We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanted by El Encanto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond El Encanto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond El Encanto to your Saves list
Belmond El Encanto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Alvarado Place, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Makawao, Hawaii
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enchanted by El Encanto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I am very impressed by the enchanting gardens and the luxiourous rooms at the wonderful El Encanto Hotel in Santa Barbara. The dining room was so lovely, the view was spectacular, and the food was exquisite! I highly recommend the amazing fine dining restaurant for those visiting Santa Barbara, and the fortunate Santa Barbara residents as well. Can't say enough!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Katherine D.,

Mahalo!

Comments like these make us feel truly special. I am so glad you had an Enchanted experience at El Encanto! We hope to see you again next time you are on the main land.

Best wishes,

Laura McIver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    52
    28
    9
    5
See reviews for
51
247
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have been travelling for a month and staying in some very stylish hotels and El Encanto is right up there with the best of them. We had actually booked at San Ysidrow Ranch, being a little concerned that El Encanto was a little too new. As things turned out we really disliked SY having had a snooty check in which went downhill from there. We checked out the following morning and transferred to El Encanto where we were cosseted and pampered and had the most amazing time. The staff are charming without bring overly effusive. The accomodation is beautiful and the setting is delightful. Of course with a new renovation, there are bound to be teething problems, like my hair blowdry and manicure were not great and the food is ok but nothing spectacular however, these were charmingly dispensed and are very minor and a small price too pay for staying in heaven. We love Cipriani and the Splendido and now we will add this to our list of favourites. We will definitely be back

Room Tip: We got upgraded with a suite with a garden to a larger suite with a small outside space at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We remembered El Encanto from the 80s so were really looking forward to the revamped hotel. Too bad, the soul is gone. When we drove in, my husband kept thinking we were arriving at the service entrance, but no, that's how the main entryway feels.The staff is trying hard, but the bottom line is there is no real understanding of what top flight service should be. The bellman couldn't find the room, a request to bring the car around was ignored, there was no one staffing the pool, turn down service was inconsistent, etc. The staff emanates a general feeling of anxiety because they're trying so hard, but they appear to be ruderless. The view is still great, but there's really nothing to do on property but lounge around the tepid pool. Breakfast for $64 was just OK. Bottom line: if we were paying $300-350 we would have thought, "Oh great, and it's easy to get into town for the really good reatuarants," but at rates starting at $700 plus $35/day for valet parking (and what choice do you have?) it all feels like the emporer has no clothes.

Room Tip: Don't book room 702, which is incredibly small for what was billed as a superior king-- just bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear 32655Laura,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent visit to El Encanto.

I am very surprised to hear that you found the property lacking, since our meticulous renovation of a Santa Barbara icon, soulless is certainly not a comment we hear. During the many years of renovation great lengths were taken to keep the original character and history of the grounds and bungalows...in fact the drive way entrance is exactly as it once was.

We do offer pool service daily from 11am - 6pm, I do apologize if these hours were not consistent with the times you were there and we will certainly evaluate our hours based on the needs of our guests. As well we will review our standards again with each department to ensure that we are delivering on our promise of stellar service to each and every guest.

If there is anything else you would like to share with me I would be happy to discuss any of your concerns in person.

Thank you again.

Best wishes,

Laura M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Another great addition to Santa Barbara. Been there for drinks and last night had a chance to have dinner with my girl friend. Great view, attentive service, one of the best wine list with Burgundy selections.Our server Vienna was very knowledgeable and loved when they do martini service with shakers on side. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We needed a break from moving and decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary here. My sister had given us a gift of one night and we decided that we wanted to get away for at least two nights and really relax. I contacted our travel agent Debbie Gallinot from The Travelstore who made all the arrangements. She did an amazing job making sure that we had a beautiful bungalow with an ocean view and all the added amenities. The last time when had stayed here was when I was pregnant with our son which was quite awhile ago and were impressed with all the changes that had been made. From the moment we arrived, we never had to lift a finger. The staff anticipated our needs and were there to either assist us with luggage or to get our car or to make sure that we had enough beverages by the pool. We had a delightful brunch and the sun was out and made it such a good experience over looking the ocean. Later in the evening we had dinner and a charming waitress Vienna helped with the selection of entrees and wine. The heaters during the evening kept us warm even though it was cool on the terrace. Later that evening when we returned to our bungalow, we found the fireplace lit and the Orient Express channel on the TV turned on showing all of their locations around the world. It was quite a delightful surprise. The next afternoon, our couples massage was just what we needed to help us relax and truly made it a memorable experience.. We will definitely come back for another visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed with my family for 3 nights in July and really loved this peaceful hotel. Our rooms were large and beautifully decorated with the most comfortable bed I have slept in for a long time. The pool area is small but very relaxing and we didn't have any problems finding beds and the staff around the pool were particularly attentive. The only downside was housekeeping was quite erratic. Rooms were made up quite late and things like fresh coffee etc were not replaced. Apart from that it was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I took a mini getaway and wow, this place is amazingly beautiful! I was mesmerized by the landscape, the views, the suite we had stayed in, the amazing service...everything was perfect! The peaceful sound in the morning was lovely to hear. Coming from a big city, it was nice to hear the peace!

Everything was perfect. I definitely recommend El Encanto. There is no other like it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond El Encanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond El Encanto

Address: 800 Alvarado Place, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond El Encanto 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond El Encanto, a Forbes Five-Star luxury hotel, has been meticulously restored to capture all the romance and glamour that endeared it to both the local Santa Barbara community and visitors alike. As part of Belmond, this is the company's first excursion to the American west coast.

Ninety-two quintessential, California-styled suites and bungalows dot the lush, terraced grounds featuring seven-acres of gloriously landscaped gardens with sweeping views of Santa Barbara and the Pacific Ocean.

Original architectural features have been lovingly restored, including the historic, trellis-lined Arbor and Lily Pond. Modern additions to the expansive outdoor zero-edge pool and a new beautifully appointed boutique spa enhance the journey for today's luxury-seeking guest.
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond El Encanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Encanto Hotel And Garden Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond El Encanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.