We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean & Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2220 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Bakersfield, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very clean & Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at the Encina Lodge while visiting Sansum Clinic. The lodge is just across the street from the clinic and Cottage Hospital. Very clean, we went without reservations and they had the accomodations for us. They also have a discount if you are visiting the clinic. The Cottage Cafe in the lobby of the hospital is a wonderful place to eat, very healthy and reasonable. Our room was very clean and we ask for a room off the street and got a ground floor room just off the spa.
Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    135
    62
    22
    8
See reviews for
149
95
15
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porterville, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

This hotel has so much to offer! The suites have kitchenettes,there is a beautiful pool and the spa is located in a quiet location. The rooms have been recently renovated and everything is very clean. We will definately return!

Room Tip: A pool side room on the second floor is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This Lodge is surprising wonderful. They have a great pool and spa. The rooms are spacious and clean. We had a double Queen room. The internet is very fast. We had 3 people in our room and the bathroom was large enough to accommodate all of us. There is a separate large area with a sink separate from the also large toilet and shower area. The closet space and hangers they provided were ample. It was quiet as well. Even the restaurant on site was delicious and the service was great. We had breakfast there each morning. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. They even printed out directions for some hikes we wanted to take in the area. The only downside is that it is a little far from the action and beach. But it is a lovely residential area and we had a car, so it was a non-issue. In fact, we liked that is was a lot quieter than the hotels down by the beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Even though it is an older property, the rooms and grounds were immaculate. Suite had lots of room to spread out and a nice deck overlooking the pool. The bed was comfortable and bedroom was quiet. Could hear some noise from neighbors through living room wall late at night, though. State street shops and Stearns Wharf, SB Mission & Courthouse are all a close drive. Will be going back to BW Encina next time we are in SB.




  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Location is in the middle of a residential neighborhood and looks like converted apartment buildings. Check in was fine, no problems. We were in a building in the back with parking garage underneath. They should most definitely warn people who have vans or suv's (pretty much everyone in the TINY garage) that maneuvering in there is very difficult between the very narrow driveway into it, and the tiny spaces in between pillars. As there was no parking outside the garage and it was so far back in the property, there was really no other option. Room was very clean and kind of funky. Had a recliner and another easy chair, complimentary water and snacks which was nice and large bathroom. We had a plumbing problem and maintenance came quickly. Problem wasn't completely resolved but we were just staying one night and when we realized it it was late in the evening. No complimentary breakfast but there is a restaurant on site. Couldn't tell if it was actually part of the hotel or not and we did not eat there. All in all, a bit pricey for what you get, but hey, it's Santa Barbara! Would stay there again in a pinch, but request a room in a different building to avoid the garage.

Room Tip: If you have a big vehicle, avoid the building in the back that requires you to park in the garage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I loved this hotel. Me and my boyfreind had traveled from San Fran to here and stayd at a lot of different hotels. So to come here was a really big surprise. The room we got was a plus room so it was big and roomy. Ok so the wallpaper I see everyone talking about was just flowery and with the pinewood it made the look of a little cute cabin. It was clean and no smell. We had a room on the 2nd floor and no traffic noice at all. Flatscreen tv, comfy beds and pillows. Helpful and friendly staff. Short way to the pool that wasnt overcrowded. A nice little shop in the reception area, with stuff that I regret i didnt buy. The breakfast was more the fine and the staff was also friendly there. Bathroom was of an ok to big size. If I have to poke on something it has to be that there was a bit easy to hear the people in the other room near us. They had a kid that was speaking in outdoor voice and that woke me up. Also it is located a bit far from the city senter but apart from that a big thumbs up. The staff will help you with ordering a taxi. And if I ever go back to Santa Barbara (such a cute and nice little town) I will stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I checked in late and checked out early so the only thing I really experienced about the hotel was the room. It was clean and well equipped with toiletries and complimentary snacks and water. The pillows and bed were very comfy and the tv remote had it's own little "sanitary bag". There was also a ceiling fan which was quiet and a nice touch. I opened both windows to let in the cool coastal air; it was pleasant and peaceful all night long.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites

Address: 2220 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet residential street lined with turn-of-the-century homes, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites in Santa Barbara offers all the amenities of a small luxury hotel with the charm of a bed and breakfast inn. Relax by the garden pool, enjoy the aviary, book a massage, or simply unwind on your own private patio or balcony. Ideal for extended stays or family vacations, Encina Lodge offers a variety of accommodations, including guest rooms, suites, and apartments. Quilted bedding and floral accents lend the rooms their quaint country charm. Many of the units have full kitchens; plus Las Aves Café is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with room service available.Located in midtown, the hotel is adjacent to Sansum-Santa Barbara Medical Foundation Clinic and Cottage Hospital, and is just minutes from historic downtown, the Red-Tile Walking Tour, Mission Santa Barbara, golf courses, beaches, wineries, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Encina Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Encina Hotel
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.