We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3850 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #18 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Look no further”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Excellent hotel, handy for down town (don't forget to turn left when you leave the hotel!)

Caring friendly staff, clean rooms and super comfy beds. Restaurant on site.

Can only repeat the posiitive comments from other guests.

Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We think second floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    254
    92
    21
    18
See reviews for
181
224
18
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Reading some of the reviews here I realize you just can't please everybody all the time. This review is from me and my wife when we came over from the UK in early September.

We were a bit jaded driving up from LAX after a 10 hour flight but getting there was really easy. The hotel is in a great position being just minutes off the 101 Highway. On arrival Josh (yes, the same young man mentioned below) greeted us warmly. He was friendly and very helpful, even though we confused him with our request for a first floor room (it's different across the pond) which he immediately arranged for us. He told us about all the facilities offered at the hotel, the restaurant, pool, free coffee, fruit, etc.

Our room, at the back of the property, was a good size, clean and fresh. The bed especially comfortable (I could actually sleep in it unlike some hotel beds) and we liked the extras - bottled water, fruit and candy.

We had booked for 4 days, enough to check out Santa Barbara, Pismo Beach, and the Santa Ynez towns and wineries which were a great experience.

Every morning we would grab some fruit and drink before hitting the road, Josh or any other of the attending staff, if not busy, would happily have a quick chat (ask about our plans for the day, offer advice, etc)

We did not try the on-site restaurant, but we did spend a few hours around the pool at the end of the day, it was basic but clean.

At the Cumbre Plaza, across the road, we enjoyed some tasty burgers at the Habit Burger Grill, as well as picking up snacks, beer and stuff from Albertsons, (or you could try BevMo just down State Street, one of Josh's excellent suggestions).
Oh and there's also a Starbucks.

It's not a resort hotel and doesn't pretend to be, but we enjoyed staying here it served our needs. We would definitely come back again.

A big thanks to the fantastic Josh and staff for helping to make our stay comfortable and memorable!

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room at the back of the property with a gardens facing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I've traveled a lot and this hotel may be one of the worst I've stayed in. My husband and I came to Santa Barbara for a wedding and this hotel wasn't worth $175 a night. The front office staff were nice and they provide coffee in the lobby, but the rooms are very old, the ceilings are the original popcorn, the beds are hard, the bedspread is from the 80's, and the worst part was the people above us were extremely loud making it so we barely slept all night. Also there is a window that is permanently open that faces out to the pool and our neighbors were smoking for hours so the entire room, including our clothes smelled. We called the front desk at 3 am to complain about the noise but it continued. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. We understand that the noise from another guest located in a nearby room may have interfered with your ability to enjoy your room free from excessive noise disturbances. Our staff makes every effort to monitor noise levels on our property and addresses issues in an expedient manner. Please know that our staff would have moved you to another room to ensure you could enjoy your stay in a quiet room. We are sorry to hear that your neighbors smoked outside in the pool area and the smoke entered your room through the window. Thank you for bringing the issue of a permanently open window to our attention. Our maintenance staff will look into this situation immediately and correct any mechanical failures. We hope that you will consider returning to the Best Western PLUS Pepper Tree Inn for a future stay in Santa Barbara. We look forward to the opportunity to provide exceptional customer service to you.

Sincerely,
Chivaun Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised. I didn't have much time to make these reservations, due to the short timeline for this business trip. When I arrived I was somewhat dismayed to see external doors, since I tend to avoid such properties due to security concerns. However, the location was safe, and it turned out not to be a concern. Check-in was easy, and the room was lovely. There are two sets of buildings, arranged in a quadrangle, each with garden area and pool area in the internal quad. Most rooms have private patios facing the quadrangle with chairs and a small table. There was a fire pit in the garden area which was automatically lit each night. The room was quite nice and comfortable, with amenities that included fresh fruit, a small candy bowl, free water bottles, refrigerator and microwave, and nice seersucker robes. It was very quiet! My second night there was a group of teenagers enjoying the pool, and when I closed the door to the patio I couldn't hear them showing off their cannonballs into the pool. (Of course, I was by the garden area, not the pool, but I think even people closer couldn't hear if the doors were closed.)

The restaurant on premises was typical American fare, nothing gourmet, but very good: my New York steak was thin (1/2 inch) but a perfectly cooked medium rare. There is a mall across the street with a Macy's and other higher end shops, some fast food places, and nicer places as well. I ate two nights at the Marmalade Cafe in the mall which was very popular, more gourmet than the Pepper Tree restaurant, but also very reasonable. Location was 10-15 minutes away from downtown Santa Barbara. I'm placing this review in my office's online file of recommended places to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with patio facing the garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

At first we thought the outside was nothing too exciting - but the rooms were fabulous!! They were very spacious with top-class furnishing. View was quite good (overlooking the pool) & staff were very helpful. Pots of coffee were available at the reception along with lots of area information. Santa Barbara itself is beautiful - lots of nice shops, great places to eat & clean, tree-lined streets.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter & sound much nicer than those on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed while travelling west coast such a gorgeous hotel some of the nicest staff while we were on our tour.. Loved the way the hotel is set and right across the road from the shopping centre what more could you ask for!! Pool and jacuzzi access from every room.. Definate steel of a hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The staff were very helpful and gave us plenty of tips while we were there. We stayed for two nights and I can't comment here if all the rooms are the same. Whilst the room was clean and had some nice touches i.e. fruit for welcome and water it was very tired with the added bonus of being next to an alleyway entrance to other apartments which meant we could hear the gate bang every time someone went past. Parking was great as it is motel style we could get our cases straight from the car. Swimming pool and jacuzzi outside looked tempting. Ice machine had signs of green algae/mould around the dispenser. We had a ground floor and the patio doors were also screened to protect against flies etc. The lock mechanism was a bit flimsy looking and the front door had signs of damage around the lock, so whilst we didn't experience any issues we didn't feel 100% safe, but thats just a personal opinion. A shopping area was located just across the street and it was an OK location on balance for short drives to the beach, State Street shopping and the Mission.

Room Tip: We were on the outside and I suspect the more centrally located rooms would give you less traffic/fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Address: 3850 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of tropical gardens, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn is a Spanish-inspired resort hotel with ornate tile and wrought-iron embellishments. The lush gardens feature pathways lined with palms and cascading bougainvillea. The hotel offers two heated tile pools, two whirlpools, an exercise room and massage facilities, conference facilities, complimentary parking and free high-speed wireless Internet service.The hotel's spacious, well-appointed guest rooms feature private decks or balconies overlooking the gardens and pool courtyards. The Treehouse Restaurant and Lounge offers casual dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and provides room, patio, and poolside service.Located on upper State Street with easy access to 101, the hotel is adjacent to the shops and restaurants at La Cumbre Plaza, and is just minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, world-class golf courses, award-winning wineries, glorious beaches, and the Santa Barbara Mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.