We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of 1970 :-)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3850 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #18 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Midlands, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The best of 1970 :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I loved this place.

The check in was swift, courteous and accommodating of our early arrival. The staff are all friendly and happy to help with directions, maps etc. Although the hotel is not central to the town or beach, it's not too far away and there's a shopping mall opposite with some decent restaurants, cafes etc too.

The rooms are like a visit back in time (in a good way) to about 1970. Their style is dated and features awesome historical touches like an entire mirror wall, floor to ceiling tiling in the bathrooms, retro patio furniture and so on. But it's all really well kept, clean and carefully maintained, so unless you are someone who demands up-to-date fashionable décor, then this is a great place to stay. There's complimentary fruit, water and Wi-Fi too.

We enjoyed staying here and would definitely book again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms all have patio access to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChivaunC, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are so pleased you appreciated the efforts of our staff. It is always our pleasure to provide friendly and helpful service, as well as offer our guests well maintained accommodations. We look forward to having you as our guest when you return to Santa Barbara! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    251
    92
    19
    18
See reviews for
182
225
19
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, only stayed one night but the room was clean and the staff very helpful. Restaurant closes at 8 but had breakfast there and that was good. A few shops across the road with a small mall. We drove down the the beach where there is free or cheap parking. The wharf is lovely, hired a bike for 4 people and drove down the promenade. Would stay there again, Santa Barbara is lovely.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is one of our favourites on the Pacific Highway Coast. It's a friendly, clean and very accommodating place. The rooms are of a good size and the one we had this time opened straight onto the pool and hot tub area. All rooms have complimentary water, coffee, fruit and sweets as does the reception

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChivaunC, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that our hotel is one of your favorites along the Pacific Highway Coast and look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to California. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. Our room was upgraded as it was a special birthday, we were also greeted with a bottle of champagne, box of chocolates and a happy birthday banner which was a lovely touch. (Thank you Josh)

On check in we were greeted by a handsome, polite and helpful gentleman as our room wasn't ready (our fault we were very early) gave us directions, map etc. to go into town.

Every time we went into reception we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff.

Thank you for making our stay so good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is one of our favourites on the Pacific Highway Coast. It's a friendly, clean and very accommodating place. The rooms are of a good size and the one we had this time opened straight onto the pool and hot tub area. All rooms have complimentary water, coffee, fruit and sweets as does the reception area. It's location, on State Street, is good if you are doing a drive holiday, and it's only a short drive into main centre of Santa Barbara which is also well worth a visit. It has a small restaurant attached to it which is ok if you don't fancy venturing outside of the complex, but since there is a multitude of restaurants and eating places in Santa Barbara centre, we'd recommend you only use this as a last resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Although not in a particularly nice location, the staff and the facilities were excellent, especially the room.
Nice little pool and spa outside the patio doors and an excellent restaurant next door. Friendly staff and the car windscreen had been cleaned when we left in the morning - would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is nice with fairly big rooms and a lovely courtyard with a swimming pool. The rooms have wifi, a big tv, microwave, fridge, tv and coffee making facilities with free water and fruit in the room too. The beds are very big and lovely and comfy. The house keeping staff need a big well done too as its spotless every where. The hotel also has a gym and laundry room. The staff are so helpful and polite, especially Cindy. I would recommend requesting a courtyard and pool view these are the best rooms. The only bad thing is the location it is quite far from Santa Barbara Beach and the main shops. It is lovely by the beach and at the bottom of state street there are so many nice restaurants and shops its such a shame this is too far out to walk too.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Address: 3850 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of tropical gardens, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn is a Spanish-inspired resort hotel with ornate tile and wrought-iron embellishments. The lush gardens feature pathways lined with palms and cascading bougainvillea. The hotel offers two heated tile pools, two whirlpools, an exercise room and massage facilities, conference facilities, complimentary parking and free high-speed wireless Internet service.The hotel's spacious, well-appointed guest rooms feature private decks or balconies overlooking the gardens and pool courtyards. The Treehouse Restaurant and Lounge offers casual dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and provides room, patio, and poolside service.Located on upper State Street with easy access to 101, the hotel is adjacent to the shops and restaurants at La Cumbre Plaza, and is just minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, world-class golf courses, award-winning wineries, glorious beaches, and the Santa Barbara Mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.