We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service lacking with night crew” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2220 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #14 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Customer service lacking with night crew”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

When I checked in everything was great, they actually called the room to make sure everything was ok, and made dinner reservations for me. then on day two the air conditioner broke at 10pm. I Reported it, no one came, when I went to office to check he says its not better, we flipped a switch. I told him, no, he said well I can give u a fan cuz were completely sold out. NO. So I ended up with a noisy portable AIr unit!!

Even if you we're sold out, you could have checked to see if FLIPPING the switch helped, rather than having me waiting!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Greetings 310OGBear,

I am terribly sorry to hear about the malfunctioning air-conditioner in your guestroom. Unfortunately because the malfunction occurred later in the evening, we were unable to thoroughly repair the unit as it may have disturbed other guests. I apologize for not immediately following up on the issue and I am truly sorry that it affected an otherwise enjoyable stay. Please know that based on your comments we have repaired the AC unit and we have reviewed with our front desk and maintenance team the proper procedures for addressing maintenance concerns. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and giving us the opportunity to better serve all our guests. Warmly, Carol Wolford - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    117
    52
    19
    8
See reviews for
120
81
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel staff is wonderful. Very easy and accommodating. Everyone was so friendly. The property is clean and quiet. The rooms were clean and bright. The flowers bloomed all over. You can walk to State St to dine and shop. The food in the onsite restaurant was delicious. They serve breakfast thru dinner. I've never seen such a hard working crew that worked at this Lodge. They were washing windows, sweeping, gardening, the maids were so quiet I didn't know they were around. There was a free airport shuttle. I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: There are 2 bedroom suites. They are very large with kitchen area and sitting area. There are outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you, OhioCCS, for your lovely comments regarding our hotel and our wonderful team. We are truly lucky have an amazing group of people dedicated to creating a welcoming and relaxing environment for all our guests. I will be sure to let everyone know how much you appreciated their efforts. We hope to see you again soon! Carol Wolford, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a nicely maintained hotel located on Bath Street, in a residential area of Santa Barbara, away from commercial traffic. Flowers, landscaping, vines, beautiful stone work, beamed ceilings and charming touches were reminiscent of an inn in the wine country. Room was spacious, immaculate, very comfortable, and quiet. There was a great bed and luxury bedding. Each day there was complimentary fresh fruit, bottled water, candies, and weekday newspaper.Lemon/herb scented Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries were especially nice. Hotel Staff was pleasent, helpful and accommodating. WE ate suppper one night at the on-site restaurant, Las Aves, which was excellent. We loved this hotel and plan to return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the West side were especially quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Not on the ocean but only a couple of blocks from the main drag (State St). Great room, very comfortable bed, good restaurant, good parking in a town where parking is difficult. The only downside was that conversations in the jacuzzi and other open areas were easily heard from the room.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, California, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We came up to SB from LA for one night to visit the missions, and got VERY lucky finding this place. Very quaint hotel, nice and friendly staff, great room (although a little run down), and perfect location.

-Very comfortable beds
-Generous room size
-Ample parking
-Restaurant on site was excellent
-They even give you bottled water, candies, and a pack of cookies!

Would absolutely stay here again....in fact, we will make this place our priority.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This very clean, neat motel is in a quiet part of town; we had a suite and used the kitchen (stocked with plates, cookware, utinsels etc.). Everything was in working order and it really felt like home to us. Beds were very comfortable. Hated to leave! It is near a hospital and a short drive to the main shopping area of Santa Barbara. It has a restaurant on site, but we did not use it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We just stayed the few days before Christmas and had a very good experience. It rained alot and made the front door stick a bit but immediate assistance from both Ramon at the desk and Francisco in maintenance got the whole thing straightened out pronto! Nice room, very comfortable beds and easy access to State street was just the ticket. It is too far to walk, I had wanted to leave the car and just go, but it is pretty far north of the main action by about 6 blocks. Even with the holiday crowds, parking was not an issue in the public lots. A very nice stay and we would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites

Address: 2220 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet residential street lined with turn-of-the-century homes, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites in Santa Barbara offers all the amenities of a small luxury hotel with the charm of a bed and breakfast inn. Relax by the garden pool, enjoy the aviary, book a massage, or simply unwind on your own private patio or balcony. Ideal for extended stays or family vacations, Encina Lodge offers a variety of accommodations, including guest rooms, suites, and apartments. Quilted bedding and floral accents lend the rooms their quaint country charm. Many of the units have full kitchens; plus Las Aves Café is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with room service available.Located in midtown, the hotel is adjacent to Sansum-Santa Barbara Medical Foundation Clinic and Cottage Hospital, and is just minutes from historic downtown, the Red-Tile Walking Tour, Mission Santa Barbara, golf courses, beaches, wineries, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Encina Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Encina Hotel
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.