We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3850 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SAVE 25% in Santa Barbara
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We loved this hotel it was really homely with a log fire and the reception staff really friendly and helpful offering free drinks, fruit and DVDs to borrow all free of charge. I emailed all 5 hotels we stayed at whist on my honeymoon and this one was the only one to decorate our room and leave champagne which was so nice. The hotel is right opposite a shopping complex aswell which is really handy and the diner on site is so cute with really yummy food I was spoilt for choice!! The staff were also fantastic in there and a big congratulations to the pregnant lady who served us throughout our stay she was fab! The rooms and balcony were big and had everything you would need without being too posh or modern. Would def recommend!!

Room Tip: Email them prior to arrival and ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    305
    105
    21
    21
See reviews for
219
260
20
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Let me start off saying that the hotel was in a convenient area. It was nicely landscaped and clean.
We were there during UCSB graduation/move out dorm so it was completely full. It is an older hotel with spaces between the exterior door. So you can see the light coming in. The walls are paper thin (and I mean paper thin) and you can hear everything. We heard people fighting next door and using inappropriate language. In the middle of the night we were treated to what sounded like an audio version of a porno movie that continued for a long time. Squeaking bed and all. Kept us up for a while. Earplugs and pillows over the head didn't help. This was a $200+ per night hotel. Would not stay here ever again.

Room Tip: We thought garden side would be better and not street side but noise is noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Veltpat,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn. I am very sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations.

I sincerely apologize for the insufficient sound barrier to block the noise from your rambunctious neighbors. While we cannot control the noise some of our guests make, we do try to move guests to a quieter area if we are aware of a problem.

I am sorry the weather stripping on your guest room door was not working properly, allowing for light to come in. Our maintenance department has gone in and adjusted the weather stripping on your door so future guests will not experience the same problem.

I am pleased to hear that you found our location on State Street convenient and our property and guest rooms clean and inviting. We strive to provide quality accommodations and service to all our guests.

If you travel to Santa Barbara in the future, I hope you will give us another try. Again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,
Chivaun Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed for 02 night and the place was very CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE. The staff were professional and friendly.
Our room was 372 and we would have to go upstairs but once we are in our room, the patio door opens into the garden ,right across to a outdoor fire pit. So what may look like you are going up to a second floor, your are actually on the first floor. The Garden is very well kept and have pool and jacuzzi. Ice machine and soda machine are available near the pool. I love the tiles on the stairways.
The room itself may be little tight, as usually there are desk in the room but not this place.The room look bigger probably mirror wall.
. The room had a big flat screen TV, 2 comfortable chair with small round table with dresser. A tiny refrigerator under neath the wash basin. The wash basin is separate area from the toilet and the bathtub.
This place is located right across from a department store. Macy and Sears. Few places to eat...Vons Supermarket as well. If you walk about 3 blocks or so, there is Whole Food and Gelson's a bit further down. This place is a bit of a distance away from the main downtown and the beach area but never the less, its on the State street so there is no way you can get lost going to ward the beach. We had our bike and Santa Barbara is very bike friendly place,so we got around nicely.

Before booking this place, I was comparing some of the places near by around the Best Western. When I got to Santa Barbara and just by looking at the exterior of other places, I can imagine what it may look on the inside.

I am very happy that I selected this place. Next time I come to Santa Barbara, I would definitely stay in this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This Best Western was definitely an older property but charming with it's pretty tile work. The pool and jacuzzi were lovely and my 5 year old daughter and I were fortunate to have it all to ourselves. There was wonderful jasmine blooming right outside our patio too. Was surprised at how far up on State Street this hotel was though.Only issue was being able to hear the people in room next to us after 10 p.m. The walls must be thin because it was easy to hear the whole conversation. We had a reasonable enough room rate to rate property at 4 stars.

Room Tip: room facing pool was very nice but try to get a room without neighbors next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro,Ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This past weekend we had a Yorkie gathering in Santa Barbara, so we decided to make a weekend of it. We booked at the Best Western Pepper tree knowing it was pet friendly. The Staff was professional,helpful and very friendly. Our room was comfortable and the bed was wonderful. The hotel is very clean and cheerful, with beautiful tile work with lots of plants and shrubs with a nice clean pool. Attached is a good restaurant with a cocktail lounge that is separated but attached, which served good food. Overall we will definetly stay here next time we visit. No one who stays here will be disappointed. Also very centrally located.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is one of those places which can earn 2 or 5 stars depending on who stayed there and why they chose to stay there. At the end of the day it is an average property that is clean and comfortable for spending the night. If you come in with expectations of Santa Barbara "chic" you will be disappointed. However, by Santa Barbara metrics the price is pretty good. If you are passing through on 101 and just happen to stop here, you might think it's overpriced. But if you are here because you wanted to come to Santa Barbara, you will be pleased with the price. This is not a resort nor is it a "destination" property. This is a good place to get a good nights sleep. Someone who is looking for that at best price in Santa Barbara might be thrilled with this choice. Service is friendly and efficient. The restaurant on the premisses is an old style breakfast diner with all the good and the bad that goes along with it. Good place for a family to spend a night or two on their road trip. Hope that help set your expectations straight.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goiania, GO
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

This Best Western is very charming and the location is nice: upper State Street. Rooms are old but comfortable and clean. Ask for a noisy free room far from State Street. I didn't like the restaurant mood or food, but La Cumbre Plaza and downtown Santa Barbara offer many other options. The morning staff is polite and cute. Santa Barbara speaks for itself...

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn

Address: 3850 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of tropical gardens, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn is a Spanish-inspired resort hotel with ornate tile and wrought-iron embellishments. The lush gardens feature pathways lined with palms and cascading bougainvillea. The hotel offers two heated tile pools, two whirlpools, an exercise room and massage facilities, conference facilities, complimentary parking and free high-speed wireless Internet service.The hotel's spacious, well-appointed guest rooms feature private decks or balconies overlooking the gardens and pool courtyards. The Treehouse Restaurant and Lounge offers casual dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and provides room, patio, and poolside service.Located on upper State Street with easy access to 101, the hotel is adjacent to the shops and restaurants at La Cumbre Plaza, and is just minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, world-class golf courses, award-winning wineries, glorious beaches, and the Santa Barbara Mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.