We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ahhhh...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond El Encanto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond El Encanto to your Saves list
Belmond El Encanto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Alvarado Place, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ahhhh...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

came up from L.A. for a brief two day stay. hotel's location and set-up with separate bungalows made it easy to relax immediately. very professional service, beautiful room, best bath and bathroom (took four baths in two days), great pool. was able to feel like we had a full getaway even
in such a brief time...

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    52
    28
    9
    5
See reviews for
51
248
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Robertson, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

we got great service when we rocked up to check on prices and availability, and front desk were very helpful and accomodating for our 8 night stay (thanks Maximillian). Amenities were world class, but small lapses of service let them down - but only slightly. Primarily poor concierge service, and no turn down for our last 3 nights

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Peter M.,

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience at El Encanto with the on line community.

I am delighted to see that your overall stay was great, especially since you were with us for such a nice long stay. I do apologize that you did not receive seamless service in a couple of areas.

We do pride ourselves on providing the highest levels of service throughout the property and I am surprised to hear that there were lapses in Concierge and turn down. I would be happy to know more about these small issues so we can work on improving for the future. Please contact me directly if there is anything more you would like to share.

I do hope to see you again very soon!

Best wishes,

Laura M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We returned to Santa Barbara to celebrate our 10th anniversary. It was a quiet weekend at the hotel. The staff was tremendous - professional, always attentive and willing to assist with anything. The new property is great and very pleasant and our room was very comfortable. Location is a convenient drive to State Street and the harbor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

it was one of the best hotels we were at ever.
My boyfriend and I travel a lot for our job, so we needed some where so peaceful and quite.
the property remodeled clean and the gardens are done so tastefully.
We went to the wishing well, and wished to come back again.
the resturant on the deck is out of this world, the view , the flowers the plants, the view unbelieabve beautiful. staff memebers so wonderful, it was hard to say good bye to them.

Room Tip: we had a real quiet room 2504, you can sort of see the sunriseif you get up on time!, so beautiful a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear dream5962,

Wow! Thank you for the glowing review!

I hope your Wishing Well wish comes true! We would love to have you back again soon.

Best wishes,

Laura M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The concierge and staff went above and beyond to help make this a trip we'd never forget. They fulfilled my request for rose petal turn down service, sent chocolate-covered strawberries, and were excellent about communicating with me so I could rest assured everything would go well for the proposal and stay in general. They also upgraded us, which was an amazing surprise… and greatly appreciated! We not only had privacy but felt very special. So, thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Olivia B.,

Congratulations on your engagement and thank you for choosing El Encanto to begin your new journey!

Romance is a top priority at El Encanto and I will certainly make sure our Concierge team know how much their help meant to you. They get very excited to help ensure a proposal is truly memorable!

We look forward to celebrating many more milestones with you for years to come!

Best wishes,

Laura M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had such an amazing stay at El Encanto. The staff are amazing, very friendly and professional. People we hadn't met before greeted us by name. They truly do pay attention to every detail. The rooms are sparkling, the grounds are gorgeous and the Sunday brunch is unreal. I can't say enough good things about our stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Genuinely one of the best places I have ever stayed in. Classy, elegant, luxurious, exclusive, relaxing.....the list goes on. If I didn't live so far away (uk) I would already have booked a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond El Encanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond El Encanto

Address: 800 Alvarado Place, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond El Encanto 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond El Encanto, a Forbes Five-Star luxury hotel, has been meticulously restored to capture all the romance and glamour that endeared it to both the local Santa Barbara community and visitors alike. As part of Belmond, this is the company's first excursion to the American west coast.

Ninety-two quintessential, California-styled suites and bungalows dot the lush, terraced grounds featuring seven-acres of gloriously landscaped gardens with sweeping views of Santa Barbara and the Pacific Ocean.

Original architectural features have been lovingly restored, including the historic, trellis-lined Arbor and Lily Pond. Modern additions to the expansive outdoor zero-edge pool and a new beautifully appointed boutique spa enhance the journey for today's luxury-seeking guest.
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Belmond El Encanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Encanto Hotel And Garden Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond El Encanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.