We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Calm in the Bustle of Santa Barbara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2220 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Calm in the Bustle of Santa Barbara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We just stayed the few days before Christmas and had a very good experience. It rained alot and made the front door stick a bit but immediate assistance from both Ramon at the desk and Francisco in maintenance got the whole thing straightened out pronto! Nice room, very comfortable beds and easy access to State street was just the ticket. It is too far to walk, I had wanted to leave the car and just go, but it is pretty far north of the main action by about 6 blocks. Even with the holiday crowds, parking was not an issue in the public lots. A very nice stay and we would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    135
    62
    22
    8
See reviews for
149
95
15
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stockton, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed one night at the Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites. We had a voucher for a free night at any Best Western and choose Santa Barbara since we had been wanting to visit again. We decided to stay at the Encina Lodge & suites based on other reviews.

The motel was nice. We did not use the pool or spa, but they looked nice. Our room was on the 2nd floor, above the restaurant, and there were only tiled stairs to get to our floor. This was a bit of an issue for us as it was raining and our daughter has some mobility issues. If I had known about the stairs, I would have requested a first floor room.

Our room was dated, but clean. The beds were comfortable. I know that others think that they are rock hard, but ours were not. I guess we lucked out and got good beds in our room. The bathroom was older tile, but it was in great shape. There was a recliner in our room, which was a first for us at an hotel. One of the walls were covered in mirrors (???) and the rest of the walls were wallpapered. Everything was in good working order.

The staff were very friendly. My daughter loved the gift shop and purchased a few small items. They had coffee hot and ready when we arrived in the lobby. The bath products were Crabtree & Evelyn. Nice.

Now onto the restaurant. It was horrible. We waited over 45 minutes after ordering our food for it's arrival. It was pathetic. The servers were never in the dining room, but with only 2 tables being used, I guess that they felt that they could all stand around the bar and talk. As we only ordered breakfast- eggs, pancakes, bacon and fruit- we expected it to come out in a timely manor. It did not! And, it was not good when it did come out! The fruit was moldy. The pancakes were tiny and not very good. The eggs were pitifully small (it said eggs, but seemed to be part of an egg on each of our plates). The bacon was good. Our bill, with no drinks, was $50. I am certain that our meals cost the restaurant no more than $3. I think that they had more cost in their linens than our food.

Next time that we visit Santa Barbara, we are most likely going to stay at another hotel, based largely on the restaurant. It is sad, since we were told when we arrived that the restaurant was not owned by the hotel, but when that is your only on site breakfast option, we will pick elsewhere.

Room Tip: I am not usually a fan of first floor rooms, but if you don't want to lug your luggage up outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

This was our first stay at this hotel. We visit SB often (almost monthly). We use our car while there so we always stay away from the beach, shopping...so we can afford to buy good wine on our trips:)

This hotel was clean, spacious, very accommodating. Parking was fine, check in/out quick and friendly. Fruit/candy in the room. Nice shampoo/etc.

We ate at the restaurant across the parking lot for breakfast...I didn't care for the service or the food. If we stay at this hotel again we won't eat at the on site restaurant....although I love the outdoor aviary...beautiful, clean...I'm partial to zebra finches so I enjoyed watching them.

Nice pool, jacuzzi although we didn't use...
Oh..although we were extremely happy with our stay...request to not stay in 236..under stairs and is quite noisy with late check ins and early check outs..lots of banging suitcases and stomping throughout the night...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very nice clean hotel.
Great for short trips to Santa Barbara.
Convenient location and AMAZINGLY FRIENDLY STAFF!
I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to get a good value for money spent

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Staying here now, and room 217 has the hardest bed I've ever had the displeasure of using. If there was more bedding I would have just slept on the floor last night, at least there would have been lots of room. Oh wait, not really because this room is tiny. I think I have the runt room- double bed and tiny space. Not a great deal for $200 in November!

The front desk was rude yesterday evening about it all, but really helpful this morning. When I booked, they did tell me the bed was small (full size, but seems even smaller than that) so I can't fault them, but you should know- small means small.

Might get to move rooms (booked up) or get extra padding. At least the front desk acknowledged that the beds are hard and lots of people don't like them. Thank you for not telling me I'm crazy!

The rest of the property seems nice- quite, easy parking, big pool, close to the freeway and downtown (but you can't walk to downtown) Certainly not high style, but a good economy hotel, if the bed was sleepable!!! I call this average to a bit above average if the bed was good.

Room Tip: Not room 217- tiny room, tiny, hard miserable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Greetings Tom R.

Thank you for alerting us of your disappointment in our mattress. It is guests like you who are the hotel experts so we appreciate you allowing us the opportunity to improve our service. Please know that our staff will inspect each mattress to ensure a quality restful sleep for all our guests. We hope you accept our sincerest apologies and may visit us again so that we may show you the true meaning of our hotel experience. Warmly, Carol Wolford, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I am NOT kidding! While this is a nice, quiet California inn, the beds are amazingly firm! And, the trick is, the staff doesn't at all care if you didn't sleep well, and that you paid quite a bit to stay there.

At check out, I mentioned this. Sounds like the owner wants the beds extra firm and has them specially made. The staff, naturally, won't disagree, and are completely indifferent to guest's concerns. No money back at all, no apology, nothing.

Unacceptable! Avoid!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Greetings jmileratp,

Please let me begin by offering my sincerest apologies that you were unhappy with the comfort of our mattress during your recent stay with us. We truly care about the experience of each of our guests so do I apologize if this was not expressed. Please be assured that we will inspect each mattress to ensure a comfortable night rest. We value your opinions and thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve on our hotel experience. Warmly, Carol Wolford, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Spent a night in June here with the family in one of the newly renovated two bedroom suites.
Very comfortable beds with down blankets, not those horrid synthetic things which seems to be the norm nowadays. The lounge area was large with plenty of lamps, sofas and a big flat screen TV. The kitchen was well equipped, and the small dining area seats four. There was quite a bit of noise from the upper floor rooms.
The bathroom was adequate. They supply Crabtree and Evelyn products, and there was even a shower cap and shoe shiner - have not seen those in hotels for some time. Just one question - what's up with that small toilet?? Seems as though it should be in an elementary school bathroom. One very big plus in the bathroom - the enlarging make-up mirror. Wish all hotel bathrooms had one. There were also plenty of towels - not the usual one per person.
The hotel is within walking distance from the Cottage Hospital and various other clinics. It has the Las Aves Cafe providing breakfast, lunch and dinner, and also serves Sunday Brunch.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites

Address: 2220 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet residential street lined with turn-of-the-century homes, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites in Santa Barbara offers all the amenities of a small luxury hotel with the charm of a bed and breakfast inn. Relax by the garden pool, enjoy the aviary, book a massage, or simply unwind on your own private patio or balcony. Ideal for extended stays or family vacations, Encina Lodge offers a variety of accommodations, including guest rooms, suites, and apartments. Quilted bedding and floral accents lend the rooms their quaint country charm. Many of the units have full kitchens; plus Las Aves Café is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with room service available.Located in midtown, the hotel is adjacent to Sansum-Santa Barbara Medical Foundation Clinic and Cottage Hospital, and is just minutes from historic downtown, the Red-Tile Walking Tour, Mission Santa Barbara, golf courses, beaches, wineries, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Encina Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Encina Hotel
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.