We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3850 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SAVE 25% in Santa Barbara
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Pretty Gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived late after dark, having got lost trying to find the hotel, and we were told to drive around the hotel and we would find our room which was 334. Grand big room, two Queen size beds, 'fridge, TV., coffee machine, some chairs, bathroom, bowl of fruit and bottles of water.
We found we were too late for the adjoining restaurant at 8.45 p.m., but were directed to another place two doors down which served until 11 p.m.
The next morning we crossed the road and bought provisions for breakfast, bringing them back to our room, and decided to have our breakfast sitting by the pool outside in the pretty garden, having made coffee in the machine. Lovely bougainvillea around the area.
As we were staying only one night, left after that, but would have liked to have stayed longer.
The place was clean and staff at reception friendly. There was a free newspaper at our door in the morning. It was a bit like a motel.
It was quite a drive down State Street and we ended up going to visit the Santa Barbara Courthouse with lovely views all around, interesting murals in the room with the clock up at the top, and the courtroom below, and the ceilings. The woman on the desk was very helpful there.
We would have loved to have stayed longer in Santa Barbara, and if we ever return would use the Pepper Tree Inn again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    301
    104
    20
    21
See reviews for
218
256
19
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during out honeymoon trip and we loved it. We had a room with a balcony overlooking a little garden and the small outside pool and it was super. There was a small fitness centre which was great and also a laundry area, which pleased my husband immensely. Breakfast was not included so we ate in the restaurant opposite the hotel. My husband had eggs benedict but it really wasn't very nice at all. The hollandaise sauce was really thick and lumpy and the bacon was very thick.
We usually like to walk and explore the area we are staying in but the hotel is quite a distance from the town. There are regular buses that stop opposite the hotel so its not really a problem.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in Santa Barbara for a family weekend. Our goal was to find a nice place to use as a base for our Urban Wine Trail experience. The Best Western was a great value. Everyone made us feel at home. The Fitness Center was a pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved the hotel, but sadly most of the Best Western Plus Hotels we have stayed at provide at least a complementary breakfast. We did eat breakfast at the Marmalade Cafe across the street. The breakfast was awesome. I just wish they had put it on the website that breakfast was not included.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Similar to previous Best Western we visited, these are more like motels rather than hotels. Beds very comfortable, bathroom strange as no washbasin in bathroom, just shower in bath and toilet. Patio doors out onto pool area/patio area with a fire pit lit in the evenings. Air conditioning unit in room exceptionally loud, couldn't have this on at night. Fruit bowl included in room and fridge very convenient for storing any drinks/food etc. Hotel conveniently situated as big supermarket over the road. Easy access from main road straight down town to beach with loads of shops and restaurants. Good parking facilities close to room. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Start with the negative, this was the only time in 10 days we encountered a solemn, unsmiling and unenthusiastic check-in staff. He gave the impression he didn't want to be there, and asking for the Wi-Fi code felt like an inconvenience!! Thank goodness for Jessica...she helped us with coffee and then told us where to visit, how to get downtown etc. A lovely lady, the check-in guy should take tips from Jessica. The hotel is nice and has a good pool area, the rooms are comfortable. It is situated a little out of town and takes at least 20/30 minutes to drive to the harbour etc - follow State Street, which has so many traffic lights! Check in is not until 16:00 but free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corringham, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights as part of a fly-drive of the western coast. Hotel is more of a motel with doors opening onto the car park.Rooms quite small and quite dark however adequate for the two of us and very clean. Cookies ,fruit, bottled water and a newspaper supplied daily which was a nice touch. Also an on-site laundry which was really useful.

Our room was on the ground floor which had its own small patio giving onto lovely gardens with a nice pool and hot tub. Next door is the hotel diner that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner but like a lot of restaurants inI Santa Barbara closed early at 8. We weren't aware of this and turned up one night with other hotel guests at 745. However the helpful staff stayed onto cook us a meal - that`s what I call good service!

Hotel is located a couple of miles from the main shopping area on State Street but there is a mall opposite with a Macy`s, Sears and other smaller shops including a Vons for grocery. The hotel is close to the `local beach Hendry`s, which has an untouched 8 mike stretch of sand; spent a day there and it was very relaxing. However it did involve a drive to get to it-although really scenic as it took in the gorgeous `old money`properties of wealthy residents-worth athe drive just to see them!

Overall would recommend the hotel as a good standard and reasonably priced. However if you want to be in the heart of the action then choose somewhere further in the centre

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Address: 3850 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of tropical gardens, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn is a Spanish-inspired resort hotel with ornate tile and wrought-iron embellishments. The lush gardens feature pathways lined with palms and cascading bougainvillea. The hotel offers two heated tile pools, two whirlpools, an exercise room and massage facilities, conference facilities, complimentary parking and free high-speed wireless Internet service.The hotel's spacious, well-appointed guest rooms feature private decks or balconies overlooking the gardens and pool courtyards. The Treehouse Restaurant and Lounge offers casual dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and provides room, patio, and poolside service.Located on upper State Street with easy access to 101, the hotel is adjacent to the shops and restaurants at La Cumbre Plaza, and is just minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, world-class golf courses, award-winning wineries, glorious beaches, and the Santa Barbara Mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Expedia, Best Western, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.