We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel but not worth the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3850 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SAVE 25% in Santa Barbara
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent hotel but not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Unfortunately, Santa Barbara hotels are generally overpriced. This also applies to the budget motels. While the hotel was fairly clean, friendly staff, and (surprisingly) comfortable beds, it was hard to get over the fact that we were overpaying for an outdated (i.e. shag carpeting and mirrored walls!) hotel. I would only recommend this to a friend because, well, most SB hotels are overpriced and outdated. This one is at least somewhat affordable. Plus, the city is so pretty with lots to do - how much time do you REALLY spend in the room?

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Dear tennis791,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Best Western Pepper Tree Inn. I apologize for your dissatisfaction with our guest room décor. We have year round maintenance staff dedicated to the ongoing renovations and upkeep of our guest rooms. We strive to serve as your home away from home, where each and every guests feels comfortable.

While Santa Barbara guest rooms tend to be higher priced than other destinations, we strive to include great value and amenities that you might not find at other Santa Barbara hotels. In addition to our great location, across the street from La Cumbre Shopping Plaza, we hope you enjoyed our complimentary bottled water, fresh fruit in your room, Crabtree & Evelyn bath products, DVD player with complimentary movie rentals, and our variety of coffees offered in the lobby 24 hours a day.

Should your travels ever bring you back to Santa Barbara, we hope you will give us another try. Please contact me and I will handle your reservations personally. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Chivaun Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    305
    104
    21
    21
See reviews for
219
259
20
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We spent the last night of our fly-drive holiday at this hotel and we were very impressed with the staff and the attention to detail shown in the room.
Check in was very good and we were given a choice of rooms. We were also given a map for Santa Barbara and the guy helped us with the location of parking for downtown and the beach.
The room was a good size and very clean with all the usual fixtures which were slightly dated. Even with the slightly dated fittings the room was a joy to see with the attention to detail shown in it's presentation. We were very impressed and we congratulate the housekeeping staff.
The room was in the block adjacent to State Street (the main road) but the balcony overlooked the gardens and pool so was very nice to relax on.
We slept well.
Breakfast in the adjacent restaurant was good.
This was the only hotel out of the eleven we stayed in which offered free internet access & printing.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights and used points, so I can't comment on the value for price.
As others have mentioned, a serious update is needed! The staff do the best they can, and it's certainly well-kept, but whoa - the decor! The whole place exudes 60's-70's. Once we got used to it, it had a kind of charm. The staff were all extremely nice and helpful. The fresh water every day was appreciated, as well as cookies with the in-room coffeemaker. (there's also coffee in the lobby) My husband used the exercise room, sauna and hot-tub and said they were all fine. Our room was very noisy, although I travel with a "sound machine" and ear plugs, so was not personally affected. I do have to mention the attached restaurant, the "Treehouse". It was fine for breakfast (although again, the decor is very, very retro...and not the on-purpose kind!). We had one dinner there and it was like mom's home cooking, if your mom is a terrible cook. It was awful!
We ended up having a couple of meals at a shopping plaza directly across the street, in a decent restaurant called "Marmelade". Of course, there are many, many fine restaurants just a couple miles down the street.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
Greetings Mindymorr,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at The Best Western Pepper Tree Inn. Your kind comments regarding our staff are very much appreciated. I’m thrilled to hear your husband enjoyed our lovely whirlpool, sauna, and exercise room and that you enjoyed our complimentary water, cookies, and coffee.

We hope you will accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations in room décor. Our Housekeeping and Maintenance Team are continuously upgrading and modernizing each of our guestrooms, one at a time.

Should your travels bring you back to Santa Barbara, I do hope you visit us again and I will be happy to personally assist you.

Please know that I have shared your comments regarding your meal with the owners and managers of the Tree House Restaurant.

We value your opinions and appreciate your patronage & candor and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely Yours,
Chivaun C. Clark
General Manager
Best Western Pepper Tree Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

The grounds and exterior have a pleasant hacienda feel, with Mexican tiles and skillful landscaping. The room, on the other hand, had funky dark green carpet, gaudy floral wallpaper and the cheapest available plumbing fixtures. In other words, nothing special and certainly not worth the nearly $250 per night we paid. The fruit bowl in the room looked nice, but the Florida juice orange reject was inedible. The lobby was filled with biker type men who seemed to be visiting as part of a large group. I suspect the hotel rents out blocks of rooms to groups at discounts, and therefore doesn't need to offer discount rates to individual travelers. We've stayed at much nicer places in SB (near the beach) for the same rate, so the glowing reviews for this place are a mystery.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
Greetings from Santa Barbara!

You have many hotels to choose from when visiting Santa Barbara so I am terribly sorry to hear you were unhappy with the décor of your guestroom. We are continually updating and redesigning our 150 individually appointed guestrooms so I am certain we have many rooms that would suit your preference.

We appreciate you taking the time to share you opinions with TripAdvisor and giving us the opportunity to better server all our guests. Please feel free to contact me directly and I will personally ensure your next stay is comfortable and relaxing.

Warmly,

Chivaun C. Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We stayed here for three days on room-only basis. We had upper floor with balcony overlooking the pool, very nice. The hotel has a motel feel but inside was clean, yet a little outdated and not much storage space for extended stays. We use the pool and jacuzzi and both were fine. It is possble to walk into SB from here but takes a time. Bus number 6 drops you back at the hotel for $2 so worth leaving the car in hotel. We liked the room, the quiet and fabulous mountain views to the rear. Staff were cool and not too probing and we had nice relaxing stay. Nice little touch was they clean the windscreen on your car each morning for safety, really appreciate after driving in vineyard country with bugs everywhere!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

This motel was great. Their customer service was over the top including cleaning our windshield the day we left. It is a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2010
Greetings from Santa Barbara, Ducks2003!

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Best Western Pepper Tree Inn and we look forward to serving you again!

Chivaun Clark and the Best Western Pepper Tree Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Booked two nights to stay here when I was attending a wedding in SB. Cons: On the second morning of our stay, not due to our own doing, the hotel radio alarm clock went off at 6:30 a.m.!!! This is not ok when you've been up partying the night before. When I brought this to the attention of Jerry at the front desk he said it must have been an "accident" and didn't bother apologizing. I signed the checkout receipt without saying anything more, but then realized he'd charged me $10 a night more than my reservation called for. When I brought this to Jerry's attention, he again offered no apology, and most importantly, no explanation. Just note that if you decide to stay here, pay very close attention to your bill and don't be surprised if your alarm goes off at the wrong hour. The hotel was alerted to both of these problems after our stay and made no viable attempt to make amends. Pros: The lobby was pleasant and offered round-the-clock tea/coffee/fruit, which I enjoyed. The room was standard, just large enough, with a nice balcony and clean amenities.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Address: 3850 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of tropical gardens, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn is a Spanish-inspired resort hotel with ornate tile and wrought-iron embellishments. The lush gardens feature pathways lined with palms and cascading bougainvillea. The hotel offers two heated tile pools, two whirlpools, an exercise room and massage facilities, conference facilities, complimentary parking and free high-speed wireless Internet service.The hotel's spacious, well-appointed guest rooms feature private decks or balconies overlooking the gardens and pool courtyards. The Treehouse Restaurant and Lounge offers casual dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and provides room, patio, and poolside service.Located on upper State Street with easy access to 101, the hotel is adjacent to the shops and restaurants at La Cumbre Plaza, and is just minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, world-class golf courses, award-winning wineries, glorious beaches, and the Santa Barbara Mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.