We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in Every Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond El Encanto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond El Encanto to your Saves list
Belmond El Encanto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Alvarado Place, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Discount on Suites
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Outstanding in Every Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I spent three fabulous nights at this incredible hotel over an extended weekend. The cabin I stayed in was beautifully furnished with all the high-end modern conveniences along with a heated bathroom floor, glorious rain shower and lots of space. The quality of the finishes, the bedding and amenities are incredible. A personalized monogrammed head-pillow the most subtle of elegant touches. The setting is hard to beat and in the main building the atmosphere is warm and inviting. Each night I enjoyed the hospitality at the bar and fire-place and the piano player and singer were a real treat. Food was excellent. The service was outstanding and I will be back., Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear seanmage,

We are thrilled to read of your wonderful five star experience at El Encanto! It sounds like you really made the most of your long weekend and we are so happy you spent it with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best wishes,

Laura M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    66
    32
    13
    6
See reviews for
61
298
19
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I booked into El Encanto for a mid week three days of relaxation after a crazy time at work and left feeling completely renewed.
The attention to detail in the room and bathroom was wonderful. From the Nespresso machine, to the assortment of fresh milks, to the monogrammed pillows, to the bag which held the morning newspaper - it was truly a luxury resort experience. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room was one you could really relax in. The cleanliness was exemplary.
I particularly loved the heated infinity pool - swimming at night under the stars in winter was bliss!
The gardens are beautiful with the bungalows spread over the property. As a result the property does not have a hotel feel to it and instead feels like a home away from home.
I enjoyed the spa facilities by way of a massage. The massage options are a little on the pricey side, but once again, the attention to detail made it a perfect experience.
I did order room service by way of a cheese plate, but otherwise cannot comment on the restaurant.
The staff were friendly and professional.
El Encanto is hidden in the Santa Barbara hills with wonderful views of Santa Barbara. There is plenty to do a short drive away. I've stayed closer to the beach before and would take El Encanto's location over that any day
I would note for those driving that the only realistic parking option is to valet for a daily surcharge given the location is in a residential area with limited or no parking signs in the vicinity.

Room Tip: The Superior Bungalows do not have a patio or balcony. Book the Duluxe Bungalow if you are looking f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

A serene and beautiful hideaway tucked in the hillside above Santa Barbara in a quiet, upscale residential area. Perfect for couples or those wanting to get away and relax in a quiet, secluded and peaceful location. Not good for families with young children; the Bacara and the Four Seasons are better equipped for this group. Amiable service and lovely amenities in a sophisticated setting suited to adults. Excellent dining with beautiful vistas of Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations. I will this hotel is way better than Four Seasons. The little touches in the room to the hotel amenities and not to mention the great staff in the Dining Room made our stay amazing. I am already making plans to use this hotel for our upcoming summer vaca with the kids.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SXM
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Just spent a few days in this true paradise. Everything was perfect, from details in the room to landscape and food. My favorite memory was probably the fire place which makes the room cosy and romantic and the sent of Jasmine as you open your window early morning. Everything is made to make you feel home, with touch of elegance and special attention. This was also my first time in California and Santa Barbara is lovely, so is the whole area. Get one of those electrical bikes from the hotel to discover the center of Santa Barbara, best way to have fun.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The property is gorgeous! The rooms are very charming and well decorated. The floors are heated in the bathroom and the fireplace and comfy bed make it hard to leave. We were very disappointed with the dining experience on the terrace. Outside guests dining on property make it very difficult for those paying to stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Patrick B.,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at El Encanto. I am so pleased to see that you were able to find a cozy retreat in our wonderfully renovated rooms.

I am concerned about your comment regarding non resort guests disrupting your dining experience. We value all of our patrons including guests staying with us as well as visiting us from the local area. Santa Barbarans have enjoyed coming to El Encanto for many years and cherish the many special occasions spent creating memories here. We endeavor to help create special memories for all of our visitors.

We certainly hope you will visit us again. If you would like to contact me directly to address your concerns I would be happy to speak with you anytime.

Best wishes,

Laura M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is a very high-end hotel. Idyllic describes the vibe. Perfect for our Valentine's getaway. The very spacious studio suite we stayed in was on the ground floor and was very luxurious, comfortable and clean with a private a patio. The staff was very attentive and helpful. We couldn't be happier with our stay. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond El Encanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond El Encanto

Address: 800 Alvarado Place, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond El Encanto 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond El Encanto, a Forbes Five-Star luxury hotel, has been meticulously restored to capture all the romance and glamour that endeared it to both the local Santa Barbara community and visitors alike. As part of Belmond, this is the company's first excursion to the American west coast.

Ninety-two quintessential, California-styled suites and bungalows dot the lush, terraced grounds featuring seven-acres of gloriously landscaped gardens with sweeping views of Santa Barbara and the Pacific Ocean.

Original architectural features have been lovingly restored, including the historic, trellis-lined Arbor and Lily Pond. Modern additions to the expansive outdoor zero-edge pool and a new beautifully appointed boutique spa enhance the journey for today's luxury-seeking guest.
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Belmond, Priceline, Amex, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond El Encanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Encanto Hotel And Garden Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond El Encanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.