We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable uptown property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3850 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 25% in Santa Barbara
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Affordable uptown property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this excellent motel..quiet.. Excellent room, great staff and a nice porch overlooking a gorgeous lawn with a pool and spa in the courtyard.. I was born in Santa Barbara and have stayed at Many of the city's hotels over the years.. So a quick guide.. There is uptown or upper state street.. Where this property is across from La Cumbre Plaza.. And there is down town and then the beach..there are few places that are actually on the beach and they are down the coast. Like the San Ysidro..inn. Bring your checkbook.. My accommodations were spacious, with an excellent work area and a comfortable living room feel. Unlike many of the downtown hotels which are on the small side.. Close to superb dinning and shopping and easy access to all Santa Barbara has to offer..and it's near my favorite golf course the Undiscovered Santa Barbara municipal golf course.. Don't miss that..it will lull you to sleep on the first two holes and then challenge your best game..

Room Tip: Ground floor near the back..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    326
    111
    23
    21
See reviews for
230
276
20
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make us comfortable. Although an older era hotel the décor was up to date and the grounds were well kept and the interior furnishings were modern and well built. I look forward to my next trip to Santa Barbara and the Pepper Tree Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This was a pretty nice motel for a stop over. Convenient location and close enough to the high way if you're going to the pier. room was clean and neat and had everything we needed. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The Best Western Pepper Tree in Santa Barbara, CA is a venerable hotel that has been at the top of its game for years. The property is always fresh and clean, and the rooms are spacious and always in top shape. The location is close to shopping and the freeway, with many good restaurants nearby. The Pepper Tree is an excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChivaunC, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are so pleased to hear you found our hotel to be an excellent value in a great location, as we certainly pride ourselves on these facts. Our staff is continuously managing the grounds and accommodations to ensure our guests have a comfortable experience. We look forward to having you as our guests again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The rooms are large with comfortable armchairs and they have balconies with nice view on the pool and landscape. The price are reasonable but there is no breakfast at the hotel, however ther is restaurant just beside the hotel.
The location is good close a shopping center but we need a car to go downtown and to the beach, it's a short ride.
The cleanness of this hotel is remarkable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We loved this hotel! We had a room which opened out onto the pool which was great! The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming! The food was great, we really enjoyed our stay. It was a good base for us as we travelled to la twice from it for theme parks and also enjoyed 4th July celebrations here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChivaunC, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We are so pleased that your joined us to celebrate your honeymoon - congratulations. One of the best attributes of the hotel are the garden view patios and balconies with convenient access to the pools. We hope you come back next year and enjoy relaxing poolside again. Once again, congratulations on your recent marriage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed here for a marathon event I was running and, even though I chose this hotel because it was one of the cheaper in the area, I think it was one of the nicest. The check in staff was so helpful, even helping me arrange transpo to the event early the next morning, and in picking quality restaurants to eat at. The grounds and our room were one of the cleanest I've ever seen, and because others in my group were staying at a couple of the higher priced hotels, I got to see their places, and they weren't nearly as clean and nice. Was a great stay, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Address: 3850 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of tropical gardens, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn is a Spanish-inspired resort hotel with ornate tile and wrought-iron embellishments. The lush gardens feature pathways lined with palms and cascading bougainvillea. The hotel offers two heated tile pools, two whirlpools, an exercise room and massage facilities, conference facilities, complimentary parking and free high-speed wireless Internet service.The hotel's spacious, well-appointed guest rooms feature private decks or balconies overlooking the gardens and pool courtyards. The Treehouse Restaurant and Lounge offers casual dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and provides room, patio, and poolside service.Located on upper State Street with easy access to 101, the hotel is adjacent to the shops and restaurants at La Cumbre Plaza, and is just minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, world-class golf courses, award-winning wineries, glorious beaches, and the Santa Barbara Mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.