We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Better Brew” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Brewhouse

The Brewhouse
229 W Montecito St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Brewhouse)
(805) 884-4664
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 450 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Azusa, California, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Better Brew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stopped in to try a local beer, and were happy we did.
The hubby had the Social Disorder Porter, and really liked it. My Margarita was large and reasonably priced, but only so-so. It's a brew pub, so stick to the beer.
The home made potato chips with Gorgonzola are out of this world, if you're a Gorgonzola fan.
Our waitress, Jamie, who is also the general manager, was friendly and helpful.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    86
    25
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good spot for happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We tried out the Brewhouse for happy hour, mainly because it was near our hotel and didn't require the longer walk over to State Street. We sat outside on their sidewalk/patio and enjoyed some good beer and decent food for reasonable prices. This is not a fancy place and it is dog-friendly (they even have their own menu), so it's not for everyone. The full menu had a wide variety of types of food - salads, soups, sandwiches, etc. They happy hour menu had several good choices, but is still mostly "pub food". If you're looking for a casual place to grab a bite and a beer - give this place a try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good place for casual food and good beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were looking for someplace to watch the World Series with good beer and food plus it had to be close to our hotel. The Brewhouse fit the bill. We went for Happy hour, a pint and cheeseburger for $7.50. Both were good. It is a very casual place with a lot of locals, good beer and decent food.
Service was good. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A disappoint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Dogs off leash do not make for a relaxing evening. Especially barking dogs...... Food too salty. Will not be back.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“good steaks and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

They have some good beers. The steaks were very good. My wife and I sat outside and enjoyed a delicious meal last night. You see a lot of locals hanging around and they had a live band playing some good music.
Service was good and the place was clean and inviting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brewhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brewhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.