We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3850 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #18 of 61 hotels in Santa Barbara
Victorville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Pepper Tree Inn was a great hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. They gave a map of Santa Barbara with hidden treasures and must see attractions. This helped us map out our stay and create a to do list while in Santa Barbara. The location was geat being located right across the street from a great mall. The room had great little extras in case you forgot something. It was aparrent that they thought of everything and have worked hard on ensuring all the little details were covered. The room itself had these retro glass windows that brought great memories of a long lost childhood. This dedication to classic elegance is what sets Santa Barbara aside from other destinations and is that gives guest of the Pepper Tree Inn the feeling of a true Santa Barbara stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    273
    95
    19
    18
See reviews for
200
233
19
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Your stay will be highlighted by rooms from the 80's and decor from the 90's. Everyone who worked there was incredibly helpful and friendly. There is an on site dinner that also wants to be a sports bar. I think it missed the mark on both counts. You know you are in Santa Barbara when you are spending $200 a night for a $79 motel, and the Pepper Tree Inn is that motel. It is not that close to downtown or the water. It is across the street from a large shopping mall if that is why you are visiting Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Well appointed rooms clean and very comfortable. The beds were comfy like other post express. Staff friendly and helpful. It was nice to have free botles of water and fresh friut. It is really not that far from the downtown which I liked. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted by extremely helpful, efficient and knowlegeable reception staff who quickly informed us of all essentials for a flying visit to Santa Barbara.
Room exceptionally clean, comfortable, quiet and very well equiped with nice touches. Free coffee and fruit in reception.
Plenty of parking right next to our room. Lovely small swimming pool.
Hotel well positioned, short drive into Santa Barbara and walking distance to good restaurants and small shopping mall with Supermarket.
Totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Grond floor room gives direct access to small swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Excellent hotel, handy for down town (don't forget to turn left when you leave the hotel!)

Caring friendly staff, clean rooms and super comfy beds. Restaurant on site.

Can only repeat the posiitive comments from other guests.

Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We think second floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Reading some of the reviews here I realize you just can't please everybody all the time. This review is from me and my wife when we came over from the UK in early September.

We were a bit jaded driving up from LAX after a 10 hour flight but getting there was really easy. The hotel is in a great position being just minutes off the 101 Highway. On arrival Josh (yes, the same young man mentioned below) greeted us warmly. He was friendly and very helpful, even though we confused him with our request for a first floor room (it's different across the pond) which he immediately arranged for us. He told us about all the facilities offered at the hotel, the restaurant, pool, free coffee, fruit, etc.

Our room, at the back of the property, was a good size, clean and fresh. The bed especially comfortable (I could actually sleep in it unlike some hotel beds) and we liked the extras - bottled water, fruit and candy.

We had booked for 4 days, enough to check out Santa Barbara, Pismo Beach, and the Santa Ynez towns and wineries which were a great experience.

Every morning we would grab some fruit and drink before hitting the road, Josh or any other of the attending staff, if not busy, would happily have a quick chat (ask about our plans for the day, offer advice, etc)

We did not try the on-site restaurant, but we did spend a few hours around the pool at the end of the day, it was basic but clean.

At the Cumbre Plaza, across the road, we enjoyed some tasty burgers at the Habit Burger Grill, as well as picking up snacks, beer and stuff from Albertsons, (or you could try BevMo just down State Street, one of Josh's excellent suggestions).
Oh and there's also a Starbucks.

It's not a resort hotel and doesn't pretend to be, but we enjoyed staying here it served our needs. We would definitely come back again.

A big thanks to the fantastic Josh and staff for helping to make our stay comfortable and memorable!

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room at the back of the property with a gardens facing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Address: 3850 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of tropical gardens, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn is a Spanish-inspired resort hotel with ornate tile and wrought-iron embellishments. The lush gardens feature pathways lined with palms and cascading bougainvillea. The hotel offers two heated tile pools, two whirlpools, an exercise room and massage facilities, conference facilities, complimentary parking and free high-speed wireless Internet service.The hotel's spacious, well-appointed guest rooms feature private decks or balconies overlooking the gardens and pool courtyards. The Treehouse Restaurant and Lounge offers casual dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and provides room, patio, and poolside service.Located on upper State Street with easy access to 101, the hotel is adjacent to the shops and restaurants at La Cumbre Plaza, and is just minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, world-class golf courses, award-winning wineries, glorious beaches, and the Santa Barbara Mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.