We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Plus Encina Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2220 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Burbank, California, United States
1 review
“Best Western Plus Encina Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very nice clean hotel.
Great for short trips to Santa Barbara.
Convenient location and AMAZINGLY FRIENDLY STAFF!
I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to get a good value for money spent

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    135
    62
    22
    8
See reviews for
149
95
15
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Staying here now, and room 217 has the hardest bed I've ever had the displeasure of using. If there was more bedding I would have just slept on the floor last night, at least there would have been lots of room. Oh wait, not really because this room is tiny. I think I have the runt room- double bed and tiny space. Not a great deal for $200 in November!

The front desk was rude yesterday evening about it all, but really helpful this morning. When I booked, they did tell me the bed was small (full size, but seems even smaller than that) so I can't fault them, but you should know- small means small.

Might get to move rooms (booked up) or get extra padding. At least the front desk acknowledged that the beds are hard and lots of people don't like them. Thank you for not telling me I'm crazy!

The rest of the property seems nice- quite, easy parking, big pool, close to the freeway and downtown (but you can't walk to downtown) Certainly not high style, but a good economy hotel, if the bed was sleepable!!! I call this average to a bit above average if the bed was good.

Room Tip: Not room 217- tiny room, tiny, hard miserable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Greetings Tom R.

Thank you for alerting us of your disappointment in our mattress. It is guests like you who are the hotel experts so we appreciate you allowing us the opportunity to improve our service. Please know that our staff will inspect each mattress to ensure a quality restful sleep for all our guests. We hope you accept our sincerest apologies and may visit us again so that we may show you the true meaning of our hotel experience. Warmly, Carol Wolford, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I am NOT kidding! While this is a nice, quiet California inn, the beds are amazingly firm! And, the trick is, the staff doesn't at all care if you didn't sleep well, and that you paid quite a bit to stay there.

At check out, I mentioned this. Sounds like the owner wants the beds extra firm and has them specially made. The staff, naturally, won't disagree, and are completely indifferent to guest's concerns. No money back at all, no apology, nothing.

Unacceptable! Avoid!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Greetings jmileratp,

Please let me begin by offering my sincerest apologies that you were unhappy with the comfort of our mattress during your recent stay with us. We truly care about the experience of each of our guests so do I apologize if this was not expressed. Please be assured that we will inspect each mattress to ensure a comfortable night rest. We value your opinions and thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve on our hotel experience. Warmly, Carol Wolford, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Spent a night in June here with the family in one of the newly renovated two bedroom suites.
Very comfortable beds with down blankets, not those horrid synthetic things which seems to be the norm nowadays. The lounge area was large with plenty of lamps, sofas and a big flat screen TV. The kitchen was well equipped, and the small dining area seats four. There was quite a bit of noise from the upper floor rooms.
The bathroom was adequate. They supply Crabtree and Evelyn products, and there was even a shower cap and shoe shiner - have not seen those in hotels for some time. Just one question - what's up with that small toilet?? Seems as though it should be in an elementary school bathroom. One very big plus in the bathroom - the enlarging make-up mirror. Wish all hotel bathrooms had one. There were also plenty of towels - not the usual one per person.
The hotel is within walking distance from the Cottage Hospital and various other clinics. It has the Las Aves Cafe providing breakfast, lunch and dinner, and also serves Sunday Brunch.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed one night in August, I have a Best western rewards card and was given a lovely chilled wine for my Birthday, We had a two bedroomed suite which was like a apartment great beds, lounge and kitchen. We had a separate dining area. Staff on front desk were helpful gave me map and told me the main attractions and how to get to them, Spa pool was lovely and hot although we did have to wait past the time it was due to open The cleaning guy was not going to be rushed even though we were waiting. Pool looked lovely but did not use it. Free parking but,nothing walkable near this hotel. Santa Barbara is lovely would return. Nice quiet location. and better value if you need two bedrooms.than some others in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

On a tour of California, starting at San Francisco, then Monterey, the Big Sur to Santa Barbara, overnight stop at Bakersfield, Sequioa and Kings Canyon, Yosemite and finally back to San Francisco - we stayed at the Encina for 3 nights

The hotel was good and comfortable, however the rooms were half the size of other hotels we stayed at with only one bed. That said the rooms were clean and we had no problems during our stay.

Hotels downtown and near the sea are much more expensive, so that was the reason we chose the Encina. It is a good 20 minute walk to Solas street (start of downtown on State street).

State street is a long street and it is a further 20 mins to the sea. We managed OK, but at night it meant a taxi to decent restuarants. Downtown in Santa Barbara is great for shopping during the day and a vibrant centre at night.

Santa Barbara is a notch up from Monterey and it is a lovely town with plenty to do - we visited the Mission at the far end of State street which was very interesting and from there took a trolley tour round Santa Barbara, at $19 it was worth it (it is hop on hop off).

We had great meals at Joe's Cafe and Aldo's both downtown State street. The seafront and pier are a must. There are also several good brew pubs downtown.

Santa Barbara is great -we spent 3 nights there and enjoyed every minute - we are able to walk so State street and downtown were not a problem. However if you have mobility problems you will need to use transport - car or bus. From June to Sept 2nd the is a great trolley service down State Street from Solas Street at a nominal cost

Hotel is a bit out from downtown but it is a compromise on price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

On the downside there were lots of ants in the room. Also our bathroom window faced a main corridor. Granted it is frosted, but not so much. Staff, room rate for hospital and location to hospital was great. If I have another hospital stay, we would stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites

Address: 2220 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet residential street lined with turn-of-the-century homes, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites in Santa Barbara offers all the amenities of a small luxury hotel with the charm of a bed and breakfast inn. Relax by the garden pool, enjoy the aviary, book a massage, or simply unwind on your own private patio or balcony. Ideal for extended stays or family vacations, Encina Lodge offers a variety of accommodations, including guest rooms, suites, and apartments. Quilted bedding and floral accents lend the rooms their quaint country charm. Many of the units have full kitchens; plus Las Aves Café is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with room service available.Located in midtown, the hotel is adjacent to Sansum-Santa Barbara Medical Foundation Clinic and Cottage Hospital, and is just minutes from historic downtown, the Red-Tile Walking Tour, Mission Santa Barbara, golf courses, beaches, wineries, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Encina Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Encina Hotel
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.