We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Goleta

Save Saved
You added Hotel Goleta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Goleta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5650 Calle Real, Santa Barbara, CA 93117   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Highly disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

In spite of making reservations in early February, we arrived to a hotel that was under construction. We were never informed or given advance notice of the condition of the hotel. The lobby was located in a trailer. At the time of check in our credit card was charged $50 per night for amenities. When asked what amenities they had to offer the staff began to recite ...the restaurant, the phone, then quickly added well we don't have a restaurant. So our credit card was pre charged $200 on top of the 4 day room fees. The room was not equipped with a coffee maker, nor were we offered coffee in the morning. We had to walk across the street and purchase coffee from a local restaurant. The blow dryer was not attached to the wall. The construction continued throughout the weekend and well into the night. The carpets were very dirty. Although we did not allow the condition of the hotel to damper our mini vacation it does not deserve a 3 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    22
    24
    11
    23
See reviews for
33
21
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was our chosen stay over UCSB graduation weekend......sad for us!!! It not only was it looking like it was closed due to the renovations, the front desk was a trailer,.... they acted like nothing was amiss. The room smelled of paint, and no ice was available, pool closed, and to top it off, the internet was only usable if you stood outside on the balcony! When we reported this, they we friendly, but did not offer any compensation or fixes. I am only writing this review to warn others of the poor value this hotel offers.....It should be closed in my opinion or priced substantially lower to compensate the lack of amenities! At the very least, some type of offer to return at half price or a free stay! Where is the manager with some business sense in this? Customers will be lost for sure!!!! The website gave us no indication of all the amenities which were non existent!! I will be very unlikely to book here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we pulled up to the Hotel Goleta, we would have thought that the hotel was being demolished and was no longer in business. This was not the case, and we quickly saw a sign that showed the "Front Desk" was in a trailer on the side. The staff at the front desk was very friendly, and welcomed us with our dogs. Our room wasn't quite ready, but he called the moment it was, right at check-in time.
The renovation concerns quickly went away. We were never troubled by any work or noise. Our room was renovated with fresh carpet, furniture, and bathroom. There was a mini-fridge in the dresser.
But what the room was lacking made me think that this was a poor value. The we paid $260 for one night. The room is quite small, as the original building is older. The furnishings are plain and simple. The chair and "ottoman" were not comfortable and made for tight quarters. For the price I felt that the room, at a minimum, was missing: a hair dryer, a coffee pot with coffee, any documentation about the room/hotel/area, extra towels, and working Internet. At about 11 pm, I finally picked up a wifi signal, but even then the Internet was not working. As far as I could tell, there was no coffee available at all at the hotel. Perhaps this will improve as the renovation is complete.
At this price point, I expect more. Although close to Santa Barbara, the hotel is in Goleta near suburban shopping. I didn't think this was quite a destination hotel.
I'd stay again only if I needed to be in the area, and the price was closer to $99 per night.

I did check the Hotel Goleta website while we were there, and did not see notice of the renovation at that time. I did find this notice a few days later. Although the renovations did not bother us in the end, I would expect more notice at time of reservation. We made reservations directly with the hotel's website.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
covina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

there's a construction!!butms that not the terrible issue!!.this hotel doesn't serve anything not even water,coffee.refergerator,actuelly we needed so bad we have a baby and he drinks milk at night so it needs to be cool unless it expired..
It's very expensive,they should serve something.
i recommend for Best Western Hotel,it's on the same street they're almost the same price ,like 50$ difference but the service is great
.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First, let me just say when the construction is done it will be a cute hotel. We had no idea this place was under so much construction. I booked according to the pictures on the internet. There is no ice machine, no coffee, no restaurant and terrible internet connection. The people were very accommodating and trying to help, like getting us ice from somewhere? Anyway, this will be a nice hotel when it's done. This is the worst time to be under construction though. We are here for son's graduation from UCSB, so can't complain to much.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed there this past weekend. Hotel is totally under major construction. Hard hats are required according to a sign, but no hard hats provided. Pool under construction. No restaurant or fire pit. No coffee. No hairdryers in room. They should have contacted me.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We booked three rooms at this property months ago for a planned wedding. At the time we had no idea of their total makeover. Well as it happened we arrived right in the middle of it. Construction crews were in full swing overtime to make their July 2014 opening.

We had booked the more expensive courtyard rooms with anticipation of lounging in front of our rooms and socializing poolside. Not the reality! The reality was a courtyard devoid of plant life and a pool w/out water. Lots of construction fencing and blocked off rooms. Didn't matter though, `cause they put us in (renovated) parking lot frontage rooms anyway. I expressed my disappointment w/the non-courtyard vista the next day and they politely and promptly adjusted out bill accordingly. :-)

As it turned out on our second night there was a LARGE, (non-hotel) planned and coordinated 'event' on our side of the hotel that night w/ a check-in table two doors down from us where wristbands or hand-stamps allowed you entrance into the room converted to a bar a few doors the other side of our room. Hotel security called the Police a few times, but as soon as the police would leave the party would resume. :-(

Told the front desk (a converted guest room) about the noise and revelry at checkout and they politely and promptly comped the night's stay. :-)

Room Tip: After July 2014 the property, especially the courtyard rooms should be very nice. void other than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Goleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goleta

Address: 5650 Calle Real, Santa Barbara, CA 93117
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goleta 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Goleta welcomes guests with 160 beautifully appointed guest rooms surrounding an inviting pool in a garden courtyard setting. A large patio area, outdoor fire pit and al fresco bar come together to allow the perfect little escape. Hotel Goleta is located just two miles from the Santa Barbara Airport, UCSB, High-Tech business centers and the beautiful Goleta Beach. For guests looking to experience the world-renowned Santa Barbara attractions including the Mission, museums, Stearns Wharf, the Zoo and downtown shopping, Hotel Goleta is a short 8 miles away.All guest rooms have been recently renovated delivering guests all the touches of home like spacious desks, flat-screen TVs, luxurious linens, and plush pillows. Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel to stay connected on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Goleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Santa Barbara - Goleta Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Goleta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.