We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond El Encanto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond El Encanto to your Saves list
Belmond El Encanto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Alvarado Place, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up To $200 Resort Credit
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“A real treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just spent 2 nights in this beautiful property. It is the perfect hotel for an escapade from the city. Not only the view is out of this world, but the service and the care, the ambiance of the hotel and the quality of the food is exceptional. Not to miss the piano bar for cocktails! The position of the Restaurant is wonderful overlooking the ocean an so is the pool. What a view!
The room was beautiful and very comfortable. The bathroom had a heated floor which is nice to walk on when barefoot. It had a lovely patio were you could seat and hear the very satisfying and relaxing sounds of birds.
Everyone went overboard to make my stay wonderful. All the staff was very professional and attentive providing excellent service.
I am returning soon!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a beautiful view of the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    68
    36
    14
    6
See reviews for
66
328
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Hills, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My wife and I needed a 3 day trip to get away from the doldrums and repetition of everyday life. We love Santa Barbara and had heard of the restoration of the famed El Encanto. Suffice it to say, this is the perfect place to decompress and forget how busy the world has now become. It's nicely nestled in the hills overlooking the main city and the ocean further out. I love how quiet and serene the place is. The rooms are very intimate and well appointed, and the grounds! Let me tell you ... so many nice nooks and places to stroll. The trees, flowers and plant life around the grounds make the place feel magical. especially when paired with the So Cal sunlight. As for the staff, they are there for your every need, but not intrusive at all. The food (have the burger!) was very flavorful. I would go back in a heartbeat. The perfect escape.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view down the hill towards the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The El Encanto Hotel is Fabulous! The property, views, cottages, food, staff, art program and everything else about this hotel are the VERY BEST. The drive to the hotel is very nice from Los Angeles up the coast. It only took an hour and a half. Go out to the terrace and have a very relaxing time with a glass of wine and the ocean view is the best around!

Room Tip: Cottages with an ocean view are great but all the cottages have different views and the entire prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I just spent a beautiful weekend at the new El Encanto. What a special place. The recent renovation was meticulously done and the setting is second to none. There is still some tweaking to service, but if you didn't know that they just reopened it would be hard to tell. Food was great. Spa was intimate and personal. Great treatments. We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: The Wishing Well suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear John S.,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience! I am thrilled that you were able to experience all of the magic of El Encanto - The Spa, The Romance and The Cuisine! I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best wishes,

Laura M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, ca.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This serene hill setting with glimpses of the city and Pacific Ocean is a hide-away refuge. As most rooms differ, I suggest one asks to preview room before transfering belongings. The pool itself is worth the stay, No tacky enclosures or pool signs. Just exclusive sensibility and comfort.
Moreover, outdoor breakfast included was a real outdoor treat away from home. However, dinner was short on portions and a bit too fussy. Sharing to cut costs does not yet work here. Of course, if one drives done the hill, hazards begin. So if the kitchen veers a little more toward comfort food, this hotel resort (some what like up-scale Mexico) with charming pathways and gardens is a show off treat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Without a doubt THE BEST hotel in Santa Barbara. The food and service in the restaurant were all 5 star and I wish I could give the service level 6 stars. The pool was fabulous. My only complaint is that I was only there for 1 night there but will be back. A must experience if you stay in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megeve, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed for only one night, on our way from Pebble Beach to Beverly Hills. The experience was really special. Our suite, the Wishing Well had nice interior design and was equipped with everything one would wish for. The bedrooms were spacious, the living room was cosy and the kitchenette was a very pleasant and useful addition.

Service was flawless. We asked for adapters and got them in 3 minutes, brought by a very attentive bellman. Everyone seemed to care for our needs and did their best to create the best possible experience.

The reception staff was also quite efficient, finding us SUVs and checking us in very quickly.

The setting is beautiful. The scenic gardens, where the little white bungalows are scattered create a unique sense of unity with nature and harmony.

All in all, if you wish to stay in Santa Barbara this is the go to place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Belmond El Encanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond El Encanto

Address: 800 Alvarado Place, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond El Encanto 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond El Encanto, a Forbes Five-Star luxury hotel, has been meticulously restored to capture all the romance and glamour that endeared it to both the local Santa Barbara community and visitors alike. As part of Belmond, this is the company's first excursion to the American west coast.

Ninety-two quintessential, California-styled suites and bungalows dot the lush, terraced grounds featuring seven-acres of gloriously landscaped gardens with sweeping views of Santa Barbara and the Pacific Ocean.

Original architectural features have been lovingly restored, including the historic, trellis-lined Arbor and Lily Pond. Modern additions to the expansive outdoor zero-edge pool and a new beautifully appointed boutique spa enhance the journey for today's luxury-seeking guest.
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Belmond, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond El Encanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Encanto Hotel And Garden Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond El Encanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.