We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Hotel and a Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2220 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 25% in Santa Barbara
Ranked #14 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cute Hotel and a Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

From what I've seen Best Western seems to really vary by location and I thought this Best Western was cute. It's an older hotel and it does show it's age but it seems to be well maintained. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly. The decor was not like anything I have seen at any other Best Western but it was cute. I thought it was a good price for Santa Barbara but the hotel is a bit away from things in a residential neighborhood. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We do appreciate your review of our hotel; and thank you for being our recent guest. I like to say we have a bed and breakfast ambience; so guests know we are a quaint hotel. Hope you come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    101
    45
    17
    7
See reviews for
100
70
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

A very nice, clean, and well appointed hotel run by a caring and attentive staff. The cost was amazingly low considering that it is in Santa Barbara. The location was freeway convenient and in a quiet neighborhood. There were many amenities available which surprised us. A restaurant, spa/massage room in addition to the pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel; we are pleased you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We do hope you will come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here due to the proximity to the hospital, but found it to be a wonderful vacation spot. My kids played in the pool all day. It is quiet, the staff is friendly, and the food at the restaurant is surprisingly very good. My kids and I loved it! It is a little off the beaten track for SB, but you can get anywhere you need to go via car quite quickly. Adults could easily walk to downtown, but I am not sure I would do it with my kids (ages 5 & 7).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments; we are happy you enjoyed your visit with us; and will surely look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This will remind you of a hotel from the 60's but it has been kept up, the rooms are big and have kitchens. The pool and jacuzzi are nice and this is a traditional family hotel. The staff work hard to accommodate and the rooms are very clean. Considering hotel prices in Santa Barbara, this is a great value. I would not recommend this as a stay for couples.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review; we are happy you enjoyed your visit with us; and hope you come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived after a long drive and found we had booked on he wrong day! Staff were very understanding and found us action and upgraded us to a two room suite which was great as we were travelling with two teenagers. However, the suite was disappointing although clean. The decor was part 70s and part Little House on the Prairie. If we had not been so tired we would have tried somewhere else. Staff very good but the facility is in need of a real good makeover.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We hope you had a nice vacation in the States; and come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My son and I showed up on their doorstep without a reservation at 1am, on a night when everything else was sold out. Motel 6 in Santa Barbara had screwed us over by giving our "guaranteed" room away when our flight was late (and yes, we called them to let them know). Anyway, Mark was working the desk and he recognized my frustration and not only gave us a great rate on the room, but since their last room only had a single bed, he personally set us up with a floor futon (which was actually very comfortable), additional bedding, free bottles of water, and help with parking (the lot was full). My 17 year old son was so impressed with the service that he tried to dig out some money from his own meager wallet to give Mark, who refused to take it. Despite the evening starting out all wrong, we ended up getting a great nights sleep, as it was quiet and comfortable and roomy. Btw, they actually have Q-Tips (the nice ones, not the cheapos) in an enclosed jar in the bathroom. I don't ever remember that in any hotel I've ever stayed at, even the posh downtown SF hotels.

We will most certainly return. I only hope they aren't sold out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review; and I will certainly let Mark know what a great job he did. Hope you come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in this hotel while attending a family function. It is close to the downtown entertainment area on State St. Our room was spacious and clean. The hotel has a restaurant on site so there isn't any provided breakfast. The restaurant was fine but alittle pricey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites

Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Encina Hotel
Best Western Plus Encina Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Encina Hotel
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western
Address: 2220 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet residential street lined with turn-of-the-century homes, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites in Santa Barbara offers all the amenities of a small luxury hotel with the charm of a bed and breakfast inn. Relax by the garden pool, enjoy the aviary, book a massage, or simply unwind on your own private patio or balcony. Ideal for extended stays or family vacations, Encina Lodge offers a variety of accommodations, including guest rooms, suites, and apartments. Quilted bedding and floral accents lend the rooms their quaint country charm. Many of the units have full kitchens; plus Las Aves Café is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with room service available.Located in midtown, the hotel is adjacent to Sansum-Santa Barbara Medical Foundation Clinic and Cottage Hospital, and is just minutes from historic downtown, the Red-Tile Walking Tour, Mission Santa Barbara, golf courses, beaches, wineries, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites to your Saves list