We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and central to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor House Inn to your Saves list
Harbor House Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   104 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Roswell, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Quaint and central to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Very cute, old fashioned rooms with a well-stocked gift basket of banana bread and juices. Prime location near State St and the marina. The staff is very welcoming and helpful with local tips and recommendations. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    80
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
32
247
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at the Harbor Hose inn, we found the room to be well-appointed and comfortable, with pleasant decor. A reasonable sized kitchenette, comfy sofa, very soft bed.

Location was great - very close to the beach - 2 minutes walk to the harbour and 5 minutes walk to Stearns Wharf. We were happy to have a break from driving, and just leave the car parked for our whole stay.

Downtown Santa Barbara, with all its restaurants was about a 25 minute walk.

The breakfast basket was OK - freshly baked banana bread, snacks, plenty of tinned fruit juice etc.

A pleasant stay, a little pricey, but that is Santa Barbara!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Know this: This is probably one of the best places to stay in Santa Barbara but it is not perfect. It is pristine, well-kept, cute, quaint, very well located, good beds, good management, great use of bikes, and precious little kitchenette and breakfast table where you can enjoy their wonderful welcome basket filled with goodies. You won't be sorry you stayed here--if--you are aware that there is no air-conditioning (many, if not most places in SB do not have AC), and that it is somewhat noisy because windows may be open and it has a little (not a lot) street traffic, and there is no swimming pool. Other than that, you will hit the jackpot with this place. I arrived here following a stay at the Ritz Carlton in Laguna, and Harbor House is not the Ritz...it's a more intimate, fun place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stop 2 on CA trip. I can see why people like this hotel. The staff are welcoming and have put in a lot of thought with welcome basket and freshly made cake. It's in a good location, just a block from the beach and nicely maintained. Our room was a good size with a kitchenette. It was however just too hot as it did not have air con, relying on a fan - it must have been unbearable in the summer. We found it a bit too cluttered and frilly for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night whilst driving up the coast. Great location really close to the harbour. The room was very clean with good facilities and yummy banana bread, but we found the bed way too soft - we both had bad backs for a few days afterwards. Service was OK, although check in could have been faster (lady at reception was writing emails/ answering the phone). Overall a solid choice, but not outstanding given the price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We just came back from 3 days 2 nite stay. We really love the welcome basket, the bed was real comfortable. We had a king studio 118A on corner of street. Even though there was no air conditioner there was a great breeze with windows open and fan going. We had a great time riding the free bikes and using beach towels on the beach. It would have been nice to have a pool to cool off in during the day so we took a dip in the ocean. we are headed back in december and may look into staying one nite here. the front desk alyssn was real helpful. would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: no ac, rooms on street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

In all honestly, I would prefer that no one read this review, because I hated leaving and I can’t wait to return to this amazing Inn. We visited the Harbor House during the Old Spanish Days Fiesta in Santa Barbara. Although we didn’t purposely align our trip with the Fiesta, it was a busy time in Santa Barbara. We ended up going to some of the fiesta events and had a blast. Anyhow, back to the Harbor House Inn. This is the most quaint, clean, staff friendly place I have ever been. From the recommendations on where to eat to the huge basket of goodies waiting in our room. This Inn has set the bar high and truly sets itself apart from other Inns in the area and across the country. We decided on a queen room without a kitchenette, which matched our needs perfectly. The décor was beachy/antique in my opinion. In one part of the room there was a refrigerator stocked with creamers and jelly. In addition, there was a coffee maker with what seems freshly grinded coffee inside a jar. There is a flat screen TV on the wall across from the bed as well. The window coverings were wood and what I liked the most about the room was the small trinkets and furniture such as the pillows, clock, lamp…etc, which made you feel so relaxed. I also loved the flowers around the establishment as well as the benches and tables around the rooms for you to sit out and relax. The Inn offers bikes, which are housed in the garage, as well as beach towels. This was certainly another great bonus. All staff members that we encountered were so helpful, kind and always had a smile on their face. The location is magnificent! You can walk to everything. We vowed to keep the car parked the entire trip, just so we could relax, walk and enjoy. I can’t wait to return. I hope you adore your trip as much as we did!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House Inn

Address: 104 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 One-of-a-kind studios with kitchens located one short block from West Beach nestled between Stearn's Wharf & the Santa Barbara Harbor. Room amenities include free wireless internet access & local phone calls, complimentary use of 3-speed cruising bicycles & DVD library. Beach chairs, towels & umbrellas are also available at no charge. For guests enjoying 2 or more nights, a complimentary Welcome Breakfast Basket is included upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.