breakfast basket was filled with plenty of delicious snacks and drinks! We look forward to our next stay here! (Don't forget to pick up a couple of extra biscotti in the office when you check in! Delish!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The room itself was fine, and it was great to have use of a very good washing machine and tumble dryer in a communal space. Plus ion and board in the room. However, the showerhead above the bath in our room was far too low and could not be adjusted. I ended up severely hurting my back and neck in attempt to wash my hair under the shower. I had to see a chiroprator in Santa Barbara and again in Las Vegas and was in pain for the rest of our trip, which was another 10 days! The location is not good, as it's far from State Street, with all the shops and restaurants. There must be better places to stay than this motel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at Inn by the Harbor, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Greetings Sara V.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our guestrooms. I am delighted to hear you had the opportunity to take advantage of our guest laundry facilities during your stay with us and am sorry to hear you experienced travel aches and pains. Please be assured that our bathrooms are equipped with standard furnishing at the appropriate regulated height. Many of our guests have enjoyed the luxurious experience of an in-room massage, a service our wonderful innkeepers would be happy to recommend for you. Santa Barbara offers many wonderful day spas, several within walking distance of our hotel. I do hope you visit our lovely city again. Warmly, Greg Broussard, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night with my boyfriend. Very cute hotel, very helpful staff and a great breakfast which was included I'm the price of our room.
Very clean hotel and overall a great place to stay in a quiet location

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn by the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Harbor

Address: 433 W. Montecito St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn by the Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among tropical gardens beneath the swaying palms, the Inn by the Harbor is an enchanting Santa Barbara hotel and resort escape. Built in the Spanish Colonial tradition, the white adobe inn features red tile roofs, inlaid tile staircases, wrought iron embellishments, and a heated pool. The Inn is just a short walk from Santa Barbara's golden beaches, yacht harbor, and oceanfront restaurants. The guest rooms at our Santa Barbara hotel and retreat are decorated with Spanish Mediterranean style furnishings. Many also feature full kitchens, which make them ideal for vacations and extended stay lodging. The Inn serves a deluxe continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese, and evening milk and cookies.The Inn by the Harbor hotel is within walking distance of many Santa Barbara attractions including West Beach and the beachfront bike path, the yacht harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the vibrant shops and cafes lining State Street. Golf courses, wineries, and the Santa Barbara Mission are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn by the Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Harbor Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn by the Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.