We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great hotel, good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3850 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #15 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
san diego
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great value, great hotel, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

Got a few recommendations from friends and internet resources, ran the rates on the SB pepper tree in website, and got a high rate. Called direct, got a much better rate and included the wine package also. Rates were much cheaper than the other properties we were considering.

Location is good for downtown SB, it is on the north end of State street, just a few miles/minutes from the main drag with the bars and restaurants and shops, etc. 4 minutes to Trader Joe's. Just a couple blocks to the 101 or the 154. 25-60 minutes/miles from the major winery attractions, but most decent hotels are.

Deluxe room was nice and big, large king bed, mini fridge and micro. Room and bath were clean. Nice patio with view of courtyard. Nice pool and jacuzzi. Checking in and out was a real breeze.

Would stay here again, and would recommend to others.

  • Liked — great value, clean, good location
  • Disliked — a bit outdated, but not really a big deal, didn't spend much time in hotel
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    242
    89
    21
    18
See reviews for
169
218
18
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2008

I last stayed at Pepper Tree more than a year ago. THEN, it was pleasant but rather shabby with mediocre beds. NOW, rooms have been redecorated, beds are very comfortable. Free bottles of water a nice touch. Room is small (King bed takes up most of it) but attractive and very clean. Price for Santa Barbara is moderate. Location easily accessible to Freeway and major area attractions. Staff helpful with information.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed, bedding and towels
  • Disliked — Small size of room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilkenny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

Nice reception area with free Interent access and free coffee and fruit on offer throughout the day.
Room was ok, bit dated but it opened out on to pool area which was nice. Free parking and you could park right outside the rooms.
As we arrived pretty late and tired first night we decided to try out on site restaurant - big mistake, food was pretty bad.

  • Liked — Hotel lobby
  • Disliked — Food in restaurant
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cre8Love, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2008
Greetings from Santa Barbara kktraveller,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Best Western Pepper Tree Inn and for taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.

As you can imagine it disappoints us to read your comments regarding your experience with the Tree Top Restaurant. We take comments such as yours very seriously because we care about the quality of your experience from the instant you make your reservation to the moment you leave our hotel.

Please know that I have forwarded your comments to the Owner and Manager of the Tree Top Restaurant and will make every effort to improve the quality of our service at the restaurant.

If your travels bring you back to Santa Barbara, please accept my offer to complimentary upgrade your reservation at the Best Western Pepper Tree Inn and your next meal at the Tree Top Restaurant will be on us. Please call me directly and I will be happy to show you the true meaning of our guest service.

Thank you once again for choosing the Best Western Pepper Tree Inn and for giving us the opportunity to better serve all our guests.

Cordially,

Chivaun Clark
General Manager
Best Western Pepper Tree Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash, Surrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

Stayed one night at the PepperTree Inn en route down the PCH to LA. Grounds are really nice and have that Spanish theme reminiscent of Santa Barbara but room, although pretty large & clean was very dated and the decor was old fashioned. We had a ground floor room and the patio doors were dodgy to say the least, don't think it would have been too hard for someone to break in and this made us feel a little uneasy but we were only there for one night. No parking charges either.

This hotel is quite a way from the other end of State Street which seemed to have the majority of the restaurants and down that way is also the pier, it was easily in excess of 4 miles each way, maybe more. We were ok as we had a car but if you didn't and didn't want to pay cab fares, this location isn't ideal. You wouldn't starve as there is an on site restaurant and places within walking distance but the main area of State Street is just too far to walk. BTW, we had a lovely dinner at Pascucci (729 State Street).

Our main issue here was the safe. It was literally only about 2 inches deep and we, like most travelers probably, had quite a bit to put in it like i pods, passports etc, cash, travel documents, esp with the patio door issue!. The next morning we were unable to open the safe, which was opened using a key and a swing arm type mechanism as something inside had fallen down and jammed the locking mechanism.

We called maintenance (who arrived very promptly) and after a lot of trying, advised they would have to drill out the lock etc. We were checking out that morning and so were delayed but also, were worried about a possible charge for a new safe/lock. Eventually, with brute force and a hammer and just before starting to drill, they got it open. Luckily my i pod was in a hard plastic case but had it not been. It would surely have been damaged.

Had lunch before leaving on site and was reasonably priced and of decent quality. If they updated the rooms and sorted out the ground floor security and safes, this place could be really good as staff were v friendly and helpful.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peppertree, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2008
Greetings from Santa Barbara SurreyTbt!

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Best Western Pepper Tree Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of our hotel with TripAdvisor.

We pride ourselves on the quality of service given to our guests, so learning of your experience is quite disappointing. Please be assured that your comments will be addressed with hotel team as well as our management staff.

Our team genuinely cares about the quality and service given to each guest. So you will be happy to know that our hotel is currently undergoing an upgrade in our hotel furnishings and décor.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor and for giving us the opportunity to better serve all of our guests.

Sincerely,

Chivaun Clark
General Manager – Best Western Pepper Tree Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

Stayed three nights. Was about a $20 cheaper price differential for Sunday night as opposed to Friday and Saturday. Had a ground floor room. Pros: clean, quiet, reasonably spacious, good beds and pillows, multi-channel TV, good counter space in bathroom, good shower, refrigerator, decent value for SB. Cons: ventilation not good as did not want to keep sliding glass patio door open during the night and blackout curtains covered louvered glass window. Good location off freeway and easy to get south to Montecito, north to wine country, or east down State street. Would stay again, but get an upper floor room where we could get some air.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room ventilation or lack of same.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

This is a multi-building hotel across the street from a shopping mall at the end of State Street. The grounds are well kept, the lobby is clean and useful, and my room was are in good shape. There's a bagel place just a half-block away, and the shopping mall is a convenience. Easy access to the highway too.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

we arrived at 12,the room was ready.we had a poolside room,which was a little dated but was well maintained and clean.Both pools and grounds are very pretty and clean.Although the hotel is on a main road we didnt here any traffic noise.The staff were friendly and helpful.Theres an on site resturant,where the food was average though the staff wre friendly.Overall we were very impressed and would definitely go back.

  • Liked — Pool and gardens
  • Disliked — On site resturant
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Address: 3850 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of tropical gardens, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn is a Spanish-inspired resort hotel with ornate tile and wrought-iron embellishments. The lush gardens feature pathways lined with palms and cascading bougainvillea. The hotel offers two heated tile pools, two whirlpools, an exercise room and massage facilities, conference facilities, complimentary parking and free high-speed wireless Internet service.The hotel's spacious, well-appointed guest rooms feature private decks or balconies overlooking the gardens and pool courtyards. The Treehouse Restaurant and Lounge offers casual dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and provides room, patio, and poolside service.Located on upper State Street with easy access to 101, the hotel is adjacent to the shops and restaurants at La Cumbre Plaza, and is just minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, world-class golf courses, award-winning wineries, glorious beaches, and the Santa Barbara Mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.