We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Stay Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3850 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #15 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Will Stay Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This property is at the north end of State Street so is not convenient to the lower State Street shopping area but it is across the street from Santa Barbara's nicest mall. Our room (#305) was on the second floor facing State Street, with a balcony overlooking one of the pools. I would not select this room during the summer months as the noise from the pool area and the street would be very noticeable with the windows open. However, the room itself was very clean and comfortable. The beds were comfortable but I would have preferred percale sheets to the flannel sheets provided. The extra amenities were a pleasant surprise....great TV and DVD player, refrigerator, microwave as well as a coffeemaker and nice toiletries in the bath. In room 305 the AC unit was right next to one of the beds, which might be an issue during very warm weather. We visit Santa Barbara often to see family so will make the Pepper Tree Inn our new go to place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the property away from the pool and State Street. I did not see an ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    242
    89
    21
    18
See reviews for
169
218
18
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon and it was brilliant. They were so friendly upon check in and there are free drinks available in the lounge if you have to wait or if you just want to relax. They recommended a few areas for us to visit which was nice and the lady behind the desk gave us a map on how to reach the shopping area. Santa Barbara itself is such a nice place and this was a great location. The room was lovely and we got a free champagne for being on our honeymoon! Could not fault this hotel at all. The hot tub outside was particularly nice, as was the fire pit below our balcony! Would highly recommend this hotel to couples and families alike.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelMad1983
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here one night on PCH trip. Good location for PCH and only 5 minute drive to downtown Santa Barbara. Rooms are a little dated but clean and a good size - standard for a Best Western. Pool area and flame pit are nice. Free parking and wifi is a bonus. We walked across the road to the shopping mall for take out pizza, there is also a Whole Foods and McDonalds within walking distance. Beds are very comfortable but rooms are quite noisy - probably best to get an upstairs room if you can and unplug the in-room fridge!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms will probably be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My Husband & I recently stayed here for 1 night on our Pacific Coastal Highway trip.
The Hotel is ideally positioned for this route as it is minutes from the PCH 1.on the out of town end of State Street.
When we arrived all the staff were extremely friendly & helpful. & gave us some great tips on where to go,what to see etc in our very brief 1/2 day in Santa Barbra.Thus we made great use of our time.
It came over as a "Family" run hotel which is lovely.
The room was spacious ,clean & very comfortable. The buildings are dated on the outside but this only added to the overall charm. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here, the staff were fantastic and so helpful.
room was really nice. Pool area was wonderful, well kept and very clean.
the facilities were all easily accessible and parking was no problem

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Convenient location by car,ideal place to base yourself to explore the local area,but not exactly walking distance for downtown.Rooms are excellent and well equipped.The Staff are extremely friendly only too happy to help with any questions or problems.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sultana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I brought our daughter to tour/visit UC Santa Barbara. The location was great and the room was very comfortable and clean. The shopping in the area was good, too. We will stay there again.


  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Address: 3850 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of tropical gardens, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn is a Spanish-inspired resort hotel with ornate tile and wrought-iron embellishments. The lush gardens feature pathways lined with palms and cascading bougainvillea. The hotel offers two heated tile pools, two whirlpools, an exercise room and massage facilities, conference facilities, complimentary parking and free high-speed wireless Internet service.The hotel's spacious, well-appointed guest rooms feature private decks or balconies overlooking the gardens and pool courtyards. The Treehouse Restaurant and Lounge offers casual dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and provides room, patio, and poolside service.Located on upper State Street with easy access to 101, the hotel is adjacent to the shops and restaurants at La Cumbre Plaza, and is just minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, world-class golf courses, award-winning wineries, glorious beaches, and the Santa Barbara Mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.