We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Very Friendly Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3850 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #18 of 61 hotels in Santa Barbara
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Traditional Very Friendly Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My Husband & I recently stayed here for 1 night on our Pacific Coastal Highway trip.
The Hotel is ideally positioned for this route as it is minutes from the PCH 1.on the out of town end of State Street.
When we arrived all the staff were extremely friendly & helpful. & gave us some great tips on where to go,what to see etc in our very brief 1/2 day in Santa Barbra.Thus we made great use of our time.
It came over as a "Family" run hotel which is lovely.
The room was spacious ,clean & very comfortable. The buildings are dated on the outside but this only added to the overall charm. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    273
    95
    19
    18
See reviews for
200
233
19
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here, the staff were fantastic and so helpful.
room was really nice. Pool area was wonderful, well kept and very clean.
the facilities were all easily accessible and parking was no problem

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Convenient location by car,ideal place to base yourself to explore the local area,but not exactly walking distance for downtown.Rooms are excellent and well equipped.The Staff are extremely friendly only too happy to help with any questions or problems.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sultana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I brought our daughter to tour/visit UC Santa Barbara. The location was great and the room was very comfortable and clean. The shopping in the area was good, too. We will stay there again.


  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

There are many things to like here. Beautiful grounds, location convenient to freeway (though not walking distance to downtown Santa Barbara. In the room, there is everything from comfortable beds covered with tasteful spreads and cotton sheets, refrigerator/microwave/coffee maker, a TV AND DVD player, outlets everywhere... even fresh fruit and a bowl of candy. All this for under $200 a night.

Room Tip: We had a second story room in front. Balcony overlooking the pool. Thought it might be noisy but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are on a tour of the American West, celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary, the hotel was ideal with lots of nice little touches in a good location just off Route 101, the receptionist who we checked in with was very welcoming and could not have been more helpful a first rate member of staff, who was a credit to the best western company. We would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel in the future, thank you for a wonderful stay

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I don't normally expect much from a Best Western. But at over $200 a night, I expected a lot more than I got. The rooms are very old. Sliding door in shower got stuck and I was trapped in side for a bit until I was able to shake it loose. Sliding closet doors got stuck also. Everything in the room looks pretty old (except for the TV). For the price, I would recommend trying to find a B&B or paying a little more and staying somewhere a little nicer. The staff was great though. Very nice people! I will also say that there us bottled water and fresh fruit in the room, which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Address: 3850 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of tropical gardens, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn is a Spanish-inspired resort hotel with ornate tile and wrought-iron embellishments. The lush gardens feature pathways lined with palms and cascading bougainvillea. The hotel offers two heated tile pools, two whirlpools, an exercise room and massage facilities, conference facilities, complimentary parking and free high-speed wireless Internet service.The hotel's spacious, well-appointed guest rooms feature private decks or balconies overlooking the gardens and pool courtyards. The Treehouse Restaurant and Lounge offers casual dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and provides room, patio, and poolside service.Located on upper State Street with easy access to 101, the hotel is adjacent to the shops and restaurants at La Cumbre Plaza, and is just minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, world-class golf courses, award-winning wineries, glorious beaches, and the Santa Barbara Mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.