We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but nothing especial” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3850 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 25% in Santa Barbara
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tustin, California, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good but nothing especial”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our 1-night stay at this best western was OK
We hardly found this last minute deal on labor day weekend. The hotel is over price (almost 250 for a room for one night) It doesn't include breakfast. All you get is free coffee/tea at the lobby and free Wi-Fi at your room.

Rooms are small and bathrooms are not clean. whole property is not well-maintained.
Staff are friendly and are willing to help you but nothing in this hotel is worth the money.
It's far from downtown and beaches.
Sitting by the State street, you need to drive almost 15 mins to get to the down town area and pier.
This could be your last shot when you're hopeless in Santa Barbara looking for stay over night.

Room Tip: You should probably ask for rooms not facing the main street, (State St.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChivaunC, Sales & Marketing at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Good Afternoon Ahmadreza B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay at the BW PLUS Pepper Tree Inn. As a holiday weekend, Labor Day, room availability is limited. We would like to express our gratitude that you chose our hotel to enjoy your Santa Barbara adventure. We’re sorry to hear that you were expecting breakfast to be included in your room rate. Our onsite restaurant, the Tree House Restaurant, offers delicious American fare including breakfast, lunch and dinner.

We’re delighted to hear you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating to your needs. Did you have an opportunity to report your dissatisfaction with the level of cleanliness in your room? Our housekeeping team strives to adhere to the highest cleanliness standards and our specially appointed landscapers routinely replenish the grounds with seasonal blooms. Our goal is to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations.

Our hotel is conveniently located with easy access to Santa Barbara’s attractions including beaches, downtown shopping & dining, wine tasting regions, historical landmarks and much more is within a short drive.

We would like to extend a warm invitation and would be delighted to welcome you to Santa Barbara on a future occasion. Thank you again for your valuable feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    325
    111
    23
    21
See reviews for
229
275
20
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A blast from the past hotel, but a well maintained one. The rooms were clean as well as the pools, the front staff was on the ball and friendly, and helpful in finding stuff to do even for the day. It was quiet and reasonably priced for a trip to Santa Barbara, even on the busiest of weekends. I can't say anything about the old school diner next to it, but the extra details like q-tips in the bathroom and cleaning off the windshield before we headed off made it a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The surroundings of this hotel are just beautiful, the flowers are fantastic and the setting is so enjoyable. rooms great, service great, love this Hotel! The restaurant on the grounds has super food, home made and very clean restaurant too. I can only say one negative, and it would be nice if there was some food available in the mornings for breakfast if you do not have time to sit down and eat. Something you could take with you on the go. other than that, love this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a good hotel with helpful staff. It is very handing when you have a car as you park outside your room. The rooms are arranged around an enclosed garden, and pool area which are great for unwinding at the end of the day. The rooms are a good size, and the beds comfy. The restaurant next to the hotel is not very good however. We walked down the road to Jeannies Bakery each morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel really had a lovely personal touch - we stayed here for part of our honeymoon on our trip up the PCH.
I emailed the hotel in advance to inform them that it was our honeymoon and to ask for a balcony and an arrival drink (it was the 1 year anniversary of our engagement).
When we arrived Jim in the reception was incredibly warm and welcoming - he told us that our room would soon be ready (we were early) and he mentioned to me that our room would have a balcony and that he had arranged some champagne (without letting my wife know).
Jim also showed us a map of Santa Barbara and recommended a fabulous seafood restaurant by the harbour - Brophy Brothers.
Although we only stopped for one night, we were extremely happy with every aspect of this hotel, especially my wife with the free coffee and fruit (and of course the champagne).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony - it will face the swimming pool instead of looking over the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our rooms were very clean. They had nice linens. Good T.V. The pool and jacuzzi was popular and nice. The staff here is really the best almost of anywhere I've been. We were at the jacuzzi and my sister had forgot her towel..and the maintenance guy noticed and without us asking him just went and got her one. They washed our very dirty windows on our car during the night. There was fruit and drinks in the lobby and your room. All in all, a great stay. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChivaunC, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Our staff strike again providing amazing service for our amazing guests! We are so pleased to hear your comments about your great experience at the Pepper Tree Inn and thank you for taking the time to share with other Trip Advisor viewers. We look forward to seeing you soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Second hotel of a 14 day road trip on route to Monterrey. A motel style hotel booked through Trail Finders. Fast check-in. Room was average but had all the things you'd expect. Close to the pool (located in a central courtyard). Kids liked this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChivaunC, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
What a great sound of summer - kids playing I the pool. We are pleased to hear your kids liked the hotel and we hope you bring them back next year for more summer fun. Thank you for joining us as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Address: 3850 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of tropical gardens, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn is a Spanish-inspired resort hotel with ornate tile and wrought-iron embellishments. The lush gardens feature pathways lined with palms and cascading bougainvillea. The hotel offers two heated tile pools, two whirlpools, an exercise room and massage facilities, conference facilities, complimentary parking and free high-speed wireless Internet service.The hotel's spacious, well-appointed guest rooms feature private decks or balconies overlooking the gardens and pool courtyards. The Treehouse Restaurant and Lounge offers casual dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and provides room, patio, and poolside service.Located on upper State Street with easy access to 101, the hotel is adjacent to the shops and restaurants at La Cumbre Plaza, and is just minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, world-class golf courses, award-winning wineries, glorious beaches, and the Santa Barbara Mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.